We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
29
28
8
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
28
8
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2016

The profile photo for this hostal doesn't lie, the rooms are crowded and full of second-hand furniture thrown together. What is also important to be aware of is that Casa Bertha is not on a street, but at the top of a steep hill full of alleys and stairways. If you are travelling with luggage you are going to get plenty of exercise.

Our room was also at the top floor of Casa Bertha, so we faced more stairs! These were like fire escape stairs (or perhaps I could say those found in correctional facilities, you decide). To get hot water you need to ask them to turn on the bolier, and there is a cockerel that is pretty active in the early morning.

Having paid $1,350 for our night, we checked out and went to Hotel Plaza Baratillo

https://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g150799-d7208789-Reviews-Hotel_Plaza_Baratillo-Guanajuato_Central_Mexico_and_Gulf_Coast.html

which charged us less and offered us FAR more. Casa Betha was the worst accommodation choice I have ever made. I am surprised it receives relatively kind reviews by TA members.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank londoner_in_yucatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015

This is a delightful place. It's not a hotel, mind you, bust a guesthouse. The family lives downstairs, and are friendly and helpful. The rooms are simple, but comfortable and there is essentially no traffic noise. Our room came complete with a small, multi-lingual library. And the rooftop terrace has splendid vows over the city, once you negotiate the fun-house stairs to get up there.

Be warned: the guesthouse is up a hill with stairs in a very narrow alley and is not luggage friendly. Another reason to always travel light.

Some of the units have simple but adequate kitchens, as does the terrace. Bring your own coffee.

The location is ideal: a five minute walk gets you to the Jardin. And the price (Christmas week, no less) cannot be betted in Guanajuato

This place is not for everyone; again, it's a guesthouse and not a hotel. But it enhances ones visit to lovely Guanajuato.

Room Tip: Even if traveling as a couple, book a triple room. Very comfy(we're in room 10)
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank crotalusatrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Close to everything walking distance.Family run. Very friendly. Stayed many times last 2years. Community kitchen deck with utensils, water,stove,fridge and great views to West.
Guests are always interesting here and this is a vibrant town for sure. Owner accepts checks,$,pesos,and exchanges money sometimes better than bank. 1/2 block walk in to Casa as no cars in this part of town. Better rate for a month. Don't arrive at night for 1st visit...hard to find. Very secure place.

Room Tip: Look at available rooms. One has private deck with views.Takes phone res too
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2015 via mobile

such a wonderful hostel in the heart of this beautiful city.
rooms are clean and very homey, Jorge the owner is always very helpful!
the best of all: the incredible roofterasse!
best value for inexpensive stays, would go back without hesitation :)

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank chrigitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The best thing about Mexico is its people and that is exemplified by the 3 brothers, Jesus, Jorge y Juan, who run Casa Bertha. I had just returned to Mexico and this was my first stop. I became ill immediately after arriving and, if there is an upside to that, it was their kindness and warmth.
It was a bit cold - I needed 2 blankets but it's the rainy season. I thought it was very quiet for Mexico and didn't even notice the roosters but I am accustomed to life in Mexico.
Casa Bertha is really great for couples, families, or 2 people traveling together as their rooms all have multiple beds. I had an equipped kitchen as well and there is also one on the terrace.
Go to Casa Bertha for true local hospitality!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Ej8730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews