We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
USD 165
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
USD 149
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/06/21
eDreams
USD 165
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
PricelineUSD 153
Trip.comUSD 185
Lol.travelUSD 209
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,243)
Filter reviews
3,243 results
Traveller rating
1,210
1,221
483
194
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,210
1,221
483
194
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surf and turf snack bar tennis courts guest services a la carte restaurants time share spanish coffee buffet restaurant shrimp tacos towel cards main buffet evening entertainment pool side nightly shows entertainment staff smaller resort ocean view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,470 - 2,475 of 3,243 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2007

Just got back on Feb 5th. This was an excellent week we had at the Canto del Sol, Puerta Vallerta. First let's start by saying this is more than a three star hotel. The rooms are ok enough and clean. The bathrooms are a little small. The food was very good. we had no complaints. Everyday was a different cuisine. The bar service out by the pool was awesome. Jorge is a wonderful server. Tipping a minimal amount is a nice gesture to these hardworking people. The pool was a little cold because the weather the week before we had arrived there was stormy. The week we were there was hot and sunny. There were always enough lounge chairs. The vendors down by the beach area are very pushy, but just say no thank you and they'll leave you alone. The beach is very rocky. The tide was high all week while we were there. Ask for extra towels in your room as they only give you three. The snack bar out by the pool was good too. Everything was clean and temperture on food was good. No flies! The only thing is that there is no bottled water out by the pool. Overall this was an excellent experience.

Date of stay: February 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank janaferb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2007

There isn't a day that goes by that we don't think of our stay in P.V. at the Canto del Sol and take a few minutes to mentally go back there. We were spoiled on every level. They HATE to have to deny you any request. I loved going to the buffet for breakfast and getting my 'oatmealt' . The first two mornings I would ask for cinnamon when they came to see if there was anything else they could get us. The look of horror on the face told me it wasn't available, and they would dejectedly tell me this... and desperately look for another to come along to pass responsibility of disappointing me off to. Then they'd look hopeful after a minute's worth of brainstorming. They would disappear for a few moments and then return from the kitchen with a smile from ear to ear and a saucer on which was a crunched up cinnamon stick! By the third day I put the ladle into the pot and looked in to see several cinnamon sticks in the 'oatmealt' already now! I never even learned the bartender's name as I never had to go to the bar to get a drink, Juan or Jorge always took care of that. And then there's the shows in the evenings... any chica needs to get a picture with Joshua!!! 'S'all I gotta say 'bout that! Don't let the three stars rating fool ya- it's the best way to experience P.V.! The location is close to Centro and the Marina. The beach is breath-taking. The staff are amigos.

Date of stay: December 2006
18  Thank wench-of-banderasbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2007

This was my first time to Puerto Vallarta. The Great service and great central location of this hotel was much appericated. The hotel staff was always eager to help with any needs and communicated in english. I made good use of the beach front and enjoyed the nightly shows that the hotel has to offer. The pool was great and well maintained. There are activity directors to help entertain pool guest during the day. I am planning a trip back next year.

Date of stay: January 2007
5  Thank UtahBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2007

We stayed at Canto del Sol for one week in the second week of December, 2006.

We loved our spacious room with its balcony and view of the ocean, the friendly service staff, the hotel itself for its cleanliness, decor and comfort. We enjoyed the ambiance and found the food fine for a buffet style all inclusive. We did get tired of it after a week and revelled in our visit to the Mexican a la carte restaurant the Santa Maria with its well prepared food and flaming coffee show for afters.

Our only disappointment was that the beach was very narrow during the week that we were there as the surf level was flagged "red" and so would come up and under the lounge chairs almost up to the retaining wall.

As well, when we walked the beach, as we liked to do for exercise, we were interrupted by frequent breakwaters (almost every hotel had one) and had to climb over and around a couple that were very awkward.

I would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone with the priviso that they not expect to spend their day right on the beach nor expect long easy walks on an uninterrupted stretch of beach.

Date of stay: December 2006
8  Thank prideaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2007

First, the positives - the location is great! Only a 20 minute walk to the Malecon, 50 peso cab ride to the Marina Vallerta and right in the middle of the nightlife! Also, Subway is just up the street so when the food makes you ill you have a safe place to eat. The staff is also very courteous, and the housekeepers are amazing!

One major thing to remember, on the other side of the shops located on the main drag is a GREAT little sports bar owned and operated by a very nice couple from Vancouver. They make the best caesers (very important to some Canucks) and the food is SO good!! Be sure to stop in!! They even gave us offsales!!!

Now the negatives - everytime we showered our bathroom would flood, if you don't tip the bartenders everytime they will ignore you and the food is GROSS! The snack bar nachos and fries are your safest bet. Don't even think about ordering a hamburger from the snack bar as it will come out pink and you will have the scoots for a week. Also, there is no beer sold anywhere after midnight during the week! Hate to say that we had to spend 40 bucks (not pesos) to go to a very noisy nightclub to have a drink.

All in all, good place to stay but I would go for the European plan next time as we barely ate or drank at the resort once we discovered everywhere else. Beer can be bought at the liquor store for dirt cheap, but be sure to hang on to your receipt and return the bottles to get your hefty deposit back. As for food, the Marina or Malecon (with the exception of Hooters...GROSS!) would be the best place.

Date of stay: January 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Canuckie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews