We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great place to people watch

Like most Mexican towns and cities, Guanajuato has a centro - the jardin is the central part of it... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
H M
,
New Braunfels, Texas
Pretty hub of the historic centre

Very pretty and shady little plaza, which is actually a triangle, with nice planting and a... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jasmine38Chichester
,
Surrey
via mobile
Read all 1,231 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Guanajuato
from USD 95.25
More Info
from USD 100.00
More Info
from USD 1,010.00
More Info
from USD 895.00
More Info
Reviews (1,231)
Filter reviews
1,231 results
Traveller rating
793
368
65
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
793
368
65
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews people watch surrounded by restaurants teatro juarez mariachi music lots of restaurants beautiful park meeting place heart of the city mexican cities street performers the main square bands trees benches gazebo plaza activity
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 1,231 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Lots of restaurants in this pretty garden area with fountains and wrought iron benches and in the evenings there are many musicians playing.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank OntarioTravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

This postage size park offers a nice escape from the crowds in the busy streets. The fountains and hedges give it an exotic feel.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank inov8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

This is a lovely plaza with nice buildings all around and lots of activity. I have never been a fan of the sound of dueling mariachi bands - so I am not sure I would eat dinner on a patio around this square (but we did have drinks and snacks). This is one of the buzzing meeting spots in town.
On the sidewalk across from the Teatro, we met Manuel, our walking tour guide. He was one of a number of guides milling about with id tags around their necks.
We went on a 2+ hour walking tour with Manuel. He charged $400 pesos for my wife and I - an outstanding deal! He walked us all around the historic city from the Teatro Cervantes at one end to the Alhondiga de Ganaditas at the other. We went into a number of churches and into the university admin building. He told us many stories about Mexican and local history. I also peppered him with questions along the way. What a great resource!
Manuel revealed that he was 77, born and raised in GTO. He learned English and got his guide licence when he retired from 35 years of pottery making ("kicking the wheel") at age 60 (he also gave us a little seminar on pottery). He is an excellent raconteur - both for his personal stories (alter boy in one of the grand churches) and for the information he shared about his city. This tour was one of the best things we did on our recent trip to central Mexico.
I thought I would mention this because we always wonder where to find tour guides when we go to new cities. In GTO, the place is the Jardin de la Union and Manuel is definitely worth your time. He is the older chap wearing a dashing hat and a guide permit around his neck.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank NorthVan_dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

This is absolutely beautiful with the canopy of trees surrounding it with lots of benches to just sit and watch the people go by and enjoy the mariachi music being played. This is my favorite place to relax and just sit and watch. Always activity with art show, music and lots of outdoor patio dining restaurants to choose from.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Dallas51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

A little island of green in the epicenter of the Historic District, this garden is a cool place to sit surrounded by the interlocking foliage of the beautiful trees. Apart from the cool temperature, it is perhaps a little too "cool" ringed by pricy restaurants, cafes and bars where the well-to-do while their afternoons away.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews