We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, spotlessly clean, well located, and...”
Traditional artwork, Talavera tiles and handmade fountain.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Traditional artwork, Talavera tiles and handmade fountain.
Patio Front of house painted
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Traditional artwork, Talavera tiles and handmade fountain.
Patio
Front of house painted
External window with two Palomitas
Casa Palomita Internal Patio
From patio: door to outside
Palomita gargoyles
Patio
Patio furniture
Patio
View from living room to patio
Sliding glass doors with shades down
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Bougainvilla in utility patio off main bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Oaxaca, Southern Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
allyson_b...
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful, spotlessly clean, well located, and great for kids”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband, two daughters, and I stayed at Casa Palomita in July 2015. We loved it. Casa Palomita is a very charming house. It was also spotlessly clean; the kitchen large and well equipped; the bathrooms convenient; the beds comfortable; and plenty of dressers and drawers for storage. We particularly liked the kitchen breakfast bar, where we sat most mornings for breakfast. The courtyard is a great place for kids to play. The location is quite good: just a few blocks from the northern part of the historic city center, with a grocery store, tortilleria, and bakery within a few minutes' walk. It was thus possible to pop out and pick up breakfast or dinner ingredients quickly. It was also easy to pop into several mezcalerias on the walk home from the city center in the evening as well. Parking was safe; we had no problems leaving our car on the street. And, the neighbourhood was safe: my husband dropped me at the grocery store on our way home a few evenings and I walked back to the house without any problems whatsoever. Given that it was just a couple of short blocks from a main thoroughfare, it was also easy to catch taxis as well. For those traveling with children or who prefer quiet dinners at home after a long day sightseeing, staying at a place like Casa Palomita is a must! We were very happy to get back "home" each evening to such a peaceful place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marivel M
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oaxacan”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

AMAZING does not even begin to describe casita palomita! Im a 19 year old Bay area student, and my family visited oaxaca as a part of a two stop trip this summer. Casita Palomita was in a very safe and secluded neighborhood, yet near to the action of oaxaca. My family of 5 spent the week very comfortable in its three bedroom two bath. My sisters and I are all college age, and we had a great time adventuring everyday to the many different shopping markets oaxaca de juarez has to offer. So much so, we came home in a cab most evenings to accommodate to all the bags of goodies we brought home with us. We also got the chance to go to hierve el agua with a great taxi driver who knew casita palomita well, enjoying the day mineral bath waters and our own private tour guide. Another highlight was the amazing night life oaxaca has to offer. Just walking around you hear the music coming out of the pueblo buildings. We went to a night club on our last night, and were pleasantly surprised with the dance classes that came before the crowd of people. It was a live band and a great authentic mexican scene. Again walking distance from Casita Palomita was a great plus. All in all, the bright home of Casita Palomita made our stay in México more comfortable and our adventures more at reach. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: walking distance to shopping center
Liked least: no pets aloud
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoniG
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable, convenient place to stay”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying in Casa Palomita; it's perfect for 2 couples. The living area and patio are open and spacious and the kitchen is easy to use. The bedrooms are far apart so there's lots of privacy. Everything provided is the best quality: sheets, towels, kitchen items. We love being surrounded by the beauty of the house and folk art.

The house is an easy walk to the Centro and is in a very nice neighborhood. Don Vidal, the recommended taxi driver/tour guide is a marvel. Very kind, knowledgeable and helpful. He really made our trip special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beauty and comfort of the home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine981...
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very special place”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Maria,
My husband and I are sitting at LAX waiting for our flight home. In talking about the highlights of our trip to Oaxaca, Casa Palomita is clearly on top. What a lovely home you've created, both architecturally and arts-wise. You have an amazing eye for colors and textures; it was truly a feast for our eyes. It also reinforced our interest in finding several artisans my friend and I had researched, which resulted in some wonderful personal connections as well as beautiful art to bring home. Thanks so much for opening your Oaxacan home to us. It is a very special place. Elaine

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
proverbs1...
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is the place!”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Hola Maria;
Sorry, Gringo warp time of being in Oaxaca 
Your home is amazing! I loved seeing the photo book of the progress in construction or more like ‘resurrection’ that you did. We also loved the interior decorating that was done… the artwork really gave us the feeling of being someplace unique.
There is nothing that could have been done to make it any more comfortable or relaxing. The only thing I questioned Lu about was the length of time it took for the Kitchen sink to receive warm water to wash dishes…the far shower in the next room over seemed to have hot water faster! It’s not something I would think can be done any different as the water flow was good at the kitchen sink. Maybe it’s because our water heater at home is about 5 feet from our kitchen and I’m spoiled by the short time of delivery.
The only problem we had is the four pounds we gained while in Oaxaca!
Thank you for putting your home out there for vacationers. The price is a real bargain. I am glad you found everything well cared for by us and if we were the type of people who would have thought of taking something that didn’t belong to us…we probably would have made off with Lu, she was a great help and we will miss her smile and peaceful demeanor. You have a dedicated caretaker in her.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing