We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the Ritz treat, but not the same damage to your wallet...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
Ranked #8 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“All the Ritz treat, but not the same damage to your wallet...”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I don’t know if you have tried to be a visitor in your own city, but I enjoy it every time. This means to actually book a hotel, pack things and become a tourist for a couple of days.

I live in Mexico City and had done this before several times, staying at the Four Seasons. I even book a guide to visit places that you actually never visit, regardless of living in your city.
If you have not done it, give it a try, you will actually feel like you are on vacations. It’s a whole new perspective. It might feel awkward at first, but by the time you get back home, you realize your city can also be enjoyed as a tourist.

This weekend I decided to do it again. As we come to the end of the Easter week and all highways would be absolutely crowded, so there was no interest in spending the whole Sunday watching the snails go pass right next to you, as you wait in line at the paytoll.

I planned to watch the Traviata from the New York Opera as they broadcast it live from the Metropolitan into a local theatre; have a peaceful afternoon and a good dinner. Next day, enjoy a Sunday brunch and back home.
Ok, so much for the plans. The question was where.

Of course the first choice would be the Four Seasons. You can’t beat one of the 2 or 3 rooms that have a large terrace where you can drink your glass of wine and enjoy the inside patio and evening music. It’s not even a suite, but it’s one of the only terraces in the building. If you do come to the Four Seasons please book it.

However….I had just been to Cancun into the JW Marriot and really thought that it was closer to their sibling Ritz Carlton, so I gave it a chance, since there is no Ritz Carlton in Mexico City (and after you end up the review, you will probably think we don’t need it).

I had book their meeting rooms in the past and I liked the ambience and service, so I had high expectations.

Surprise number 1: The cost for a weekend rate, in an executive level is only 208 usd. We are talking a 500 sq feet room with one of the BEST views in Mexico.

Surprise number 2: It includes an actual breakfast buffet (great fruit and juices), daily snacks, wine, beers, all sort of natural juices, all types of teas, pastries and…. dinner too!

It is the first time I heard of an executive lounge serving “dinner”. Ok, it’s not a la carte but they had great options. We had booked at 9pm at their Lipps Brasserie, but we could not withhold our hands off their cheese selection, pasta, Cordon Bleu Chicken, red wine, salads, desserts, and so on.
Sorry Lipps, these were high class meals and did not missed your French accent.

Surprise number 3: If you think having a great room, daily breakfast buffet, all day snacks AND dinner is not enough, let me tell you they will even take 5 cloths to the dry cleaner, give you free internet and your choice of newspaper.

Honestly, I am considering to rent my home and move here 3 months to save some money for the family winter vacations! What a treat.

The service was great, the girl at the executive lounge, Indira (as in Indira Gandhi) was always helpful. Everybody is really concerned in the well being of the guests. Good training and it shows.

The hotel style is not magnificent as the FS but still in the top ratings. It’s a mixture between European and Contemporary Mexican; elegant, but not overdone. I read the rooms were remodeled in 2006. They are still in very good shape.

Again, our brunch plans were killed by the mastermind of the executive lounge manager. We just came to take a look, but we could not say no. To their benefit, the brunch really looked good and for $32 USD it is also a bargain. Everything you find in a breakfast buffet plus a grill, seafood and al sorts of desserts.

So, in a nutshell, do I recommend this hotel? It’s life on a Ritz and a very happy wallet…Congrats to the Manager. And Four Seasons, you should better keep your eyes open.

Room Tip: The Master executive room is definitively the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PegasoMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    242
    43
    12
    11
See reviews for
164
203
56
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The hotel is what you expect from a Marriott one. What i found exceptional is the swimming pool. You can enter inside the hotel, and then swim through the outside (a sort of roof), so you can swim in open pool, heated water..super! Hotel is expensive as the other locations in Polanco

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Agree with a lot of other reviewers on certain things the bottom line is you can do MUCH better on the same street.
The prices are ridiculously high usually over $420 USD during the week. Ver snobby check in and from desk staff.
Location is great if you work in or around Polanco but on the same street is a wonderful Nikko for 1/2 the price, a W which is usually 60-70% the price and a decent Intercontinental also much cheaper. Same street. Same safety. Same restaurants, same shopping.
I am Platinum Premier and stay at Marriott's exclusively but this hotel just is not worth it. Not at all

Room Tip: Regular rooms are run of mill size wise. Especially value wise. Try for an upgrade. It will not be e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for a week and it was perfect for my business trip. The concierge level provided wonderful food and the service was excellent. The gym is very well maintained and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Depending on your room, the view can be wonderful.

Thanks Marriott for a home away from home feeling.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAFO399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The last time I stayed in this hotel was in December 2011.

The location is excellent. There are many restaurants near by which are very good. You can see a lot of foreigners walking around the neigborhood, and feels safe to walk around at night.

The room was excellent, very nice classic touch. Probably the best I've stayed for business. The mini bar has a good selection of things. The Internet connection, even though expensive was very fast. The bed was comfortable, and it was pleasant to find a chocolate on your pillow every day. The bathroom was also very nice.

Breakfast is just excellent. It varies every day, and is delicious. The staff at the lobby were very helpful and were able to assist with my needs for transportation and local attractions.

With these experiences, whenever I go to Mexico City this is definitely where I will stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinCabrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#11 of 305 in Mexico City
1,907 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 305 in Mexico City
1,268 reviews
The St. Regis Mexico City
#7 of 305 in Mexico City
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#2 of 305 in Mexico City
630 reviews
Polanco
W Mexico City
W Mexico City
#28 of 305 in Mexico City
907 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
Address: Calle Andres Bello 29 | Polanco Mexico City Distrito Federal 11560 Mexico, Mexico City 11550, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#3 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#5 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price range (per night): $252 - $738
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Jw Marriott
Marriott Mexico City
Mexico City Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing