We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest hostel in the world!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Cuija Coyoacan
Reviewed 27 January 2017

I was told it was the cleanest in the world by a seasoned traveler I met at breakfast. I hadn't ever stayed at a hostel before, so before her assessment, I only knew for sure the entire place was cleaner than our house has ever been since our kids made it to adolescence, lol.

I had a private room & it was everything I needed for a week's vacation -- hot shower + comfortable bed The property is a 15-min walk to the Coyoacan Metro stop, several parks, the covered market, a supermarket, a small mall & many bakeries (one quite large), & the Frida Kahlo museum. The taxi fare from the airport is ~mx$250.

Bring your earplugs bc neighborhood dogs & cats all night (which is just Mexico). Bring warm clothes for sleeping (no central heating in Mexico City) & maybe a book light.

The breakfast is a delicious business, the coffee is so good, the staff is sweet and kind and patient. The actual property is secure. What's the catch? You had better speak Spanish. I do, so I will tell you: I hated to leave and I can not wait to go back.

Room Tip: make sure to email the property ahead of time to avoid check-in confusion (come ready to show the em...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank elspethhillymartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hostel hidden in coyacan Mexico City. Visited this hostel with my boyfriend to celebrate New Years and we were amazed by it's picturesque aura with paintings from Frida Kahlo, who's house can be visited only a few blocks away. The owners are friendly and helpful, the breakfast served is Mexican style and tastes wonderful! Well worth a visit, one of the best hostels I've visited!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Elvira O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

The staff at Cuija were all so lovely and sweet! They made my stay very enjoyable! They went out of their way to make me feel welcomed and comfortable! It is in a great location which is nice, quiet and safe!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank chelseacheesecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

The Hostal is pretty cool, has nice staff (they only speak spanish) and it´s clean! They have really cool terraces, to chill out and have a beer. The area is safe and super nice!
One bad thing is, that the rooms are pretty small....it´s not quite clear where to store your stuff.

But overall its a really good Hostal and I can highly recommend to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

The Cuija hostel has everything you need, great location, friendly staff, nice rooms and bathroom, when you are a travel budget. I only had few days in town, and decided to spend my last day there. In the morning I went to Casa Azul - Frida's Museum, had breakfast at Mi Mercado and walked around the lovely neighborhood. I was going to take off very early in the morning to catch my flight, and the lovely lady who works get there, left my breakfast on the fridge for me, and also booked my cab ride. You might feel you are staying at a friend's house, hanging out in the living room! So cute! Full of books and details to find out!

Room Tip: The private room has a lovely window to the garden, very bright and cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hostel Suites DF
#4 of 232 in Mexico City
218 reviews
Condesa
Hostel Home
Hostel Home
#13 of 232 in Mexico City
46 reviews
Centro Historico
Downtown Beds
Downtown Beds
#26 of 232 in Mexico City
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hostel Amigo Suites
Hostel Amigo Suites
#36 of 232 in Mexico City
269 reviews
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#6 of 232 in Mexico City
323 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
#12 of 232 in Mexico City
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Cuija Coyoacan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Cuija Coyoacan

Address: Calle Berlin # 268 | Col. del Carmen Coyoacan between Guerrero and Aldama streets, Mexico City 04100, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Coyoacan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 232 Speciality Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range: $20 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Cuija Coyoacan 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Cuija Coyoacan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Cuija Coyoacan Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing