We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveller rating
375
140
23
22
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
375
140
23
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club intrawest surf club dip pool swim up bar beautiful resort cooking class adult pool bath unit happy hour il mare outdoor shower playa la ropa shutter doors lounge chairs baby turtles recommend this resort welcome home
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 570 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2016

We are just wrapping up a one week stay at Embarc Zihuatanejo and already we are planning for our next stay. The only way we could get in this time was to book four different units for the week - meaning we had to pack up and move three times. The bright side was that we got to experience four spectacular units, each one with its own unique layout, location and view. The resort is beautifully designed and landscaped for easy access (if you don't mind a few stairs and steep ramps). The views are beyond spectacular and the food is very good. What makes this resort a real winner is the staff. Every single member of the staff we encountered - and there were at least 20 regulars - was like an old friend. Each one seemed genuinely happy to see us, helpful if we needed advice or directions and cheerful and conversational. The town of Zihuatanejo is a nice walk or a short taxi ride away. We were here over Christmas, so the town was beautifully set up with pinatas, bustling with street vendors and very hot. We still enjoyed the experience of shopping and eating in locally owned boutiques and restaurants. If you go, be sure to get to Jungle Pizza for dinner and Margarita's for breakfast.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank hockeymom2226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016

It feels like coming home everytime I arrive as the staff are so welcoming and friendly. Once again Marie and her team of staff, the location and service have surpassed all my expectations. This is an amazing place to relax, soak up the sun, experience small town Mexico. I love walking down the sea wall to the town and enjoying a baked potato at La Papa Loca. One day we booked a morning excursion with a man nicknamed "Pechuga" (means chicken breast) - at the far end of the beach in the snorkelling shop. We went to the neighbouring beach with 18km of shoreline and boogie boarded, fished and snorkelled. I would highly recommend him. Very friendly & helpful.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank loghouseBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

We came here with high recommendations by our friends and they didn't lie. :)

The staff members are genuinely kind and honest whey they give you suggestions in town.

The beach was casual and authentic with a good mixture of the locals and the tourists. I especially liked the way the resort staff members interact with everyone sincerely (sometimes I saw the staff interactions with the local kids when the teens were sitting too close to the property or something, but those were still kind interactions and the kids responded well).

The green turtles were hatching almost daily at this time of a year and everyone attended the release wished little baby turtles good luck...

Can't wait to return!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Yuko I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

If you're interested in shopping, glitz or chrome, go elsewhere! Embarc in Zihuatanejo is a lovely Mexican resort in an authentic, safe Mexican town. The hotel is on beautiful Playa la Ropa, with stunning views and clear warm water. There is a beautiful dining room serving lovely fare and many small restaurants on the beach or within walking distance of Embarc. Taxis are everywhere and inexpensive. The Embarc staff offers friendly, caring service and no request is too much trouble. Smiles are always on the menu. Maria, the manager, appears to be on duty 24 hours a day and takes great pride in the smooth running of the resort. Yes, there are many, many stairs but a golf cart "limo" can be at your side in a moment's time. However, it really is a resort for fitter folk. Kudos for very warm, kind and efficient service from Lott, Armando, Huber, Israel, Rodrigo, Alberto, Luis, Eloy, Mauricio, Susannah, Rene,Jesus, Anna Maria and Emmanuel. To those we have missed, our apologies, as you all made our visit so special.

Room tip: Ten nights in building 5 room were superb.Add on 2 nights in 302 we couldn't recommend. Noisy, with little view.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carole310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We love coming to Zihuatanejo and have stayed at Club Intrawest (Embarc) on everyone of our 6 visits. We've stayed in 2-bedroom, 1-bedroom and studio suites. This is the first time in the Lookout Studio. It's great for a couple and the view is stunning because you are at the very top of the resort. However, being at the very top also means, if you are walking from the beach to your room, you have to climb about 300 stairs (no elevators). For those of you familiar with the Grouse Grind this is the perfect way to get in shape for it. Also, being at the top, you will wake up to find your over night guests (bats) have left mucho droppings on the inside and outside of your shower. If you are germaphobic this room is not for you. Otherwise, everything about the resort is great.

Room tip: Lookout Studio - approximately 300 stairs to/from room to beach. Bat droppings in the shower area in the morning.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tony-Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews