We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very romantic, and great service”
Review of Coconuts

Coconuts
Ranked #15 of 328 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Price range: USD 4 - USD 29
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Zihuatanejos oldest building serving excellent food from a seasonal menu and cocktail list since 1979
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Coconuts is on the higher end of the price scale for Zihuatanajo, but you should try it at least once, even if it is stretching your budget. My wife and I enjoyed a very romantic dinner in the outdoor garden area. Their chile relleno was superb. They have live music that is at the perfect volume for dinner music.

Thank Ldcvsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminCoconuts, Manager at Coconuts, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Thanks you for coming to Coconuts
Our prices are more than most US or Canadian restaurants but for Zihua they are a bit higher but we think we are worth the money. Our atmosphere is different of the beach restaurant, a different theme, that of the garden.
Great choice on the Chile Relleno, different than most, ours has different items in it than the regular cheese chile rellenos served at most restaurants.

Glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you soon again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
There are newer reviews for Coconuts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2017

No, there is not a bay view, but the live music (at least on the weekend - not sure about other times), the convivial atmosphere, and charming garden with outdoor lighting makes up for that. After an afternoon of shopping for Mexican treasures in town, eat at Coconuts. We had the special: lobster tacos. They were amazing. Service is personal and very attentive.

Thank johnandjudy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminCoconuts, Manager at Coconuts, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Thank you guys for coming to Coconuts!!!
Glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Our lobster tacos are a favorite of many clients.
We offer live music everyday.

See you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We were excited to eat here as our friends have never been to Zihuat and we raved about this place...Made reservations for four people - arrived at 7:00 pm, ordered a bottle of wine, received a dry garlic toast each, ordered our meal as we know it can fill up quickly. Great tasting Tuna appetizer...Ordered another bottle of wine and waited......Well the 60+ patrons who arrived AFTER us, ordered, received and ate their meal BEFORE us! It's not complicated, we all ordered the same thing - petit filet mignon (medium) with mashed potatoes. We received our meal at 8:40 pm - not filet mignon but some other cut of beef cooked well done with baked NOT mashed potatoes as ordered... our server did not come around to ask how everything went as he knew it wasn't right... Quite disappointed as we've been to Coconuts a few times and were content with the food and service. We may not return...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zerogravity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminCoconuts, Manager at Coconuts, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Thanks for coming to Coconuts.
We apologize for the delay on your food. Please feel free to ask for the manager if something like that happens again, which we'll make sure it never does happen.
We would love to have another chance at serving you and make it up to you guys.
Again, our apologies to you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had a delicious dinner at Coconuts. Abel took excellent care of us and the food was amazing. We will define be back :)

Thank Thehina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminCoconuts, Manager at Coconuts, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

We are glad you had a good experience at Coconuts.
Abel is a great waiter, having over 35 years of restaurant experience.

See you guys soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Great atmosphere with delicious food in a romantic garden. This is by far the best establishment for a nice eve with friends or family. The music made it that much more relaxing.

Thank Leticia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coconuts also viewed

Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Coconuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing