We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
53
37
11
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
37
11
1
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Nice traditional styled hotel with very friendly staff and good prices. Clean comfortable rooms but they can be a little dark. Basic breakfast, that's okay. Well worth a stay, would stay there again if/ when we come back.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Filur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

We really appreciate your comments. Looking forward to your visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

This place is like a "hacienda" the people who works here are kind and always support you. The breakfast is good enough. Location is good,near cathedral and touristic places. The price is accessible. Rooms are comfortable clean and big enough

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Yuridia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We loved our stay at Hotel San Marcos. The room was big and clean, the bed was massive and very comfy and the staff were always friendly and helpful. Great location in the centre of the city. Would definately reccomend staying here.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was a very pleasant stay.
The staff was very nice and helpful.
The room (206) was very cozy. Can be noisy from people entering the hotel.
We had the continental breakfast included which sadly was average. You can find other options for breakfast.
Would recommend the hotel.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank Olimon_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015

We booked this hotel over a month in advance for two families with two children each. Upon arrival we learned that the rate in the online reservation was higher than the rack rate posted at the check in counter (guest agent Maria Luisa disregarded our comment on the issue by saying we should have called the hotel directly for a better rate).
Not only did the room types offered in Hotels.com did not exist, they did not have our rooms availabe. They insisted that the hotel was full and that the best they could do was to offer one family a room with double beds and the other a room with one king size bed. We explained that two adults, an 11 year old boy and a toddler cannot fit on a king size bed and suggested maybe a rollaway cot... they do not have that either. After over an hour of arguing and with NO manager in sight, they tried to send one family to a nearby hotel for one night to which we did not agree, and ended up giving one of the families a two bedroom master suite for one night. The next day we were all assigned the "right" rooms... Looks like the hotel was not full after all... Although the rooms are nice and very clean, the hotel is built in a way that everything can be heard from other guestrooms, bathrooms, hallways, lobby, restaurant, etc... Not even one good night's sleep through the three night stay. The breakfast service was improvised and uncoordinated. They do not have basic hotel services as for example, ice, not even in the bar or restaurant!
To add insult to injury, when trying to check out, the same guest agent, María Luisa, told us that her "system" said the rate per night was almost $500 MXP more than our confirmed rate and that there was nothing we could do about it. She said we should call Hotels.com to figure it out!!! After another round of arguing, and still with NO manager our decision maker in sight, we managed to have her call the hotel's General Manager (Patricia, who was out doing more important errands) who via telephone authorized the rate we had on our printed Hotels.com confirmation. Wi Fi and Cable TV were down for two of the three days (no discount for this either). NO apologies, NO compensation gesture for the wasted time, inconvenience and the bad experience. When in San Cristobal de las Casas, DO NOT be fooled with what you see online about Hotel San Marcos. We later saw PLENTY of lovely, more centric and inexpensive hotels throughout the town.

Room Tip: If you dont mind NOISY rooms and RUDE staff, the rooms and bathrooms are clean.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GretchenNavas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews