We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Reviewed 13 April 2007

We stayed one night in the center of Guanajuato but had an early morning bus to catch so we stayed our second night here at the Holiday Inn Express which was closer to the bus station. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. It was also more attractive and larger than what I usually think of with the Holiday Inn Express. The staff was helpful and attentive. We arrived in the evening and left early in the morning so were there a short time. The room rate (about $100) seemed fair and included a pretty good buffet breakfast with both American and Mexican entrees as well as fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, pastries, etc. It was a comfortable choice. I am glad that we stayed in the historic center of Guanajuato as it is nice to be able to walk around to the interesting places, cafes, restaurants, etc. and then be able to return to your hotel but this was a convenient place to go for our last night. Other reviews mention staying here and taking cabs into and out of town (about 3 dollars each way), which I guess could work out as well.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank viajero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 68 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2006

My wife and I visited the HI Express in Guanajuato in June of 2006. The hotel is pretty new and very well maintained. It's shaped like a sideways "H" where you would have the breakfast courtyard on the right and the pool on the left (as you come from the lobby) inside four story atriums. There was also a small children's play area off the pool area outside.

We were lucky to receive a room with a small patio that overlooked a chapel on the backside of the hotel.

The room was well appointed with illuminated niches with vases and the obligatory electronic safe.

The free breakfast was excellent with chilaquiles, refried beans, cold cuts, scrambled eggs and ham, yogurt, cereal, pastries, etc...We were there during the World Cup so it was neat to see all the servers wearing the jerseys of the Mexican National Team while soccer played on two big screen TV's.

The hotel is about a 25-30 minute ride from the airport (BJX) and runs about $25 (250 pesos). They take the cuota (toll road) so they move pretty quick. We didn't use the shuttle service to go downtown (Jardin de La Union) but taxis were about $3 and they show up pretty quickly after the front desk calls them for you. There was a kiosk in the lobby with a computer that had internet access if you want to check your mail. It's not conducive to surfing the 'net (by design to minimize hoggers) but helps it's available.

It's a bummer the hotel is 10 minutes from downtown but once you go to Gto., you'll understand space is at a premium. Overall, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Pan_Blanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
boston
211
Reviewed 7 November 2005

Hotel itself was good with its offering of amenities, but its location was not. The hotel does not provide airport shuttle, paid or unpaid. The hotel is quite a distance from the downtown area and the hotel downtown shuttle has to be scheduled and shuts down early evening so one has to take a cab from downtown. Outside the hotel there really is nothing to do within walking distance. I had intended to stay there 7 nights but left after the second night. Another problem was that an AARP rate was quoted at $77 and I ended up paying approximately $125 per night.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2004

Couldn't believe this was a Holiday Inn Express. This is a large and beautiful hotel, with great rooms, great service and excellent breakfast. Only negatives are that it is not in downtown Guanajuato, which seems like a great place to stay, but it's only a $3 cab ride and ten minute drive. Other possible negaitve is that if you get hungry after leaving downtown Guanajuato the hotel does not serve food other than breakfast.

10  Thank mitchmurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
538
Reviewed 29 July 2004

I visited Guanajuato for two days in July, 2004. Though this review is intended for the hotel, I must advise all that read this, that Guanajuato is a magnificent city to visit. I highly recommend it no matter where you stay.

Now the hotel: the hotel is located outside the city center. This may be a good thing or not. The city bus will take you into town for 2.5 pesos (around 20 US cents). The ride can be bumpy and you may have to stand on the ride from the city center. The ride will take 10 - 15 minutes. I recommend it so you can mingle with other tourists or locals. Or you can take a taxi for 30 pesos (less than $3 USD). The taxi will likely get you into the city center in less than 10 minutes.

The hotel is nicer than any Holiday Inn Express in the US. From the inside, it has the feel of an Embassy Suites with the open courtyard going all the way to the roof. The indoor swimming pool is small, but it was enjoyed by many families. The rooms have a good variety of channels in English and Spanish. The hotel is very American feeling. The hotels in the city center have a much different feel, though I did not go into any of their rooms. This hotel is less than one kilometer from the central bus station if you are coming in on bus. If you do, you can walk to the hotel if you do not have that much baggage. If you want to fully take in the sites of Guanajuato and stay in the middle of all the action, this may not be your hotel but it was very comfortable and I, personally, did not mind that I had to be back on the last bus by 10:30PM. If you stay later, I'm sure a taxi will take you back.

All in all, I plan on staying here again when I visit with my family.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
4.7 km away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
515 reviews
2.6 km away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#12 of 55 in Guanajuato
525 reviews
4.7 km away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#7 of 55 in Guanajuato
104 reviews
4.6 km away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 55 in Guanajuato
137 reviews
4.3 km away
Quinta Las Alondras Hotel
Quinta Las Alondras Hotel
#22 of 55 in Guanajuato
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato

Address: Calle Euquerio Guerrero 120 | Colonia Burocrata, Guanajuato 36250, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Guanajuato
#6 Business Hotel in Guanajuato
Price Range: $111 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato is the best place to enjoy Guanajuato, which is registered as a world heritage site by the UNESCO. The hotel is located just 5 miles from the historic downtown area and just 20 miles from the Guanajuato International Airport and the FIPASI Industrial park. Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato is the only hotel in the city that offers high-speed Internet in all of its rooms and wireless access in public areas at no additional cost. The Hotel features 165 rooms, including 6 suites and a room for people with special needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato Hotel Guanajuato
Holiday Inn Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing