We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camino Real Polanco Mexico
Ranked #68 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 10 October 2009

I went to Camino Real Polanco after a bad experience at another hotel in Mexico city.

Camino Real hotel was a very good choice. I liked the bright colors on the walls, the architecture and much of the original furniture, as well as the staff's bright pink uniforms. A shame that it has been refurbished without preserving all of the original elements. In my room namely there was not much interesting design.

But the room was extremely confortable, quiet and big. It had a nice view over the garden, a little terrasse and, as it was located on the ground floor, direct access to the pool. The pool was decent sized. Breakfast was good.

My corridor was sometimes deserted but I did not feel unsafe.

Staff was attentive.

I am willing to return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CritiqueCandide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 521 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2009

I stayed during a trade show for the first time in this hotel. As the location is convenient to the show, I booked there. To me the hotel is by far too big. 700 rooms. The rooms and bathrooms are already quite old and need some renovation. If you are unlucky you get a quite noisy room. The first room I was in, then I claimed and got a quite room. The only good thing was the fast and reliable room service with good qualtiy food.
Internet WiFi is not for free, you got to pay 24h.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoachimG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

My hsband was invite me 2 days a mexico . he stay for bussiness and he choose this hotel because is very close ti his mexico's office.
I loved this hotel. very nice decorations, Big room with a nice terrace and very clean.
The service is perfect and the restaurant La huerta excelent. The breakfast (included in the price) was huge.
I hope comeback ans stay more days with my family.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cargenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

We stayed at this hotel to unwind for a few days before continuing on a vacation that would be less relaxing and more exploring. We had stayed at this hotel in the past and we were not disappointed. The service is always excellent, the rooms, although not luxurious are elegant and are always clean and well stocked. The club rooms are especially nice because you can go get breakfast, a snack or a drink without leaving your floor. The pool and terrace are wonderful, and with 7 restaurants the choices for meals are endless.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

I chose this hotel for a first trip to Mexico with my fiancée. Not knowing anything about the city, I deemed it to be well located for the main sights and dining and entertainment. The hotel was also on a good rate, which is why I chose an executive room, which featured larger rooms and access to the executive lounge.

Check-in was fairly trouble-free, on the 5th floor at the executive lounge. Upon check-in for the executive rooms, you get free complimentary dry-cleaning and shoe shining service, which was a welcome perk after trudging my work clothes on our holiday to Mexico and in preparation for my meetings the next day. Other perks include complimentary breakfast buffet at the lounge (somewhat small selection, but adequate) and afternoon drinks and snacks, which were very good.

The hotel itself is very interesting architecturally and has striking bars and outdoor areas. The swimming pool area is also very nice. Our room was massive, with possibly the largest bed I’ve ever seen in a hotel. The room was also quiet, and you could keep the windows open and still hear limited noise from the street. Bathroom was nice, with a good selection of toiletries.

All was going very well until the time we were returning to our room after dinner on the second nice. As we were heading towards the elevators a security guy stopped us in order to check that we were guests. Until then, I thought ok, it’s a security spot check. I gave him our room number and surname, which he found on his printout. At that point I thought he’d thank us, but no, he scanned the sheet until he found the number of guests in the room: 2, and only then did he let us go! I found this completely unacceptable as it implied he thought my fiancé might have been a prostitute. To make matters worse, as he was “questioning” us, loads of other (male) guests were walking past unchallenged. He specifically picked on us as we were a couple! This brings me to another question: is this hotel so sleazy they feel the need to check if every good looking young woman is a prostitute? I can’t see any other reason for the “random” check. The next morning I complained to the manager at the executive lounge and was given the typical “we’re doing this for your security”. Then why not check on the male guests!?

Needless to say, I’ve knocked 3 stars off on account of this otherwise good hotel. And next time I’m in Mexico I’ll look at staying in a smaller, friendlier hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rafkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#12 of 312 in Mexico City
1,413 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
2,122 reviews
Le Meridien Mexico City
#23 of 312 in Mexico City
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Polanco Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Polanco Mexico

Address: Liebnitz 100 Col Anzures | Colonia Anzures, Mexico City 11590, Mexico (Formerly Camino Real Mexico City)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $150 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Polanco Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Polanco is unique architectural concept, created by highly-regarded architect Ricardo Legorreta. This space is considered a Hotel-Museum for its beauty and art collection. It opened its doors to the public on July 25, 1968, combining modern features with shapes clearly reminiscent of Prehispanic pyramids, the elements of which merge together to create a wonderful architectural work. Camino Real Polanco has hosted two soccer World Cups and the Olympic Games, as well as over 210 official visits from presidents and kings from all over the world. Category 5 Stars / 4 Diamonds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Camino Real Polanco Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Camino Real Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Camino Real
Camino Real Polanco Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing