We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in great prices from these sites
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,243)
Filter reviews
3,243 results
Traveller rating
1,210
1,221
483
194
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,210
1,221
483
194
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surf and turf snack bar tennis courts guest services a la carte restaurants time share spanish coffee buffet restaurant shrimp tacos towel cards main buffet evening entertainment pool side nightly shows entertainment staff smaller resort ocean view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 3,243 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2021

We've stayed here twice for 20 days in total. It's a no-frills 3-star hotel akin to something like a Best Western. The food is straight forward and good. The specialty restaurants are also good and you are limited to one every other day. Lots and lots of kids so if don't like kids or don't have kids, this isn't the place for you. The clients are 98% local so starting at midday on Friday till midday on Sunday the place is packed. The kids speak some Spanish but did wish they could have made some English-speaking friends. The resort itself is fairly clean and basic. The rooms are small and clean. Again, think Best Western. The weirdest thing was the gym. Because of COVID we had to make reservations and mine kept getting lost. I would show up to my reservation time and there would be some guys working out without resort wristbands and the gym manager would say he didn't have my reservation. When I would ask him what happened, he would just motion with his head to these intimidating looking guys working out and have this odd look in his eyes. During one of these interactions someone came in and addressed one of them as "Minister". Anyhow, it was just odd how it kept happening. I would just ask when I could come back and he would give me a later time in the day. The beach is very narrow and rocky. The only chairs are against the wall where people go pee at night so it can get kind of disgusting. We didn't hang out at the beach for this reason. With all the kids, you would think they would have a good kids klub but kids activities were pretty non-existent. We stayed at another resort at Xmas, and the kid klub was open all day so I don't think you can blame covid. Same with the entertainment. They had karoke and bingo but every night that we went to play bingo, no staff showed up and we were told it was canceled. The staff are very nice and very friendly.

They frequently have great deals. Up to 52% off so if you can get one of those, this place is certainly worth it. We would come back at that price point

Room tip: All the rooms seem quiet. Rooms overlooking the tennis courts are probably the most quiet but no view.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank augustwest69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicio a Huéspedes, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Augustwest69

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with us. We are glad to hear that you had a good time with us. We will work to improve our service, we hope to see you soon next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2021

Luxury with dated furniture is possible. With old beds and things in room that need changing, No. The staffs are nice but they appear too new compared to the furnishings. That is not a bad thing, except service is lacking.

Date of stay: January 2021
1  Thank xCaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicio a Huéspedes, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear xCaux

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are making sure to renew our furniture. We hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2021

I planned a vacation for myself, my 2 daughters and a friend for the week of Thanksgiving 2020. We have stated many times at Canto Del Sol. The day we arrived, my daughters father came and got her to stay with him at a different resort. The hotel desk cut her bracelet off and said they'd refund her portion of the amount I paid for the trip. I went to check on this refund every day we were there and kept being told it was "with the managers to review"... up to the last day...and still no refund and to this day and multiple emails later - nothing. Will never stay there again.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Go566373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2021

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 10 days at the beginning of January 2021. Here is our honest review, broken down into different sections to cover everything.

COVID Precautions:
When we first arrived we had our temperature checked by security, then the bellboy took our luggage into the lobby while we were led up a ramp to a separate entrance. Once there we were required to stay in this small enclosed entrance for approx. 1 minute while a high powered fan pumped air into the space and onto us. After the time was up we were allowed into the lobby. We had to do this 1-2 more times in the next couple days if we left the resort but after that it was rarely enforced (we noticed it only happened on the weekends when the resort got busier). There were signs to wear masks and hand sanitizing stations located throughout the hotel. All staff “wore” masks but easily 50% of them didn’t have their nose covered. The buffet has plexiglass up and all staff served the food with the exception of fruits, salads and dessert. These items were available off to the side on separate plates covered in clear wrap.

Food:
This resort has 1 buffet, 5 specialty restaurants (Italian, Japanese, Mexican, Surf & Turf and Ceviche) and a snack bar. The buffet was hit and miss, we found the breakfasts and lunches to be the best but dinners were very boring and bland. The snack bar is ok, it has your basic cheap drunk foods like hot dogs, hamburgers, fries and something barely resembling nachos. We opted to get the lunch from the buffet after 2 days instead of the snack bar. Since we stayed for 10 days we got 4 vouchers for dinner at the specialty restaurants. Due to COVID they often only had 1 open each night so we booked in advance. We went to the Japanese, Surf & Turf and twice to the Italian restaurants. When we didn’t have dinner at the resort we chose to go to the Malecon or Old Town for some amazing tacos or seafood because the dinner buffet was consistently disappointing. The quality of food at the speciality restaurants also varied drastically. During the week when the resort had fewer people the food was quite good, on the weekends when it got busier the quality and presentation of food took a very noticeable dive. It was initially frustrating that we could not reserve nightly reservations at the speciality restaurants when the number of people on the resorts was so dead that sometimes we had several waiters eager to help out because we were the only couple dining or fewer than 3 tables filled at the restaurant. Many of the resorts in Mexico we have stayed in the past have let us dine wherever we’d like as long as you book reservations and adhere to the dress code. This was not the case at Canto Del Sol as you only get a voucher for every 2nd or 3rd evening. Eventually we determined it was actually better to spend additional money to eat out as generally any restaurant food off the resort was significantly better.

Entertainment:
There was really nothing to do after 8pm on the resort. Any daytime activities that happened poolside were all in Spanish which excluded any foreign travelers being able to participate. As for evening entertainment, during our 10 day stay we saw only two evening activities, once a Spanish movie with no English subtitles was played in a conference room, and once there was karaoke night with only Spanish songs. We weren’t looking for the resort to have any discos/bars open as we completely understand covid means life is not running completely as normal. But it would have been nice to have something to do during the evenings. Thankfully there were 4 or 5 English channels on the TV in the hotel room so we stayed in our hotel rooms after watching the pretty sunsets most nights. A couple times we hung out around the old town/romantic zone or Malecon after dinner for some activity which I would recommend to other travelers who are feeling bored in the evening.

Pools:
There are 3 pools at this resort - the main one by the ocean, a VIP pool/kid’s splash park near the tennis courts and another pool across the street near the villas. The pools were well maintained, we saw hotel staff checking the water cleanliness everyday and staff were constantly cleaning around the pool and bar. We stayed at the main pool for about a week before discovering the VIP pool and I would highly recommend going to the VIP pool. It has better chairs, great poolside service by the waiters and we found it generally less crowded. The main pool is fun as well, the swim up bar was boarded up due to COVID but it was still easy to get a drink at the walk up section. You are not allowed to drink in the pool or have your plastic glasses on the edge (in our case our thermo’s with lids). I didn’t understand this rule since they have the swim up bar but we just kept our drinks 1-2 feet away from the pool edge instead and had no issues.

Staff:
Staff overall were excellent. They were very attentive to asking if we wanted any drinks at the pool, were cleaning constantly and made our stay quite enjoyable.
With this being said, there was one male staff at the service desk/concierge that was not helpful at all (can’t remember his name but he worked most days in the morning/afternoon). With Canada’s sudden new requirements for COVID testing prior to departure, we were stuck trying to navigate this process with no help at all from the resort. The WestJet rep told us the hotel client services desk would happily assist us in arranging a test either on the resort or nearby. When we asked for assistance however, the concierge kept telling us to book an appointment online with a clinic (everything is in Spanish and we only speak English) or he told us to call the clinic’s directly to book over the phone (one again only in Spanish and we had no cell phone coverage to do this). We asked if he could book the appointments if we provided our information and he refused. We ended up asking for help through our WestJet Vacations representative (Angie and Andi) and they were extremely helpful.

Clientele:
This resort felt heavily tailored towards locals. A majority of the staff only speak Spanish, and we had to use google translate sometimes in order to communicate. All activities from the entertainment staff were done in Spanish as well which means we could not participate in any of that, which is something that we missed compared to our other resort. We completely understand the local language is Spanish and we are the ones not able to communicate in the native language, however it was a little shocking and presented some challenges compared to all of our previous experiences at All-Inclusive resorts affiliated with Western airlines such as WestJet Vacations.

Overall we enjoyed our vacation here as it was an escape from the lockdowns we are experiencing in Canada and the tough year we’ve all had. While the resort took some covid precautions, it is important to remind everyone that the responsibility of your safety lies with the traveler themselves. For us, as we are diligent with our hand sanitizing before meals or before returning to our hotel room and adhering to proper masking, we felt just as safe as we do in Canada. Would we return again to Mexico during the pandemic? Certainly if the opportunity arises. Would we stay at this resort again? Probably not. But it served its purpose as a getaway and we felt relaxed and ready to come home after 10 days.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank Z6560FTkatied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicio a Huéspedes, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Z6560FTkatied.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoy your vacation time with us, we will look to improve every point that you gave us. We hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2020

very clean and friendly, free coffee,staff was very helpful in all aspects,great location.accomidating when my adult children wanted to visit.cabs were quick at hotel,always avail.Will stay again when in pv

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank carolcP5777VV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews