We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
3
10
15
14
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
10
15
14
41
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We have stayed at the de la Borda for several years now. Our first stay was by accident. We had a problem with the rental car (it lost power in one cylinder) and could not make it up the hills into the main part of town but was able to pull the hill to de la Borda. We have stayed here regularly since. If you are expecting a US luxury hotel, you will be disappointed. But it is what it is. The hotel is old (but my wife says everything in Taxco is old). It is across the main road from the town and is quiet and has beautiful views of the city. As I always do in Mexico, I negotiate the rate and was able to get a rate a little lower than half the rate on the web site. I did it by email the last two visits. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Many have been here for the more than 20 years we have been coming. Some speak English and all are gracious with my poor Spanish. Parking is included and that is quite a premium in Taxco. We usually park our car and take a taxi (about $2 US) or the collectiva (local bus, about 35 cents) into town.

There is a small restaurant located by the pool. The pool has a large patio with tremendous views and a very laid back atmosphere. If you like action, partying and discos you will be sorely disappointed. But if you want a quiet, simple place to relax and understand it is an old hotel with some issues (the beds are soft, the pillows hard, the towels scratchy and there are traces of mold on the ceiling in the shower) the rooms are large and the staff accommodating. We like the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billybob76511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stayed here in Nov 2011 as part of a tour group. This place has great views of Taxco but is very run down - for eg shabby bathroom (peeling plaster, and paint), bedlinen ancient, live wires hanging from the ceiling, rusty windows - and in a remote part of the town. It could do with a major makeover.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelandwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This hotel is located on a side hill that overlooks the city from behind the city. It nighttimes views are spectacular for the large patio. The rooms are large some have tv some dont. This is not a modern hotel and lack modern faciliites. I would stay there a night for the view and a look at how something grand hotel may of once been. The pool is opened but not heated or well maintained. Luggage is difficult to move up down stairs to various floor spread around the grounds that are spacious. The reception area is not modern. All in all if you go there expecting a 70's style of service then you wont be disappointed. It is in disrepair but probably becasue it is so big there is not enough money or business to change anything. it has grand ballroom that is rustic and little used. I would go there agian because I dont expect much. If you want to be disconnected from the cyber world just stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abt188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

The rooms I was in were very large and nice. The staff was also very helpful and spoke english. After returning to the room we found out the light in the bathroom did not work and the staff quickly moved us to another room. There are no wash clothes or alarm clock, and the beds are hard, but that is all very typical of a hotel in Mexico. You can walk to the square from the hotel, but it is quite a walk. There is also a very steep incline to get to the reception desk so if you have trouble walking this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenlynn2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

We went to Taxco in February 2009 to scout possible locations for our wedding as well as hotels for our guests to stay at. We were so impressed with the location, feel, and warmth of the staff at Hotel de la Borda that we decided to do both right on site.
We brought 34 guests (ranging in age from 4 months to about 68) in November 2009. The hotel staff was very easygoing with our wedding plans - they basically let us do whatever we wanted. We could give them one day's notice or less that we would be having a group meal in the restaurant, and they would do it. A few people didn't like their rooms, they changed them immediately. We wanted to book a bus to take us to nearby sites, and they did it for the next day (and at a decent price). They gave us an unbeatable price for the wedding itself and let us pretty much have the run of the place. The food was unreal - they even included local delicacies such as a salsa made from jumiles (bugs!!). Many of our guests have told us that it was the best wedding they have ever been to, which is an honour for both us and for the hotel.
Make no mistake - we wanted to offer our guests a more 'authentic' experience than what you can get at a resort on the beach, and we prepped them for an adventure that wouldn't be 100% smooth at all times. WIth that in mind, the staff at Borda rose to the challenge and exceeded our expectations in every way.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews