We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget boutique in mexico city: wanted!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Room Mate Valentina
Ranked #44 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2012

this hotel offers the promise of a boutique experience in the heart of trash/pop/glam Zona Rosa.
does it deliver?

pro:
- service: hard-working, dedicated, super-friendly and downright loveable reception and bell staff
- location: on (pink) c/amberes, just off reforma, walking distance from roma, and just a short taxi drive from condesa and centro historico, you can't get better location while retaining all the convenience of a human-scale pedestrian neighborhood (polanco, anyone?).
- happy-go-lucky, modern, positive design inspiration, always a plus in an often dreary architown like df - especially for this price
- breakfast buffet including good cereals, fresh fruits/juices and other continental staples - and all until 12 noon!
- budget! a fraction of what you would pay at condesa df or habits - although these are more beautiful they are also overpriced and snobby. they need to get some competition at least, and that is what charming valentina offers.

cons:
- breakfast is carb heavy and poor on proteins: eg it does not include any eggs, only boring ham and cheese. (lactose free options only ham). ok this is a spanish chain but international guests expect eggs for breakfast ok? mexican additions like salsa verde and refried beans would make the brekky only marginally more costly to make, but so much more satisfying and local-touch.
- isolation in the rooms is poor from the door side: you hear everything that happens in the corridor. mind you this is also a problem at other boutique hotels (especially in old buildings, like condesa df) but it should be taken care of.
- the smell of the drains is hard to bear but difficult to tackle I know (mexico city has its sewerage problems like every big city). still they should try to improve on this.

all in all a positive experience and I would definitely return, hoping the owners will read this review and solve some of the challenges to make this an even better experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dirkdewilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 277 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

Totally loved this beautiful and modern hotel, attention from the staff was always friendly and they helped us in everything we needed, thanks to them, we have an amazing tour to Teotihuacán. Room was clean, nice and with all the amenities we wanted.
Definitelly will be back soon!

Room Tip: All rooms have great view to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I loved this little boutique hotel and its modern decor. The service was phenomenal and the staff was very friendly. It is in a really nice part of the city and a short walk to Paseo Reforma. There were cafes, boutiques, and restaurants all within a few minutes walk as well. I was pleasantly surprised to find an antique mall around the corner too. I was originally in a room on the eleventh floor but because they needed to do some work on it was upgraded to the pent house, which was very cute.If my boyfriend and I come back to Mexico City again this is where we will stay. Some visitors criticized the breakfast but you know what? I found it adequate and besides who wants to get weighed down with a heavy meal when you have amazing food to sample through out the city just waiting for you. By the way the coffee was good and they had a large assortment of tea selections.
PS the only thing I would change is I would add

Room Tip: Request an upper floor. There is a very lively night club scene so if you are one that goes to bed e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This is a funkily designed little hotel in the heart of Zona Rosa in Mexico City. The location is perfect if you want to be in the heart of this throbbing city. It is surrounded by restaurants, bars and some dubious nightlife. I have stayed here twice. The rooms are very large and bright. All necessary amenities are included and nothing is included that you don't need. Don't expect chocolate on the pillows but do expect big comfy soft furnishings, free wifi, free breakfast and super clean conditions. If you want quiet or chocolates, go to one of the posh places in Polanco.
The most impressive aspect of this hotel and the reason I came back is the staff. Friendly, charming and helpful. I wish there were more hotels like this in the world. The hotel has a staff car and driver who is equally helpful, knowledgeable and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

please make up your mind:
Credit card payment, they need a PIN, you don´t have it, find a way
No eggs for breakfast, one can live without, but the rest is OK, apart from the fact that tea is not really available, like other mexican hotels as well
Slow elevator, ...
Smelly carpet on thrid floor and in my room, not accebtable
bathroom fixtures worn out
Great shower indeed
Still interessting design
Gay and lesbian center, plus hetero offers
Males are requested after dawn to go and pay for chicas
Sex shops around
Central location
Quite, even though I had a room on the third floor, windows are doubble glas

If the prices is attractive - Go and make up your mind
I stayed four nights and will not visit again
Restaurants in walking distance average

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoachimG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#55 of 312 in Mexico City
454 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel PF
Hotel PF
#64 of 312 in Mexico City
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#32 of 312 in Mexico City
948 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#25 of 312 in Mexico City
944 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#29 of 312 in Mexico City
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Valentina

Address: Calle Amberes 27 | Zona Rosa, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#44 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $89 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Valentina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in Mexico City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Room Mate Valentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Valentina Hotel Mexico City
Marco Polo Mexico City
Hotel Marco Polo
Room Mate Valentina Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing