We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location...a very good choice in Guanajuato”
Review of Luna Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Guanajuato
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luna Hotel
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Sevilla
Level Contributor
169 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location...a very good choice in Guanajuato”
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We stayed here for four nights and were pleased with the hotel and the staff. The location in Jardin de la Unión cannot be beat and virtually all sights are walkable from this hotel. Breakfast is included and is wonderful. If you pay in cash, they will give you a 10% discount. Do note that, because of the location of the hotel, the music and noise levels entering the rooms are quite high until late into the night. We stayed in an interior room that was very warm, however, we slept well with the fan on full blast. The mattress was extremely firm, which I thought was great, but may not appeal to all. Guanajuato is spectacular and this hotel is a great base from which to explore the city...we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrotamundosBetis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    37
    26
    8
    14
See reviews for
26
32
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2009

The staff was awesome, food was great, right in the heart of the city (Jardin) near Teatro Juarez.

This place can get crazy during Cervantino (huge festival) but if you are not looking for that kind of trip DONT GO DURING THAT TIME.

Most people who are complaining of noise are asleep by 9pm when the city is alive and people are in patio having dinner and listening to great music.

I found the beds quite comfortable, and sheets and towels were clean.

The owner (El Doctor) is awesome really cool guy and seems really down to earth.

Highly recomended especially to re-light the flame in a wedding! Awesome Romantic Authentic!

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RomanticTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2008

First of all, understand Guanajuato. This is not like visiting most other cities - the square that the hotel sits on is cut off from car traffic, so you'll have to walk a block or so from your taxi to get to it. The hotel sits on the most beautiful plaza in the city, which also happens to be noisy and full of music. If you have a room facing the street prepare for the noise. Honestly, though the hotels location could not be any better.

As far as the hotel itself is concerned...it does have a nice exterior, with a patio/cafe/bar area on the plaza. The lobby is beautiful. The rooms are nothing to write home about - the bed was uncomfortable and for some reason had plastic sheets - im not sure what they're trying to say about us?? ;)

The biggest complaint was the bathroom, i recall there was a serious funk coming up through the drain in the shower.

Next time i go to Guanajuato i think i'd consider one of the other many hotels around the plaza. If i couldnt come up with anything reasonable i wouldnt have a problem staying at Luna again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — funky bathroom
  • Stayed March 2004, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongBeachJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2008

The Luna Hotel is in a great location. The lobby is beautiful and the rooms are clean. This hotel is old and the music from the square is loud. The beds are hard and the sheets are thin, but so are other ones in Mexico. Is this the fanciest hotel? No, but it is nice enough. I would recommend this to students who came to party or someone who is spending only one night in Guanajuato. I would not recommend this to travelers looking for luxury.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank natkoehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2008

Guanajuato was amazing, this hut called hotel not.
The so-called vintage rooms are just fake, but I don't mind! Cheap furniture is common in bad hotels.
Hair in the shower --I am bald.
Stained sheets, no bulbs, mistaken phone calls in the middle of the night... all of this reported to the front desk but it was ALWAYS someone else's responsibility or just had no answers.
A bug in breakfast... IN THE PLATE! Of course I refused to pay or even have a new dish, but then intended to charge, anyways...
When I decided to leave...Voila! Phone calls charged to my room. Another fight with the 'manager' who couldn't speak English. Then the owner, a total... incompetent who claims being 'influential' locally... nevermind!
I moved to a wonderful, classy hotel on Embajadoras to enjoy this magnificient mining town. The total opposite.
Please, make sure you got an experienced travel agent before you make a decision, this mistaken recommendations can ruin you vacation.
Luna means 'moon' in English, that's where these... gentlemen belong.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Attitude / Service
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Journalist-on-duty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guanajuato hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 km away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.0 km away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#9 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Real Guanajuato
Hotel Real Guanajuato
#35 of 56 in Guanajuato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Santa Rita
Hotel Santa Rita
#25 of 56 in Guanajuato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Hotel

Property: Luna Hotel
Address: Jardin de la Union 6, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing