We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, inexpensive place to stay with a world-class view”
Review of Hostal Casa Bertha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Casa Bertha
Ranked #19 of 83 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Every time I'm in Guanajuato, I stay at Casa Bertha, a small, friendly guesthouse 10 minutes up a steep alley from the Jardin at the town's center. For $15 a night you get a room with a bath, cable TV, wi-fi, and the use of a communal terraza with a kitchen and tables to eat at, go online, or do you homework while looking at a world class view. It's really a great deal

Room Tip: I like Room 12 near the Terraza. It's a climb to get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank June2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2016

I've stayed at Casa Bertha no fewer than ten times over the past thirteen years. I've never been disappointed. Due to the 17mx peso in 2016, my $280mx figured out to about $16us per night. The view from the terrace is amazing. The jardin de la union is about a three-minute walk from CB. A produce market, bakery, laundromat, and mid-price restaurant are no farther away than the jardin. If you can, try to book either #7 or #10. Each has beds for five, private bath with hot water on demand, TV, and fully equipped kitchenette. I've stayed all over Mexico in hostels and guest houses; none measures up to CB. The smaller single/double rooms share bathrooms and are Spartan, similar to hostels, but are not part of "dormitories." A caveat: CB ain't a Marriott, but its prices are Motel 6! Nicho

Room Tip: #7 and #10 are best value. Don't go in September; Festival Cervantino brings 100,000 partiers t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19dionisio44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016

The profile photo for this hostal doesn't lie, the rooms are crowded and full of second-hand furniture thrown together. What is also important to be aware of is that Casa Bertha is not on a street, but at the top of a steep hill full of alleys and stairways. If you are travelling with luggage you are going to get plenty of exercise.

Our room was also at the top floor of Casa Bertha, so we faced more stairs! These were like fire escape stairs (or perhaps I could say those found in correctional facilities, you decide). To get hot water you need to ask them to turn on the bolier, and there is a cockerel that is pretty active in the early morning.

Having paid $1,350 for our night, we checked out and went to Hotel Plaza Baratillo

https://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g150799-d7208789-Reviews-Hotel_Plaza_Baratillo-Guanajuato_Central_Mexico_and_Gulf_Coast.html

which charged us less and offered us FAR more. Casa Betha was the worst accommodation choice I have ever made. I am surprised it receives relatively kind reviews by TA members.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank londoner_in_yucatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015

This is a delightful place. It's not a hotel, mind you, bust a guesthouse. The family lives downstairs, and are friendly and helpful. The rooms are simple, but comfortable and there is essentially no traffic noise. Our room came complete with a small, multi-lingual library. And the rooftop terrace has splendid vows over the city, once you negotiate the fun-house stairs to get up there.

Be warned: the guesthouse is up a hill with stairs in a very narrow alley and is not luggage friendly. Another reason to always travel light.

Some of the units have simple but adequate kitchens, as does the terrace. Bring your own coffee.

The location is ideal: a five minute walk gets you to the Jardin. And the price (Christmas week, no less) cannot be betted in Guanajuato

This place is not for everyone; again, it's a guesthouse and not a hotel. But it enhances ones visit to lovely Guanajuato.

Room Tip: Even if traveling as a couple, book a triple room. Very comfy(we're in room 10)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank crotalusatrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Close to everything walking distance.Family run. Very friendly. Stayed many times last 2years. Community kitchen deck with utensils, water,stove,fridge and great views to West.
Guests are always interesting here and this is a vibrant town for sure. Owner accepts checks,$,pesos,and exchanges money sometimes better than bank. 1/2 block walk in to Casa as no cars in this part of town. Better rate for a month. Don't arrive at night for 1st visit...hard to find. Very secure place.

Room Tip: Look at available rooms. One has private deck with views.Takes phone res too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.7 km away
Al Son de los Santos
Al Son de los Santos
#11 of 83 in Guanajuato
149 reviews
1.1 km away
Casona de las Aves
Casona de las Aves
#50 of 83 in Guanajuato
28 reviews
0.9 km away
Casa de Dante Hostel
Casa de Dante Hostel
#1 of 69 in Guanajuato
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Centro Bharati
Centro Bharati
#13 of 69 in Guanajuato
32 reviews
0.1 km away
Casa De Pita
Casa De Pita
#6 of 83 in Guanajuato
268 reviews
1.4 km away
Hospedaje Casa los Manzanos
Hospedaje Casa los Manzanos
#21 of 83 in Guanajuato
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Bertha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Bertha

Address: Calle de Tamboras # 9, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range: $38 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Casa Bertha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bertha Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing