We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality in the heart of Oaxaca”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
236 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great hospitality in the heart of Oaxaca”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I was part of a wonderful group of artists and photographers called Destination-Arts, visiting Oaxaca to paint, sketch, learn about photography and printmaking. There were 22 of us altogether and this is the hotel our guides picked out for us. The night we arrived (on the late side) they had a wonderful welcome party for us with delightful appetizers and shots of mescal (the local fav drink!) We were led to our rooms, and at first I was a bit disappointed - no view of the town (my room faced the inside courtyard)! The bathroom was clean and nice, but very small. I found out later that all the rooms face the inner courtyard, and that this is a tradition there to help the rooms stay cool in the heat of the summer and for the quiet atmosphere found there.

The next morning I woke up and began to appreciate the magic of this place. They have a beautiful outdoor terrace where guests can choose from a huge menu of delicious breakfast items. We all tried various Mexican (Oaxacan) specialties, like enchiladas with black mole for breakfast!! I ended up settling most days for a fresh fruit plate and their rich, delicious yogurt and granola (save the heavy food for later in the day!) The view from the terrace is spectacular, looking out toward the Cathedral de Santo Domingo (which is also lit up at night for great viewing).

The inner courtyard is also very inviting and a quiet haven from the busy street just outside the doors. One of the most wonderful things about the place was the very heartfelt staff. I felt completely safe and comfortable staying here. Another real bonus is the location, which is a few blocks from the center of town, the Zocolo, and a number of great markets including the organic market which we visited on Friday and Saturday.

I would highly recommend this lovely intimate hotel if you're visiting Oaxaca.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaryAnneErickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    105
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
39
139
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Casa del Sotano is a small family run hotel that is very friendly and comfortable. We stayed there 3 nights and really enjoyed the freshly cooked breakfasts each morning and the gorgeous views from the verandas. The room was cozy and comfortable. Their central courtyard is the highlight of the place with lush foliage and running water. Next time I come to Oaxaca I will be staying there again. The staff was always ready to answer questions and give tips on local sights, etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparks101955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The accommodating, friendly staff along with a very clean hotel made this extended stay wonderful. We stayed at 2 other hotels before we found Casa Del Sotano and once here, we were not going to stay any where else. Good location, beautiful views from the breakfast room and terrace, closed to non registered guests but who can blame them when tourists are running in to take the best photo of Santa Domingo!
A great find in Oaxaca with exceptional value!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in January. Nice place, very comfortable. The rooms on the bottom floor (in the basement) toward the back are very quiet - we heard little road noise and slept well at night. The staff were very helpful. The cafe has good food and even hot water for tea. Beautiful gardens for relaxing.

Room Tip: rooms on the bottom floor in the back were smaller but much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diane_rains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Reservations that were somewhat complex w/ multiple family members coming and going (including during busy christmas week) were all handled well and professionally on the internet by the hotel. The rooms are simple and altho there is a slight msuty smell in one part of a corridor, the rooms and the rest of the hotel were fine. We stayed in 3 different rooms with no problems. The little cafe is nice for coffee and eggs in the morning. The staff were all very helpful as well. There is off site parking if necessary a few blocks away. Oaxaca is a great town to walk in and the location of the hotel is w/in an 8-10 minute walk to the main plaza, the markets and the Cathedrals. Nice rooftop and view too.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbTacoma_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 109 in Oaxaca
343 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.6 km away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#11 of 109 in Oaxaca
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 109 in Oaxaca
521 reviews
1.0 km away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 109 in Oaxaca
135 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#22 of 109 in Oaxaca
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Sotano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Sotano

Property: Hotel Casa del Sotano
Address: Tinoco y Palacios 414 | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca C.P. 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#17 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price range (per night): $66 - $99
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa del Sotano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa del Sotano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sotano Oaxaca
Casa Del Sotano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing