We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
153
42
16
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
153
42
16
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi suite small pool restaurants within walking distance beautiful hotel three nights average hotel the main hotel small hotel street noise scrabble town mexico karina pesos taxi furniture stairs
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2015

As others have pointed out, the hotel is in a calm area of town in a beautiful historic mansion. Our room was spacious, extremely clean and the bathroom was huge! The staff was very lovely and attempted to help us in every way. Unfortunately, the beds were rock hard. We were never able to access the internet from anywhere but the hotel lobby. The worst part was that our room had no windows, but did have a lovely set of double doors. It was fine to keep them open during the time we were in the room, but we did not feel safe to leave them open while sleeping since the room was at ground level. This became important when our air conditioner/heater began making horrible noises throughout the night. The only way we could get any circulating air was to leave the french doors open. We asked the staff to look at it and perhaps they did, while we were out, but the problem was never solved. We gave up and slept with the doors cracked. There was also very little light in the large room and it was difficult to see. The two small lamps did not take the place of overhead lighting.
The cooked to order breakfast was lovely and the staff was very kind, gracious and helpful in calling taxicabs and rides to the airport. It is important to note that few of the staff speak English and our Spainish was limited. We were able to communicate well enough but that may have been part of the problem in getting the air conditioner/heater fixed.
This hotel is definitely not the one for you if you have any mobility problems. Steps and stairs everywhere, from the street on up.
Not sure I would stay there again for the price but the staff was kind and tried hard.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Luvtotravel051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karina_Concierge, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Quinta Las Acacias, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2015

Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience in Quinta las Acacias. It is a shame you could not spend a good time here, as you say about the bed, internet and air conditionner. Unfortunatelly we did not know about all this problems but the air conditionner . We did check the problem you asked for, but at that moment we could no change the whole system, but we did now thaks to you.

I hope you can give us the opportunity to change your mind about us by choosing different room where you can feel safer if you open the windows, where you can surf on the net or be in your room with an accurate air conditionner/heater.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2014

As other reviewers have pointed out, the service at Quinta Las Acacias is just excellent. The staff went out of their way to make me feel comfortable.Everyone was thoughtful and gracious.

The hotel itself is charming, a historic mansion which has been restored to its former glory. Accommodations are offered either in the house, or in one of the casitas (new buildings) on the property. My room was located on the second floor of the house. It was very comfortable, but noise from a night party in the canyon was somewhat bothersome. Smartly, the room is room is outfitted with an air conditioner which does an admirable job of drowning out the nearby racket and permitting sleep.

It's true that the hotel is not right in the city center. However, the walk is not bad. If you don't feel like returning to the city center for dinner, there is a nice restaurant on the premises as well as several others within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are a mixed blessing. They face a lovely park. However, they can also be noisier due to traffic.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchFryFreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karina_Concierge, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Quinta Las Acacias, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2015

We are glad you have enjoyed not just our hotel, but this beautiful city. Guanajuato is amazing itself and make the Quinta Las Acacias Hotel be part of the beauty of the city trough the history. Thank you for all your words to the staff and we are looking forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2014

The Presa de la Olla neighbourhood is very nice and an upcoming/trendy destination. It is way calmer than the city center yet well communicated to the airport and the main city attractions. The Quinta Las Acacias hotel is a bit pricy for what it is. Yet the building where most of the rooms are located is a nice example of Guanajuato architecture circa 1850.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranciscoSebastianR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karina_Concierge, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Quinta Las Acacias, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2015

Thank you for your comments. In fact, this is a great neighbourhood super good located in the city, easy to get to the airport or downtown. All the way from downtown to the hotel is plenty of beautiful buldings from the 19th century full of history. This fact and some other small details make our hotel unique that we want to make you feel beter than home with our homemade bread and jam every morning, the organic eggs we get from our chickens we have in the small farm in the hotel, the expirience of living in a ancient house and be part of the history of the town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

There is an upper garden that is great for walking a dog. They charged 300 pesos for the dog. It also has a chicken coop and about 18 chickens roam their own area during the day. This area is separate and adjacent to the garden. There are many steps to get to the nice rooms so it is not good if you are not agile. The dipping pool was remote from our room so we never used it.

They claim there is internet. Yet we were unable to connect to the wifi with 3 iPhones, 2 iPads and an HP laptop. They all showed good signal strength yet refused to connect, even in the lobby. So if you must be connected, choose a different hotel.

Room Tip: The suite that we had was large and had a sitting area and a very large Jacuzzi area doubling the size of the bathroom. The bathroom had natural lighting which was a bonus. Ask for a suite. There is no fridge or microwave in the rooms but the staff were responsive with ice and glasses.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel absolutely exceeded our expectations. It is part of a group of hotels in Mexico who have distinguished themselves as Boutique Hotels, which essentially sets them apart from others being somewhat small and offering superior services and lovely rooms and ambience. The staff were so focused on every detail but at the same time were quiet and unimposing. The restaurant on the premises is lovely, and you are served a full breakfast which is included in the room rate. The hotel is situated a bit outside of the city centre, but only about a 5 minute taxi ride away, and taxis are cheap there. We actually preferred our location to being right in town because it was quiet and located in a lovely neighbourhood with a park right across the street. Some restaurants within walking distance....lovely park across the street.

Room Tip: Re fitness Center/spa.....the reviews above are inaccurate...I couldn't seem to get it to just leave those two items blank. There was a small pool, but this is not a place one should go if they are seeking a typical big pool/spa experience. It is a gorgeous hotel....lovely grounds, rooms, patios, service, etc. The idea, usually, when visiting a place such as Guanajuato, is to go for the culture and history of this city, the fact that our hotel was a wonderful place to return to each day definitely heightened our entire experience. It was such a lovely, tranquil place. The newer part of the hotel is what I would recommend. It is sort of Santa Fe like I suppose....lots of cactus, stone walkways, patios....just lovely!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews