We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Villa del Sol Resort(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
USD 363
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Mercedes(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
USD 26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Irma(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
USD 84
USD 64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
USD 143
USD 83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 279
USD 273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 134
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Las Salinas(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
USD 24
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Cuitlateca(Zihuatanejo)
USD 1,189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Casa Que Canta(Zihuatanejo)
USD 553
USD 442
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
62
86
24
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
86
24
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset baron la ropa beachprivate section of the beachceiling fanlounge chairsinfinity poolthe hotel's restaurantfiltered waterrestaurants within walking distancemexican holidayquaint hotelview of the baygreat beachworked greatzihuatanejo baymini fridgesenor frogs
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2018

Stunning views of Zihuatanejo Bay. Old hotel with it's own charm but in need of some TLC. Great staff and service at reception, restaurant and Sunset Bar.
Antonio does a good job keeping the beach area clean.
The biggest negative for this hotel is the beach bar...why...? It's self service...don't expect anyone to wait on you. You want a drink...walk to the bar and order. If you want food...walk to the bar and order. They will deliver your drinks or food but that is where it ends. We ordered lunch one day on the beach. Our plates were still sitting at the palapa when we left the beach late that afternoon. The hotel really is missing out on a lot of profit here. After that we would daily wander down the beach for lunch.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mogcambomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

If you are looking for a 4 star super elegant resort, this is not the spot. If you are looking for a wonderful taste of what Mexico used to be, this IS the spot.

Starting off with a stunning location on one of the best beaches in the world, this quaint hotel was the first on La Ropa, and is my favorite. My Mother and Step-Father came here way back in the day when it was the hideaway for the stars. John Wayne, Liz Taylor, Gorge Hamilton, Mick Jagger, all found solace in this unique property.

Today, much has been updated, without losing the charming history. The infinity pool is refreshing, and the restaurant serves fresh traditional dishes. Sunsets over La Ropa are stunning. And being a short hike, or quick taxi from town make it's location perfect.

The rooms are comfortable and clean--not the most modern, but again, that is not this place's goal. The staff is super friendly, and will go out of the way to make your stay enjoyable.

This last visit we used a great travel agent, Charlie O'Connor (charlie@slogull.com), and he hooked us up with a special rate that included a wonderful breakfast each morning.

A couple of notes--
1. The hotel is located on the side of the hill above the beach. Said hill has a lot of uneven stairs. So be ready to climb them! Look at it this way, you will work off all that vacation food and drink going up and down those steps!
2. Zihuatanejo is a popular attraction for Mexico City's residents. We were last here on a busy Mexican Holiday (Benito Juarez's birthday) and the beach was PACKED! Check the calendar before you book.
3. Plan at least one sunset meal for Tentaciones Restaurant. The meal we had there was one of the finest I've ever had, and the service and view are spectacular.
.
Bottom line, if you want a big fancy hotel and a Senor Frogs, head to Ixtapa. If you want a relaxing get away, Old Mexico style, email Charlie and book a stay at the Catalina Beach Resort!

Stayed: May 2017
3  Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

This is a place that is under rated. We stayed here with our two sons 9 year old and 7 year old with Down syndrome. They loved exploring, eating at the beach, playing in the pool, playing at the beach. This is by far the best location on La Ropa. Our room #20 was mid way up the hill, close to the pool, beach and not that far from bar and restaurant. The staff is friendly, our room was very nice and clean. My boys loved the hammock. We did use the ac as we didn't figure out the ceiling fan (its a button near the light out lit) until a few days in. Most of our meals were taken at the hotel and a few dinners at the hotel bar with an outstanding view. The comments on the stairs worried me, we had stayed here about 10 years ago without kids. They were not a problem and I actually felt like I could enjoy all the beer, salsa, guac and chips I wanted. The fajitas were fantastic! We did use the filtered water and ice. This may not be a place for everyone, however, it is unique and the views and experience would be those you would find in Europe for less $$.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank CAckerman228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

I would not recommend anybody to ever evr stay here.. hard beds tv didnt work safe no work bar closes at 10 pm . Only 1 dirty staibed up tiwel in bathroom. Overpriced .. veryverybad place.. id rather sleep inna tent

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank johnnypeterjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights around new years. It is a great hotel. It was very busy as is to be expected during this time of the year. Clean rooms and the staff were very helpful. Awesome ocean view from the room. Lots of stairs to climb from the room to the beach. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FairbanksWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews