We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camino Real Polanco Mexico
Ranked #66 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 29 July 2012

It´s a 5 star on trying to collect money from you !! I made a booking directly with the hotel on a king de luxe. When arrived they said my reservationwas cancelled....I said cancelled by who??? but they coudn´t find any reasonable answer.
They said they did not have more rooms available as same I have already booked, so they offer me a superior room, but...for U$S 50 more each night !!!! I said no, so the next offer was a queen room but i need to wait 3 hs because at that time was not available. ( it was 2.30 p.m. )
The pool was really small , the room outdated. The location is 25 minutes walk to nice bars- restaurants. The only good thing of the hotel is the size of the rooms , nothing else. I have been a couple of times to the Nikko hotel ( now Hilton) which is also a 5 star hotel and no comparation at all. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone at least if you find a deal of U$S 100 the night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMPJMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 456 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is my second review of the Camino Real Hotel in Mexico City. My last review was in Sept 2011 and I returned again for a 7-day stay.

When travelling to Mexico, my accommodations are usually set by the in-country home office so I usually don't find out where I'm staying until I arrive in Mexico. This hotel is selected due to it's close proximity to our office.

Remembering that I almost fell down the steps on my first visit to this hotel, I was very cautious when I arrived. The lobby was still a wonderful place. Well kept, well lit, plenty of things and people to see, and the view was impressive. Based on the lobby alone, you would think you were at the Waldorf Astoria in NY.

The hotel staff was exceedingly friendly and spoke English. Check in was speedy and when I exchanged some money, they gave me a good rate.

As I'm familiar with the layout of the hotel, I found my room easily and my luggage arrived at my room quickly.

The rooms at the hotel need to be updated. There was peeling and chipped paint in the room. As you walk in, there is no obvious odor or anything that will stands out as being out of place. The layout of the room is good and the ventilation works well.

The bathroom is large and the shower is unique. There is a walk-in shower only. There are no bathtubs. There is only a glass wall for the shower and you need to place a towel at the shower entrance or water will soak the main bathroom floor. The water pressure is fine and the water temperature was great. I would caution visitors to make sure the shower mat is in place firmly because the shower floor can become quite slippery, (it is granite), and you could lose your footing. The bathroom supplies were fine and the towels were in great shape.

Now for the bad part.

Call me naive. I've been travelling to Mexico on business trips for almost 13 years at the time of this post. I was completely unaware of the legality of "ladies of the evening" in Mexico and found out about them in what I would consider to be an aggravating manner.

After a 20-hour day at the office, I had gone to the hotel and crashed hard. I'm very surprised that anything could wake me up. But around 3AM, I was awakened by some really loud partying coming from the next room. I was confused for a moment and thought I had fallen asleep in a club, but quickly realized that I was still in my room. The people were loud and after awhile, I could smell the cigarette smoke coming under my door.

A phone call to the front desk was something that I thought would solve the issue. The noise continued for at least another hour.

I finally dozed off around 4AM only to be awakened shortly around 4:30 to the unmistakeable sounds of male and female "intimacy". Banging on the wall with my shoe bought some solace but the headboard, mattress and box-springs didn't seem to get my hint.

So having to take the walk down the hall to the front desk to get away from the noisy racket wasn't something that I relished. It's a long way from the rooms to the front desk and so grabbing a person to go back and tell the neighbours to quiet down, made me a very unhappy guest.

I got about another hour of sleep before I had to start the day, so I was not in a very good mood. The next evening was quiet and I was able to sleep through the night.

The fourth evening, I was staring at the wall again as another party was taking place in the room next door. I called the front desk again and told them that I didn't know that I had asked to be booked into the room next to the "Freaks of the "Week" and somebody needed to come up and tell them to be quiet.

The front desk was much more receptive and moved very quickly. I heard them knocking on the door and the noise did quiet down.

But there has to be something done about the noise levels in the rooms. Walking down the halls, you can hear what is going on in other rooms. After this stay, I feel like I was staying in a "Love Motel".

Even though I had a negative experience in the room, I think the hotel restaurants were wonderful. The China Grille was awesome. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding.

I don't remember the name of the other restaurant that I ate in , but the food was great there.

Room service food was hit or miss. I don't recommend the hamburger. It was awful. The club sandwich and salads were very good. Room service took an average of 20 minutes.

The hotel needs to be updated and sound-proofed. Because of the restaurants and staff, I give this hotel an average. If rated solely on restaurants and staff, this would rate a "very good or excellent". Because the rooms need updating, I have to rate the hotel as only average.

The area is safe. There is amazing art and structures around. A little updating and this can once again be an excellent value for the money. Right now, the hotel is over-priced for what you receive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HGfromOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Hotel Staff are very friendly and aim to provide great customer service. The location is solid, Polanco is safe and close to both museums and several other high end hotels and restaurants. The hotel is a bit older. The only issue I had was the distance from the lobby to my room. I would swear it was a quarter mile! That being said, I can always use a good walk for some exercise.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms close to the lobby or you will need some good walking shoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingExecutive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I fisrt stayed here in 1985 and several times since, and again in June 2012. They have kept the hotel in great condition. I can recomend this hotel for any type of stay to Mexico City.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat73fromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is a great hotel, modernistic exterior, many courtyards and many of the rooms have balconies. My room was VERY large - the king sized bed looked tiny in the room. The bathroom was also very large and well appointed. The layout of the hotel is best described as rambling. I had to take many twists and turns to get from the lobby to my room.

The hotel seems to be popular for small conventions and seminars. The President and First Lady of Mexico were there for a function while we we there.

Handicapped accessibility is poor, but that's typical of almost everywhere I've been in Mexico. The rooms are pricey, but we got a great deal online. My pet peeve with pricey hotels - why can't you provide free internet! Seems like the more a hotel charges for a room the less complimentary items you get! Luckily there is a VIPS restaurant about 2 blocks away that provide free internet.

There are numerous restaurants in the hotel, but most are expensive and, I think, over priced. We did find a Mexican Restaurant in the hotel that was reasonable and had excellent food.

The hotel is within a short walking distance to the Museo Nacional de Antropología. It is worth the visit. The original Aztec calendar stone is located there.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#12 of 312 in Mexico City
1,415 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
2,125 reviews
Le Meridien Mexico City
#22 of 312 in Mexico City
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Polanco Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Polanco Mexico

Address: Liebnitz 100 Col Anzures | Colonia Anzures, Mexico City 11590, Mexico (Formerly Camino Real Mexico City)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $149 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Polanco Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Polanco is unique architectural concept, created by highly-regarded architect Ricardo Legorreta. This space is considered a Hotel-Museum for its beauty and art collection. It opened its doors to the public on July 25, 1968, combining modern features with shapes clearly reminiscent of Prehispanic pyramids, the elements of which merge together to create a wonderful architectural work. Camino Real Polanco has hosted two soccer World Cups and the Olympic Games, as well as over 210 official visits from presidents and kings from all over the world. Category 5 Stars / 4 Diamonds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Camino Real Polanco Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Camino Real Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Camino Real
Camino Real Polanco Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing