We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 296
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 163
USD 118
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
USD 331
USD 260
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
USD 318
USD 209
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mousai(Puerto Vallarta)
USD 432
USD 350
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
USD 230
USD 189
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
USD 108
USD 85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
USD 432
USD 196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 235
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Velas(Puerto Vallarta)
USD 730
USD 500
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveller rating
116
155
148
72
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
155
148
72
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsabandoned hoteljack hammeringwalking distance to the maleconadult only poolrooms were very cleanwhale watchingbedroom suitetime share presentationlobby barbeach vendorsmexican foodpool sidethe entire staffnachosgreat resortpesostower
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 580 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Yes they are working next door but it just blends in unless you get focussed on it and let it get to you. It was not that bad at all. The place is nice and perfect for down to earth folks like ourselves. If you are high maintenance traveller this may not be for you so dig deeper into your wallet and meet up with Barbie and Ken somewhere else. This hotel is right near a grocery store and the bus route so location is great. The hotel is very clean and the food is great and has some very good dishes and some "what the heck it that dishes" to try. The food was always hot in the steamers and kept to temperature. The staff was always willing to help right from arrival. A big shout out to Bertha and Andrea at the front desk for their help with well anything, Naive the omelet Chef who made perfect fresh cooked eggs ect with a very welcoming smile, Ernesto and Samuel waiters who are very attentive and work hard and Flourentino the food services manager who is on constant watch to make sure your dinning experience is top notch. The rest of the staff along with those mentioned made our stay perfect at this property.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

First of all, even though I was aware that construction is underway, and sound of jack hammmer goes on from 9 to about 4 daily, I was assured that construction was only next door, not at this hotel....Lies!!! Stayed in new building, first floor directly above buffet restaurant, and construction is going on right in and around that building. Constant daily sound of hammering. Then, at night, BLARING television coming from security room downstairs....had to sleep with earplugs. Not impressed.
Food was good, and plentiful. Fresh papayas, watermelons, salads, fish, all nicely prepared . Not sure what kind of meat is used for hamburgers down at snack-bar though. Not sure it’s beef....
Resort is clean, beach chairs available, and staff overall very attentive.
Short 15 minute walk to downtown, or you can take a bus right outside of resort.Big grocery store just one block over. Overall, you get what you pay for, ok, if you don’t mind constant construction noise during the day.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank skygirlCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

My first trip to Mexico was with a bit of scepticism, being I usually go to Cuba (Where I sort of know what to expect).
But I managed to get a Last Minute all inclusive deal with Air Canada Vacations (at a Cuba type price).
From the minute I got to Puerto Vallarta, I was a bit overwhelmed with all of it. But the minute I walked into the grounds of The Costa Club, I knew I had found a sanctuary.
The resort has a couple of dozen 3 & 4 Story, charming Spanish style stucco & terra cotta villas & a 6 Story Hotel tower. The lay out of the resort is sort of like a quaint little village.
The Mexican owner takes enormous pride in his resort & it shows!, The staff is always available, landscaping, cleaning, painting, repairing, cooking, whatever it takes.
The place is spotless. The food is fairly good & varied.
The Hotel itself is on the edge of the Old City, between the Mega Store & The Sheraton, but seems like an isolated Oasis, far removed from everything.

This is a FAMILY RESORT, although there is a separate Pool & sunbathing area that is Adult Only.
There were numerous Mexican Families at the resort, but, I have never met such polite & well behaved children !, Mexican parents seem to adore their children & lavish attention & time on them.
The ONLY Bad Behaviour was displayed by a bunch of Menopausal Cougars, from Western Canada, who couldn't seem to control their alcohol consumption or their few remaining Hormones.
There is construction going on at 2 Beach Front Towers, but it's easy to ignore, besides, it's near the Snack Bar, by the Beach. I would go there to feed the friendliest wild Iguana's imaginable !!!, It seems like the iguana family has been on an all inclusive holiday for many years !
For me, this was a Great Vacation, but as beautiful as Puerto Vallarta is, it's Not a real bargain paradise The city is surrounded by beautiful lush green mountains, The Beaches are good, but can't compete with the beauty of some Caribbean destinations.
In the end, The Costa Club can be a beautiful holiday, if the price is right.
NO Regrets.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CubaCrazyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

I have been going to Costa Club resort for about 9 years and have enjoyed it every time. This year was different because I went alone. I went January16 to Febrary 9. I had one of the New rooms and it was so comfortable and quiet I had the best sleep ever. The resort is small and you get to know the employees and even the managers. The new restaurant is great with a new menu, I think there is something for everyone food wise. I love breakfast in the forum the cooks knows what you like and how you like it. The waiters especially Pablo are wonderful,as soon as he sees me coming he has my coffee on the table and toast to. The lunch buffet is good, but if you want something different there is the beach snack bar. I enjoyed dinner in the buffet because everything is good and fresh. The location is perfect because you can walk everywhere. The grounds are kept in perfect shape so lush and green with lots of colourful colours. I recommend this resort for anyone looking for value for your money because the prices are great. I have met so many people from all across Canada and the USA that also makes my trip so memorable. There is a bit of noise from the construction but that is unavoidable, they are making many changes and upgrading to make the resort more beautiful. So I will be heading back again next year to my favorite spo

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

This is a budget property at the lower end of the scale for all inclusive resorts in Puerto Vallarta but, having said that, the value for the price I paid on a one week package with Air Canada Vacations could not be complained about. I had an enjoyable stay in tower 12 in one of the remodeled rooms above the restaurant. The room was large with new bathroom, basic fixtures and fittings and a balcony overlooking the pool area. Housekeeping was excellent and overall cleanliness throughout the resort was notable. All staff were very attentive specially when tipped. Food at the restaurant was surprisingly good and of course typically Mexican. At the snack bar however the burgers were gruesome and food handling hygiene looked to be questionable.

I really enjoyed the location in walking distance to the Malecon and the downtown area. The beach in front of the resort is bit rockier than those to the north but nothing too bothersome and anyway it it just a short stroll along the beach to less rocky areas.

The biggest negative for me was the unfinished high rise concrete structure towering over the resort pool area and blocking most of the ocean view. It took away from the whole setting of the Costa Club. Not their fault of course and nothing they can do about it. With regard to the jack hammering going on it was fairly intermittent when I was there and therefore not overly annoying.

Overall I found the resort to be quite acceptable and I would not hesitate to go again, at the right price of course.

Room Tip: Tower 12 has the newer remodeled rooms and overlooks the pool. I was in 1205.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arthur Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews