We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff made us feel like family!”
Review of Carmelitas Cafe

Carmelitas Cafe
Ranked #1 of 246 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a family business for over 20 years we were located within the Airport Zihuatanejo, the business was called "Snack Bar - El Mirador"; but in 2008 we decided to leave the anonymity and moved to town with a new "Carmelite Cafe" concept. The mission of Carmen and Don Jesus was always clear, offer our customers the best dining experience in Zihuatanejo. During these years we have been aware of the importance of treating our guests like family. We pride ourselves everyday to trust Cafe Carmelites to treat at home; therefore, we insist that the recipes of Mrs. Carmelita, always keep the flavor of the Mexican family kitchen. We will always have an eye to providing the best quality in each of our dishes; leaving aside, a friendly smile and a humble to serve our customers heart. We cook for you like for our own home, without shortcuts, no frills, with love.
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We headed to this restaurant due to top ratings on Trip Advisor-felt a bit bedraggled when we arrived as it is off the beaten path from the beach front restaurants and we were in swim gear. But the friendly staff and excellent food were worth the 15-20 min walk over from pier. Pictures of Carmelita with Rick Bayless were the first hint that this was a special spot. The staff were so enthusiastic about their food that they brought us out many extra things "just to try" and encouraged us to return to try more. The pride and enthusiasm for sharing their food and culture was epitome of our experience throughout visit to Mexico. Definitely recommend enjoying a meal-but bring cash-no credit cards accepted.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Excellent service . The food was delicious. Will recommend and return. The coconut shrimp was perfectly done. My friends chicken tacos were excellent. My highest praises for the chef. An excellent lunch

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Helenor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

This is a must !! For breakfast or lunch Carmelitas will not disappoint!! We come by every time we’re in town, anything you order made fresh and delicious

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Regrettably, it's been months since we were there and I can't remember what we had but I loved the atmosphere, the food was excellent, servers were both very good and friendly. A must-do if you go to Zihua.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roguetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

We loved Carmelitas! If you ask your taxi driver where to go, they typically send you to Any’s, which is good, typical food, in the center of town. But when you say you prefer something else, cross your fingers that they take you to Carmelitas! I’m never eating breakfast anywhere else! Wait staff is so kind, they make wonderful recommendations, and if you want to try the authentic regional specialities you will not. D disappointed!!
Loved this place! And even if it isn’t in the heart of el centro, it’s an easy walk through the working town to get to the touristy centro!
We weren’t able to get there for afternoon comida but if breakfast was any precursor, I’m sure it’s amazing too!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carmelitas Cafe also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
 
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
 
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
 

Been to Carmelitas Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing