We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite in Guanajuato for sure”
Review of Hostal Casa Bertha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Casa Bertha
Ranked #19 of 82 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Close to everything walking distance.Family run. Very friendly. Stayed many times last 2years. Community kitchen deck with utensils, water,stove,fridge and great views to West.
Guests are always interesting here and this is a vibrant town for sure. Owner accepts checks,$,pesos,and exchanges money sometimes better than bank. 1/2 block walk in to Casa as no cars in this part of town. Better rate for a month. Don't arrive at night for 1st visit...hard to find. Very secure place.

Room Tip: Look at available rooms. One has private deck with views.Takes phone res too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2015 via mobile

such a wonderful hostel in the heart of this beautiful city.
rooms are clean and very homey, Jorge the owner is always very helpful!
the best of all: the incredible roofterasse!
best value for inexpensive stays, would go back without hesitation :)

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank chrigitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The best thing about Mexico is its people and that is exemplified by the 3 brothers, Jesus, Jorge y Juan, who run Casa Bertha. I had just returned to Mexico and this was my first stop. I became ill immediately after arriving and, if there is an upside to that, it was their kindness and warmth.
It was a bit cold - I needed 2 blankets but it's the rainy season. I thought it was very quiet for Mexico and didn't even notice the roosters but I am accustomed to life in Mexico.
Casa Bertha is really great for couples, families, or 2 people traveling together as their rooms all have multiple beds. I had an equipped kitchen as well and there is also one on the terrace.
Go to Casa Bertha for true local hospitality!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank EJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Without any reservations we checked in the Hostel. We were always welcomed and the stuff gave as useful information what do and to see in the town for the two nights we stayed.
The hostel was clean and we had a private room with a shared bathroom. Top was the roof-top bar with an amazing view over the city. +Good location, it is walking distance to the Jardin Eden etc. An additional plus would be the offer of a small breakfast :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linlinmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We found Casa Bertha by chance strolling around the city and it changed our trip for the best! We were able to move out of our run down, poorly managed and extremely noisy hostel into what felt like the home of a kind family friend.

The price is right, the rooms are cozy (and quiet!) and the water is hot. There is plenty of water to drink and you have use of the kitchen on the AMAZING roof top terrace. The hotel is like a labyrinth of rooms and I look forward to staying there again.

The only thing that could make the trip better would be coffee in the morning- but they have a maker so bring your own.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DHendersonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.7 km away
Al Son de los Santos
Al Son de los Santos
#11 of 82 in Guanajuato
149 reviews
1.1 km away
Casona de las Aves
Casona de las Aves
#48 of 82 in Guanajuato
27 reviews
0.9 km away
Casa de Dante Hostel
Casa de Dante Hostel
#1 of 67 in Guanajuato
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hospedaje Casa los Manzanos
Hospedaje Casa los Manzanos
#21 of 82 in Guanajuato
22 reviews
0.1 km away
Casa De Pita
Casa De Pita
#5 of 82 in Guanajuato
268 reviews
0.3 km away
Hostal Universidad Terraza
Hostal Universidad Terraza
#23 of 67 in Guanajuato
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Bertha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Bertha

Address: Calle de Tamboras # 9, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range: $36 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Casa Bertha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bertha Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing