We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveller rating
283
224
43
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
224
43
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiego rivera museumsmall kitchenettewalking distancesteep hillsideenjoyed our stayperfect locationrooftop terracede loscentral courtyardnooks and cranniesrooms are bigbreakfast includednoisy at nightwater pressurelight sleeperthree nightsbeautiful city
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 573 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2017

We were fortunate we booked a room in advance as we were there right at the start of Semana Santa and were also there for the festival of flowers which was really wonderful. All the women got flowers (you know what that means guys) and the women wore clothes with flower patterns. We LOVED Guanajuato, which is a UN heritage site with breathtaking architecture, lots of young people and a big university. There is a TON of competing mariachi bands in several of the squares. The hotel had a great central location but we had problems. First of all the AC unit was not installed properly and leaked all over my husband's clothes. Luckily nothing was ruined. The front desk said they would "look into it" and never bothered to do anything nor did they offer us a different room. By the time we left we had a huge amount of water on the floor. In addition, the room was stuffy and musty-most rooms had very little outside air access. The hotel dealt with this by having air freshener wands in each room-these smell terrible. Lastly the walk to get the car back was rather daunting-the hotel used a parking lot blocks away and through a very long dark tunnel. So we are in there schlepping our luggage for blocks. The staff here was pretty unfriendly-except for the dining room waiters who were awesome-and not very helpful. I would try and stay someplace else when we go back, because we loved it so much we certainly will. The cavalier attitude about the leaky AC was very unprofessional. The best thing about this hotel is its location. Oh and lastly of the 7 hotels we stayed in, this one had the WORST wifi.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view or some ventilation if they exist.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Travelerofplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We loved this hotel as soon as we arrived. It is clean, excellent condition and maintained very well. The theme of artists is carried out throughout the hotel. You feel like you're in a gallery.

Its located next door to the best coffee shop (La Conquistador), restaurants (La Taberna de Diego y Frida, Tulum) & the Diego Rivera Museum (1 minute walk). Its an easy walk to Basilica of Our Lady of Guanajuato, which is the center of the town.

The staff is excellent, professional, firendly and full of recommendations and quick to assist. They can get you a taxi easily within minutes. They also can speak spanish & english.

We loved our room, plenty of space and well-maintained, there was a fan in place of air conditioning. When the day got hot we had to open windows and have the fan blow on us to keep cool.

The hotel does have a lot of stairs, and there are 4 stories of rooms. However, if you are planning to walk around the area, you will walk a lot of stairs and hills. Its not that bad, for moderate to healthy people. Also,the staff carried our luggage up the stairs to our room, so you don't have to worry about that.

They offer a continental breakfast, but we didn't try it. The courtyard where they serve breakfast is open air and excellent atmosphere.

Room Tip: Get your coffee at Cafe Conquistador, located next door.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chazz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Very unique property, with beautiful Mexican colonial architecture, a very pleasant breakfast area. Lots of stairs to climb, if you are older or don't like to climb lots of stairs request rooms from 100 to 300s. 400 numbered room are just to many stairs to climb. Service was very good both at the front desk and by the housekeepers. Specially good service in the morning during breakfast. The waiter goes above and beyond to cater to your every need. Breakfast offers very good food with plenty of good stuff to choose from. You get lots of good food for the price. Most of the important and historic locations are all within walking distance. Diego Rivera's museum is a short block away. Juarez theater is a few blocks away. Rooms are quaint with pictures of local poets in each room. Rooms are small but comfortable, furnishings are a bit outdated but the hotel as a whole is great. There's more elegant hotels in Guanajuato yet for the price you get great value. This is a beautiful and unique city with incredible history. I recommend this hotel for its uniqueness, price and location.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mauri c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Management is doing a good job of hiring & training their staff...We stayed at room 203, ever since we got here, the staff was excellent in meeting our needs, kudos to the staff and their management...Miguel, the bell boy was always supper nice and catered/treated you super good. Ismael from the restaurant staff and his coworker were also attentive to our needs. The front desk ladies were also great. And by the way, the Hotel has a unique character and is right around the corner from downtown, which is great. On Fri & Sat nights, the traffic lines up on the main streets with some the local folks running their stereos full blast, thsi hotel is located perfectly away from that.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Ricardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

This is a lovely hotel and perfect for visiting Guanajuato. We had a great time staying here, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and it's right around the corner from the center of downtown.

We had to leave town at 4 am for our flight and the hotel called a taxi for us and made sure we got there on time.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpmc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews