We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutley loved this place, comfortable, great...”
other travellers have booked this property
LOOKING INTO KITCHEN FROM LIVING ROOM
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
LOOKING INTO KITCHEN FROM LIVING ROOM
Entire house showing all 3 levels Front Entrance to Casa De LaPaz
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
LOOKING INTO KITCHEN FROM LIVING ROOM
Entire house showing all 3 levels
Front Entrance to Casa De LaPaz
ENTRANCE SECOND LEVEL
MAIN LIVING ROOM
MAIN LIVING ROOM
LOOKING INTO DINING ROOM
LOOKING INTO SECOND LIVING ROOM
VIEW INTO DINING ROOM
TALAVERA COUNTERTOPS AND KITCHEN CABINETS
SECOND LIVING ROOM
KITCHEN VIEW FROM BAR AREA
Laundry center with washer and dryer
MAKEUP AREA IN SECOND BEDROOM
VIEW TO CERRO FROM PRIVATE TERRAZA SECOND FLOOR
ROOFTOP TERRAZA VIEW
ROOFTOP TERRAZA VIEW
Bathroom on upper level terraza
Outdoor kitchen on upper level terraza
ROOFTOP TERRAZA VIEW
ROOFTOP TERRAZA VIEW
ROOFTOP TERRAZA VIEW
Embajdoras Park 5 min from house
Embajdoras Park 5 min from house
Embajdoras Park 5 min from house
Walk to downtown 10-15 mins from house
Embajdoras Park 5 min from house
Embajdoras Park 5 min from house
Embajdoras Park 5 min from house
Santo Cafe 10min from house
Teatro Juarez 10-15 mins from house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Guanajuato, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Wilhelm_M...
El Paso, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Absolutley loved this place, comfortable, great views, great area. But be prepared to climb some stairs.”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed here for 5 days. for holly week (Semana Santa). This place is amazing. Fully equipped home, with 2 comfortable bedrooms and 2 baths. Plenty of hot water, Cable TV and Netflix. The owner was great at communicating with us and Adela who met us to show us the home was wonderful and attentive. This place is about a 10 minute walk from downtown but its in a great area. One of the things that people need to know is that it is more than 100 steps from the street to get to the home. (Depends on how you count them) Guanajuato is a city built on hills and part of the charm of the city is its small alleys and endless stairs. The hight of the home provides for a wonderful view day and night. The first day we got there carrying 3 bags of 50 Lbs. I won't lie, it was a challenge. I carried the 3 bags with the help of Adela and 2 of my young children. I am in pretty decent shape but I was out of wind when I finished. This however, will not dissuade us from staying at this wonderful place again. We did walk everywhere including the Pipila, the university of Guanajuato and other places, so stairs come with the territory. However be sure you are prepared for this and take it into consideration when renting any home in this city. By the 3rd day none of the stairs in the city where any challenge and by the 5 and last day. We were all racing up the stairs. Just that first day with the bags was though :)

The only issue that I did not really like is that this unit has several units for rent. The first and second floors are identical and the 3rd floor has 2 smaller apartments. On our first day we were the only ones in the complex and by Day 2, people moved in on the other 3 units. Our neighbors upstairs did not understand the concept of other people and were dragging furniture really late at night and early in the morning. Most buildings in Mexico are made of brick and concrete and noise travels easy. I would recommend to the owner to write a specific set of rules for the renters and to remember that there are people above and below. Most people will be happy to follow the rules and some will not but having a set of rules will set expectations to other renters. Again, this will not dissuade us from staying here again. The place is beautiful and well worth the climb up the stairs. We love Guanajuato. This is our favorite place in all of Mexico and visit often. I think we have found our home in this city.

Thank you Jorge for letting us use your home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
First of all I just want to thank you for taking the time to write this very perfect review of your stay in Casa Hermosa. Yes the climb is always tough for anyone especially coming to a city with stairs everywhere at 7500 feet above sea level. I agree that climb stairs has its drawbacks and its benefits. Yes the views are quite spectacular from up there, the drawback is climbing the stairs to enjoy that. However as you mentioned after a few days the stairs are not such a big issue. I always lose a few inches around the waistline from having that stairmaster right outside our front door. LOL!!!!. It is so rare to have guests in all our homes, and yes sound travels quite easily through concrete. We used to have throw rugs all over the upper homes, but they got ruined by guests rather easily. I will take your advisement seriously about rules about dragging furniture, etc, etc, to keep the noise down for guests below. Strange there were only two guests above you, and they made so much noise. I will write those rules regarding noise after a certain time, and not dragging chairs over the tile floor. I will have a copy in each home, and send them as part of the conditions to rent the homes. Thank you so much for your great review, as we know you enjoyed your stay with us, but also very helpful to us in improving guest services. We look forward to your return, and safe travels always.
Kindest Regards
JZ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mew01921
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very, very nice... with caveats”
Reviewed 10 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The apartment is large, incredibly nicely creatively decorated, with a kitchen that is truly well equipped. the owner, Jorge, is very accomodating and helpful. His on the spot person, Adela, can be quite helpful. The apartment is about a 15/20 minute walk to Centro. It is a pleasant - and very safe - walk, with lots of little nooks, crannies, and great sidewalk booths, meat markets, etc. on the way into town. It is not steep.
What is steep is the 85 step, 100 step, or 115 steps to get to the apartment (steps depend on your apartment of course!). Most are uneven. The first time, with a 50 pound suitcase was a bit of a bear. But afterwards, no really big deal. I am 72, in relatively good, if overweight, shape. The more days we spent at the apartment - and Guanajuato - the more we became attached to both. could be a bit chilly in morning around apartment, and we were told to run only one electric heater at a time. No big deal. It is a great place, more than making up for small inconveniences.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
Yes sir thank you for taking the time to give us the always valuable feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the house, convenience, location, and well stocked kitchen. We have walked to Centro so many times, and it always surprises us that we find a new nook or cranny along the way. You never know what to expect or see along the way. Yes the famous Guanajuato steps are part of the city lore and fascination. I think they have been around for hundreds of years. I am up in age also, and always appreciate the stairs when I leave GTO. We feel being up there gives guests the real Guanajuato experience, as you get to see what real callejon living is like. The handrail was installed by my neighbor and myself to facilitate everyone. Either way I always leave a few pounds behind when spending a few weeks there, so I get to appreciate them after a while. You have to admit that the elevation has advantages with the spectacular views over the city. Unfortunately 110V is all we can get in most homes in GTO. There are no large A/C systems or Electric Clothes dryers anywhere, so 220V is almost nonexistent up there. Having such a large home poses problems when running to many fixtures at the same time. We had all our homes separate into different lines with their meters to help alleviate some of these issues. Thank you again for staying with us. If you visit Guanajuato in the future keep us in mind. We would love to have you.
Safe Travels Always
JZ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda W
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Beautiful Hacienda”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a 5 day stay in Guanajuato and took a couple of days trips. The city was jammin since it was New Years Eve. We found respite when we returned to a beautiful, peaceful home. Jorge doesn't miss a thing, the home has everything you could possibly need, it's very very comfortable, the beds are great, shower pressure is good, blankets, cooking utensils, even recipe magazines. The view is magnificent. If you choose to stay here you will be pleasant surprise.
There are many stairs, 100, so be aware. The view is worth every step.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Hola Ms. W. It was our pleasure in having you as guests during one of the best times to be In GTO. This city is always jammin, but especially so during Xmas and New Year. Glad you were able to get downtown on New Years Eve. We are also very happy to hear that the house met your needs during your stay. Yes it is hard for guests to walk the stairs, but the view as you say is well worth it. We hope you got up to the rooftop terraza to really enjoy the view. Thank you so much for taking the time in writing this review, as we are always very appreciate of guest who leave their comments whether they are good or bad. We feel this is the only way to improve the homes, and our services to make your stay an enjoyable and memorable. Safe travels always, and come back and see us.
Many Thks
JZ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonTomasd...
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another great stay here....”
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is my third year in a row staying at this property and I enjoyed it just as much. The owner really will respond quickly to any needs and it has absolutely everything you need, down to a modern washer and dryer. On this trip I even logged into Netflix in the living room and got caught up on my shows late one night. Stay here and you wont be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2016
Don T
It has been such a pleasure having you back each and every year. We are always glad to see to it that you are well taken care of. Juan and his wife Adela say nothing but great things about you, and what great guest you are each time. Hopefully this won't be the end of your Cervantino Festivals in GTO. We are constantly trying to improve our guest services to ensure everyone has a great time at Casa De LaPaz and GTO. Don't be a stranger and come back and see us for the next Cervantino. Thank you for taking the time again in writing a great review of your stay with us. Looking forward to having you visit us again soon. Safe travels always.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred G
Uzes, France
1 review
“Amazing time in Guanajuato”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We had a wonderful time celebrating Thanksgiving in the house with a couple friends also visiting this beautiful city (turkey was replaced by Pollo Feliz...).
It is a little bit outside of the city center but very walkable (even for 6 and 8y) and as a result very quiet - it feels like home.
It is also closer to the other part of town called La Presa/ Damn which is quite nice to visit as well.
Hospitality = 5 stars

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and Hosts
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
All of us associated with Casa de LaPaz thank you for taking the time to write this review. It certainly helps us improve our services, and It helps future guests make a decision on staying with us. We didn't have turkey either, but Pollo Feliz is definitely a great alternative to turkey. It was very nice to be in GTO during your stay and it was certainly a pleasure meeting you and you family. Yes the house is not centrally located, but as you found out is a very walkable city even from our home. It is a bit more calm and quiet on our end of town, and we are a short distance from Presa (lake). Hope Guanajuato made a significant enough impression on you and your family to return in the future. Again thank you for taking the time, and we looking forward to serving you in the future.
Safe Travels Always
JZ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing