We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 209
USD 133
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
USD 230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
USD 207
USD 189
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Mousai(Puerto Vallarta)
USD 484
USD 406
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
USD 207
USD 143
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 317
USD 266
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
USD 126
USD 118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
USD 340
USD 284
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Velas(Puerto Vallarta)
USD 571
USD 480
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,041)
Filter reviews
4,041 results
Traveller rating
2,665
882
315
110
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,665
882
315
110
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket cafepreferred clubbarefoot grillfrench restaurantlobby barpool areaoceana restaurantunlimited vacation clubpreferred buildingentertainment teamhealing handsrain showerturn down servicedress codeall inclusive resortocean viewtime share
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 4,041 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Secrets Vallarta is a very nice property with a very good location between the Marina and downtown. The grounds are very nice and all the amenities are very close to each other. You never need to walk too far to where you want to go. Our room was very comfortable and clean, but the decor is a bit old-fashioned. What I especially liked about Secrets is that it caters to couples of all ages. It was not a wild adult only place for only young, loud and annoying couples who only want to get wasted and make fools of themselves. Aside from a couple of young drunk women who were being very annoying at the pool bar when we first arrived, guests were very calm and just chilling out. This was a great place to relax.
The staff, in general, was very nice and friendly.Special kudos to Alberto who took good care of us on the beach with our drink requests. Special kudos to Alba in the lobby bar who was really very nice and attentive as well. Finally, Vanessa, Susana, and Marisela in the Market Cafe made our morning breakfasts very tasty and enjoyable. They also were so nice to allow me to practice my Spanish with them. They were great.
Favourite places were the lobby lounge, especially to watch the sunset. This hotel has the most beautiful lobby lounge I have ever seen. The Cafe Bistro was awesome.
The only suggestion I would have would be to upgrade the food. The Market Cafe was good for breakfast and lunch. Capers, the Italian restaurant was quite good as well. But, we were quite disappointed in all at the rest of the food venues. We were particularly disappointed in Bordeaux, the French restaurant, and Tamarindo, the Mexican restaurant where we had to endure extremely slow service and poor Mexican food. How can a Mexican restaurant in Mexico not have even mediocre Mexican food?
All in all, we would recommend Secrets and if we didn't like to change up our vacation spots, we would have no problem going back.

Room Tip: No need to book a club room. Food is available all day in normal rooms. Save your money.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JerryF1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela F, Econcierge at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear JerryF1920,

Thank you for choosing Secrets Vallarta Bay as your host and taking the time to share your experience with us.


We are glad to read that you have enjoyed our staff’s attentive service. We are also delighted to know that you have enjoyed the Market Café’s buffet for breakfast and lunch.

Once again, we appreciate your kind comments of our resort and look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Cordially,
Daniela Flores
Econcierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

It's been 5 years since we've visited Mexico. Secrets Vallarta Bay adults-only resort gave us a reason to travel back next year. Booked for a week in the preferred club, we had a gorgeous room with ocean view. Anything out of place was rectified immediately. Friendly checkin desk. Drinks by the pool were scrumptious, always a refill provided by Junior. Benny in the preferred club bar always quick to chat and accommodate whatever you were wanting. Liquor quality impressive. In the Marketplace Grill, the accommodation made for my gluten free dietary concern was exceptional. Enrique and Carmen went above and beyond each meal to ensure we were taken care of. Great selection of food each meal. I can't speak more highly of the food, for holiday eating can be tricky, but not here. The restaurant waiting staff was friendly, superb service, especially Daniel who really went out of his way, always coming to say hello even when he wasn't our waiter. Bordeaux Restaurant was exceptional, we always over ate fine French cuisine! Hotel lobby overlooking ocean and resort impressive view. High class, great attention to detail...will recommend and be back soon. Enjoyed the spa services, Nancy gave exceptional deep tissue massage. Met great people, positive energy, great live music each night in lobby. Excellent service for our NCAA March Madness crew who commandeered a bar section for game nights. Only complaint was loud function last night which woke us from the carrying on, and a leak in our ceiling, which when we called, was repaired immediately. Otherwise a wonderful week away from the snow back home!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ilike2bake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela F, Econcierge at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Ilike2bake,

Thank you for sharing your feedback through this mean. Your comments are truly valuable for us, as this allow us to improve our service levels and product of Secrets Vallarta Bay.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed our staff’s attentive service.

With this said, we look forward to have the opportunity of hosting you back on a renewed opportunity to redeem your confidence our resort and service.

Cordially,
Daniela Flores
Econcierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

I wish I could give it 4.75 stars because it is totally awesome.The resort is great. Nice restaurants, excellent service from everyone and its close to many attractions that Vallarta has to offer. We stayed at the preferred club ocean view. You are on your separate tower and you have your own concierge, mini buffet and a bar. Basically you have your own mini hotel inside the resort. The restaurants were awesome. The Italian, Mexican, and French dinner restaurants had good food and the service was phenomenal. The buffet at Market Cafe (I believe that was the name) was OK. Personally, I think it could have been better. Some of the food was very salty and not much variety but it was not bad by any means.
The cons I found (which were not a huge deal) were the following,

- Sometimes people from the resort next door (Now Amber) sneak in their kids to Secrets (adults only) then they get pissed off when they are told to leave.
-The buffet food (which I mentioned already)
-The daily bulletin is confusing at times and its not delivered every day like it should. Maybe a morning delivery could be a good idea. The shows at the amphitheater (which is at the other resort) gets full quick and you miss out.
- Housekeeping schedules vary a lot. I know its impossible to keep a steady schedule but sometimes we had our rooms cleaned until 5 pm.
And the reason I didn't give the resort a full five stars was the following,
- The pools close at 8:00 PM and it is enforced. I mean come on guys, the weather is awesome why close so early! At least close until 10. The swim out bar closes very early as well.

But overall, the resort is great and you will have the experience of a lifetime. I would definitely recommend it to friends and anyone who asks me. If you get preferred, make sure to take advantage of the hot tub on the balcony. It's glorious.

Room Tip: preferred club, high room
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela F, Econcierge at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Jose F,

We appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review about your stay at Secrets Vallarta Bay.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your comments here and have shared it with our team.

Once again, we thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review of your experience with us.

We look forward to have the pleasure of hosting you back in the near future.



Cordially,
Daniela Flores
Econcierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Definitely not your usual all inclusive. Start with no wrist bands, no reservations needed at the specialty restaurants which are plentiful, terrific service from well trained staff, and a well maintained property, Overlay that with top shelf beverages, good food choices, 24 hour room service, good spa, and an adults only environment and you have the makings of a great vacation.
We were in the Preferred Club tower with its own bar/lounge and food service and it was worth the extra cost. Get a higher number room on the upper floors. We wouldn't recommend a swim-up room. They don't connect to the pools, don't get a lot of sun, and are not very private.
We did the Chef's Table with wine pairings at Capers and though very expensive it was gourmet and worth it. Though the French restaurant was good, surprisingly, we thought the best food was in the Market buffet.Generally, you get the Mexican version of whatever cuisine at the specialty restaurants so the Italian food and steaks are not exactly Chicago standards.
We suggest you take lots of dollars for tipping because it is appreciated and reserve pool lounge chairs no later than 7:00 in the morning if you want a good spot. The beach is not special, rarely swim-able, and off property it is very rocky. The gym equipment is is not plentiful so get there early. Town is a fairly long walk away but cabs are only about 6 dollars.
Over-all, for Mexico, this is a very special property and the weather was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank LaneB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela F, Econcierge at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear LaneB45,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Secrets Vallarta Bay.

We were delighted that you have enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we have been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Cordially,
Daniela Flores
Econcierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

This is I think the fourth Secrets we have visited. It is kind of a split resort with an adult only side and a family friendly side. What I liked about it was the simplicity of the layout. Some resorts have lots of winding sidewalks and a long trek to the lobby area but this place is more compact. The beach isn't the best with darker sand and some rocky areas but you are able to swim. Another interesting thing was the lack of birds flying around the outdoor dining areas. They have a few guys with hawks setting on their arms and they release them every so often to fly around the resort. The birds(starlings, crows,etc) stay far away as the hawks will grab them,kill them and/or bring them to their trainer. You are able to pet the hawks if you like as the hawks and their trainers are both friendly. The restaurants were all great. No reservations needed except for the Japanese restaurant. Appropriate dress in the evening like most al-inclusives is required. The pools were cold caused by the temps the time of year we were there. One pool though is heated which made up for the others. Jamie(the Rabbit) was the pool concierge and he was full of useful information and just a fun guy to be around. Our rooms were cleaned daily without having to call housekeeping however they sometimes didn't clean them until as late as 5pm. Overall, like all the Secrets I've been to, I would go back. After staying at other chain al-inclusives(about 12) we scout out the Secrets resorts first and hope to get a room that meets our schedule. Also, the sunsets were incredible each evening. The way the lobby is situated there are chairs in perfect position to watch the sunsets. With the lobby bar nearby it's a great place to have a drink before dinner and watch the sun go down.

Room Tip: I could be wrong but at this resort it looked like all rooms face the ocean.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela F, Econcierge at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear David H,

We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your recent visit to Resort name. We are overjoyed to read that you have enjoyed your stay, specially service.

Please be confident that we have shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your hosts in not too distant future.

Cordially,
Daniela Flores
Econcierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews