We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Nearby Hotels
Parador Del Dominico(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
USD 43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 68/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 93
USD 80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
USD 182
USD 155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Trebol(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
USD 40
USD 36
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azul Cielo Hostel(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
USD 40
USD 39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 124
USD 121
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 91
USD 83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
194
26
12
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
194
26
12
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationcontinental breakfastgreat linensthe bread puddingstaff went out of their wayhomemade jamsrooms are spacious and cleanevery requestamazing hotelluxury hotelsmall hotelwonderful townsanto domingotop floorroom safehighly recommend staying hererestaurants and bars
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2018

The Palacio Borghesi is a very comfortable and quiet hotel just 1 1/2 blocks from the pedestrian street Calle Macadonio Alcala. It appears to be a colonial building converted to a modern hotel. The hotel is small in comparison to American hotels such as Marriott hotels, and that is a plus. Each room is individually named. My wife and I splurged on this hotel for the last two nights of our stay in Oaxaca. We stayed in a suite called Verona on the second floor for two nights in mid-April, 2018. It was extremely comfortable and the room was spacious with a small mini-bar and safe. The bathroom was modern and stocked each day with two bottles of water.

The continental breakfast was excellent as were the breakfast items on the menu. Try the "divorced eggs" or huevos divorciados.

There is a terrace on the roof that has fantastic views of the city that get even better at nightfall.

The service was exceptionally quick and the doormen were especially polite, knowledgeable, and spoke very good English. One of the doormen arranged a taxi to the airport that cost $200 pesos.

A great experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TrvlAnimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josemanuel2013, Director General at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear TrivlAnimal

We are really glad to read all your kind comments that kindly left according to your exceptional stay at Palacio Borghese.

Thank you for mentioning the location of the hotel which is situated only one block and half from the beautiful Santo Domingo church and the pedestrian way “Alcala”, where a lot of galleries, craft shops, restaurants , exchange money places and more stores can be found.

It is good for us to know that you liked your suite Verona, which was wide and comfy and that it has a modern bathroom.

The chef is happy to know his breakfasts were delicious and especially you enjoyed the “divorced eggs”

We are also glad that the terrace with its beautiful views to the downtown were for you delightful, the most important thing for is to know all the services were reached, and were quick, efficient and especially for the front desk guys who speak fluent English, and were always very kind with the service.

Thanks to all of this, we achieved your stay making it memorable.

Best regards, we hope to serve you again in a future.

J.Manuel Lòpez Ramos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

The best location and service in Oaxaca!!
We booked 3 rooms, and all of them were fantastic. The service was amazing, fantastic rooms, best location, and awesome b/fast. This was our 2nd time here within the year.
Christina, the cook , made the best omelette‘ s for b/fast.
A charming boutique hotel which I highly recommend!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josemanuel2013, Director General at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Dear Christine.

It was a pleasure to have you here, being this as your second time at Palacio Borghese, we want to thank you for all your kind comments about our fantastic rooms, about the delicious food of the hotel, and thank you as well for cheering the chef, who is proud of his job.

And the best, about the incredible service you got from all the staff, especially from Cristina.

Thank you for mentioning that the hotel is very charming and for you and your family was a memorable visit that you will remember with affect.

We hope to serve you again in your future visit to our beautiful city; it will be a delight to have you again.

Best regards

J.Manuel Lòpez Ramos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Service, amities & location made our stay a 5 star experience! Staff was helpful, warm & friendly on service (fantastic breakfast included). Rooms are equipped beautifully & the hotel has a rooftop which allows you to enjoy the character the old downtown view. To our surprise, the hotel is smaller than we thought & has the feel of a boutique hotel experience. Great restaurants, museums & shopping are convinniently a couple blocks away. We will undoubtedly stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josemanuel2013, Director General at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Antonio.

Thank you so much for considering Palacio borghese as a five stars hotel, I think the adjectives talk by themselves; beautiful and comfy rooms, ace location, wonderful breakfast, terrific and attentive service to all the needs of our guests.

We hope in a future to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards.

J.ManueL LôpezRamos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Hotel Palacio Borghese is a spectacular small luxury hotel. Charming and luxurious rooms with modern showers and bathroom. The staff is young but went all out or us. And the location is incredible. The only minor downside is that you could hear a barking dog in a next door house. That said, if we are back to Oaxaca, we will definitely try to book the Palacio again.

Room Tip: Book well in advance, so you can bet the best room (we ended up in the Roma room - two double beds :( )
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shachor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josemanuel2013, Director General at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Hanoch.

In behalf of all the staff at Palacio Borghese, we thank you for mentioning about the spectacular small luxury hotel that was for you.

It is good to know your room was of your taste, you found it lovely, luxurious, and comfy, as well with the mention of the jacuzzi which have got beautiful Italians designs with modern showers. Thank you for mentioning the service that we always get from our staff, who day by day make an effort to show and give the best service.

We hope to see you soon.

Best regards.

J.Manuel Lòpez ramos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We only spend two nights at the Borghese on our return trip to California. Earlier we had spend ten days in Oaxaca in another hotel. I would recommend the Borghese even if it is a bit more pricey. The hotel is a lovely old colonial building, a former convent as I was told. Breakfast is served in the alcoves surrounding the central courtyard! Cool and lovely.
If desired breakfast is also served on a terrace. The rooftop terrace has a spectacular view of the city and nearby church of Santo Domingo.
Our room was one of several on the terrace. It was not absolutely private do to the nearness of the other rooms. But I believe there were more private rooms in the building. I just never asked! Hence the mystery of the Palacio!
The staff is welcoming and very helpful.
Book here if you do not want the run of the mill!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Koblenztreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josemanuel2013, Director General at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Koblenztreis

It is a pleasure to get kind comments about your experience at Palacio Borghese.

We are glad our old building was beautiful for you having the fresh patio where you had delicious breakfasts, also as you mention that they can be served up at the terrace or have them as room service.

We have got a nice view from the terrace, on one hand the Santo Domingo temple and on the other hand our beautiful and historic downtown.

The most important part for us is to know the staff service was high quality, whence we can reach a memorable stay.

Taking advantage, in behalf of all the staff at Palacio Borghese, we thank you again for having you in a future stay.

Best regards.

J.Manuel Lòpez Ramos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews