We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalina Beach Resort
Ranked #34 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
647 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“PERFECT LOCATION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We have been staying at the Catalina every November since 1995. Because; the Catalina has the best location on Playa La Ropa (the best beach in Zihuatanejo), the staff are wonderful, the restaurant food excellent and the Sun Set bar the perfect spot to watch the sun set. The hotel is dated but they are slowly updating the amenities without ruining its unique ambience. The Cat is our home away from home! If you can't do stairs it may not be for you but the layout adds to its charm and the exercise is great! Can't wait for Nov 2012.

Room Tip: The upper Linda Vista suites are newer and large, some of the lower casitas have been updated to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    79
    22
    14
    11
See reviews for
46
76
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Catalina is a resort that can coast on its prime location and beautiful property. The advantages: reasonable rates. private balconies with hammocks and lounge chairs, overlooking the ocean. generous breakfast included in the rate. fridge in the room so you can keep leftovers or your own snacks/drinks/lunch. generous room size. consistently cleaned rooms. friendly accommodating service. The drawbacks: it seems like owners or mgrs have chosen to defer investment in upgrades. examples: threadbare towels and linens; rusted ceiling fans; inadequate room lights consisting of small lamps with bulbs that looked to be from 1950; beach lounge chairs in some disrepair with some cushions looking rather worn, same for the beach umbrellas, a few needed repair.

we had a wonderful visit because of the easy beach access and amazing balcony views. this made up for a lot but folks should be aware of the limitations as well.

NOTE: mgmt should be more clear that all services at the hotel include a tip. you don't need to tip for anything on your own because you are already being charged a gratuity.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank saucyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

My 3rd and last stay was before Christmas, 2011. We booked our room thru a travel agent, not the hotel directly, selecting one in the mid price range. The room we were given "the hotel is full and this is all we have for you" was dirty with furniture dating from the 1960's or earlier. Water pressure in the shower (tiles caked with scum) was slim to non existent While the location is wonderful with easy beach access (that is why we keep trying to love this hotel) the views can be iffy. In all our stays here the view has been of vegetation with a bit of ocean thru the trees. We did some exploring and found several small very tidy hotels in the Madera neighborhood with better views at a much better price even during the peak Holiday travel season. If we had not prepaid for the hotel we would have moved since there were vacancies. For the value the short ten minute walk to La Ropa beach is certainly worth it. We are very flexible travelers and do not expect a lot...how much time are you in your room when on a beach vacation...but keep wondering if the other reviewers were at a different Catalina Beach Hotel given the glowing reports.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you move and and question "we are full and this is all we have"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank adventurousUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We have been to Zihua 16 or 17 times over the last 25 years. For the last 5 or 6 of them, we have stayed at the Catalina. It has been maintained nicely given how long it has been here and the climate impacts that take their annual toll. The staff are wonderful and extremely helpful. The many stairs between the beach and the road are one of the things we look forward to as a workout in keeping us fit.

The hotel's restaurant (Linda Vista) has great food and service and should be a destination point for dinner for those staying elsewhere in Zihua. It has been hard for us to justify eating out with what is available at the Catalina. We were there over Thanksgiving this year and enjoyed the special T-Day meal that was exquisitely prepared and presented.

We have made a number of friends from the U.S and Canada from these stays, visiting them outside of Zihua as well as annually as we crisscross paths in the November timeframe. After enjoying the beautiful La Ropa beach in the afternoon, we transition to our room via the infinity pool and its great view of the bay. Can't say enough about this experience!

Stan & Maggie

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seamag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

I stayed for a week at the Catalina hotel with friends. We did yoga daily together on the bar level of the hotel in the early morning. My room (number 35) had an incredible view from our patio of La Ropa Beach and Zihuatanejo bay. The hotel restaurant was excellent--we chose to eat there several nights rather than go out. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I used to stay at the Sotavento Hotel, which was next door, but is now being converted into condos.This is my second visit to this hotel and I will return. The rooms had air conditioning and refrigerators. One downside is the extreme hardness of the beds.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up to get a good breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fireweed108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.9 km away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#9 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.4 km away
Villas San Sebastian
Villas San Sebastian
#30 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#35 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#27 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.9 km away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#43 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Beach Resort

Property: Catalina Beach Resort
Address: Calle Playa La Ropa s/n, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#22 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price range (per night): $84 - $232
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
spectacular sunsets are seen from the comfort of your hammock ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Beach Hotel Zihuatanejo
Catalina Beach Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing