We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Another great year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We decided to return since we had such a great time last year. We were not disappointed. Our friends arrived ed a couple of days ahead of us and asked for a king bed, if available. They upgraded them to a suite at no extra cost. Food was wonderful and the people were very helpful and nice. My only complaint is there still is no free coffee in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorRand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,081
    571
    135
    44
    25
See reviews for
954
1,298
63
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I would recommend this hotel, the rooms are awesome with amazing views and the service is excellent. Here are some details you may be interested in:
When we first arrived at the airport, I was a bit taken back by the chaos. There were a number of folks standing there trying to get our attention to give us a ride to our hotel. Even those who appeared to work for the airport were trying to get us to let them provide a ride to our hotel and lied to us and said that they were who we had previously contacted. Apparently this is all related to the time shares they are trying to sell. Thankfully we had arranged for a car to take us in advance, they were waiting with a sign with our name on it. I would strongly recommend doing that and then have the hotel arrange for taxi service back to the airport.

The hotel sits back off the road a ways and there is a security station out front where they monitor who gets in to the resort, which I thought was very nice. We had a two-room suite with a king bed. It was very incredible, spacious and the view of the ocean and the resort is absolutely breathtaking. We left the patio doors open every night when we slept and could hear the ocean, it was lovely.

The mini-bar is not really a mini-bar so much as two beers, two cans of soda, and two juices (replenished daily). They also leave two bottles of water in the bathroom daily. We were told if you order a six-pack of beer from room service you will be charged full price for the beer, but if you order a burger and the six-pack, it is part of the all-inclusive. Although any room service has a 10% charge per order, which we didn’t think was a big deal. We did try room service one morning, it took well over an hour to get it and when we did the food was ice cold. It seemed like the staff was maybe short or something? So after that we just went down and ate. The food was excellent at the main restaurant, but not a lot of variety. We did try the Italian Restaurant one night and to be honest, I thought it was terrible.

We always tipped the waiters and bartenders and we received excellent, friendly service. Gustavo, Sergio, Joel and Johanna were extremely professional and saw to it that we were well taken care of. I was so impressed with their service that I took note of their names. I will note that they mention some “butler” who takes care of your every need - which really isn’t the case, but not something we cared about at all. Also we kept getting calls from the front desk to come down and “discuss the hotel” we were told this was a time-share thing and so we never went and nothing was said about it.

We found the best way to get the hot-tubs turned on was to tip one of the wait staff and ask them; otherwise it just didn’t happen despite requests. One thing that really irritated us was when other guests would go down early in the morning and put magazines and suntan lotions in the cabanas and chairs that we felt were in some of the best spots and then just leave it like that for hours on end during busy times without ever showing up to use them. When we were checking out, I mentioned it to the staff and they said if you just let them know, they will take care of it since they do not allow guests to do that. I wished we would have known that before.
I’ve seen a few complaints about the Beach Vendors, but we found that if you just tell them you’re not interested, they will leave you alone and they are certainly nonthreatening. You may want to have at look at what they offer, as I did get some really cool jewelry and a dress from them :) Also, we actually left the resort and walked down to the Boardwalk, we felt safe the entire time. We would definitely recommend staying at Sunset Plaza and would love to go back some day.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Darla428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We traveled as a couple for 5 nights at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort. Always looking for the ocean view, this resort was a stunner. Every room has a full view, with the exception of the 2nd floor which does have some palm trees obstructing the view. This Rooms are pretty standard size, I did hear the suites were worth the money. Beds have a pillow top so no need to worry about hard beds, It is only a short cab ride ($18, regulated by the government) from the airport~return trip was $12. Check in is at individual desks. Do avoid the center desk which is staffed by the dreaded timeshare people, who want you to believe they are they to inform you about resort ammenities & tours.

They have 2 restaurants, one is Italian that requires reservations, the other is ala carte.
The ala carte restaurant has 3 days of menus, which are all prepared to order so no cold buffet food here. The quality of the food was surprising good and I was rarely disappointed. If you are there longer than a week I think you might get bored. They have 2 white wine choices, 2 red wine choices, a good selection of hard liquor, beer, and more. The drinks weren't watered down. There is also a deli which will make you sandwhiches and has desserts available.

We appreciated the adults only pool and the 3 rooftop hot tubs, which do have beverage service. Occassionally they did run out of towels. Too many people "reserve" chaise lounges early in the morning which I dislike.They have the wood day beds throughout the resort and on the beach. Personally I am not a fan. They do cover the mattresses with fresh sheets but I would still put down towels. Pools were very comfortable temperatures. Puerto Vallarta has a rocky shore line so you can't walk far without having to climb over rocks. It also has a strong current and the red flag was always up. The beaches are public, so you will find vendors there but I didn't find them intrusive & respected your "no". There are sea kayaks to use. There are a few activities per day. Massage was only $60 and I heard good reviews from fellow guests.

Staff was very attentive, polite, helpful, & eager to please. Guests were friendly. They have dvd players in the room and have some dvds to borrow at the desk. Balconies were large with a full size table & chairs-clear glass for the balcony wall keeps the view intact.

Be sure to visit the "Malecon" for a leisurely ocean boardwalk stroll, complete with musicians,
entertainers, restaurants, bars, shops, statue collection, & elaborate sand sculptures. Walk further down and you will reach the "romantique" zone which is full of restaurants on the edge of the ocean and perfect sunset. I suggest a taxi to there, about 50 or 60 pesos. We took a jeep safari tour in to the Sierra Madres moutains to enjoy local villages, stunning views, a tequilla tour, and learn the history and culture of the area. We rented a catamarn with a captain and he taught us to sail, about $50 for 1 1/2hr.

Puerto Vallarta is unique that the locals and tourists are together, giving you a unique Mexican culture experience.

Room Tip: Request a higher room, although that is not a guarantee. All rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelgal058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel far exceeded our expectations. Every room has an ocean view which is great! Spend the money on getting the suite! It's absolutely worth every penny! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a small more boutique hotel so there' s no rushing to the pool in the morning to reserve your seat by the pool. There were a few negatives to be aware of but they aren't deal breakers. The first was the resort on the right on Sunset Plaza. On Saturdays they have a DJ that spins music until 10pm. Since the resort is much higher the sound echos and its really loud. The other negative for us was that the restaurant ran out of tea and bacon for breakfast and didn't have any for the rest of the 4 days we were there. Again, not a deal breaker but just a couple of things to be aware of. Have fun!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John9511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Hotel- The hotel and hotel grounds are wonderful. The rooms are clean and spacious, the balconies are large and the view from our room was outstanding. The hot tubs were cold the first two days but awesome after that. The pools were nice and the grounds were very well maintained.
Service- The staff is outstanding. The wait staff at the restaurants could not be better. If you want something that is not on the menu, all you have to do is ask and they will make it. All the wait staff was exceptional, especially Isiah, he went out of his way to make our meals exceptional.
Food- The food was wonderful. Everything we ate was good.
Butlers- They were very helpful, a little too helpful at times, but they wanted to make sure we were well cared for.
Spa- The spa was average. My wife and I had massages and on a scale from 1 to 10 I would give them a 6. They were very nice and the spa is nice but the massage was average.
Suprises- No suprises...That's what I liked the most. When you check in the Butler will take you to your room and explain the all inclusive. Basically if you order room service you have to pay 10%, and the bar in your room is very limited. They will stock a couple cans, a couple cans of beer, and two bags of chips. Each day it is stocked to that level, if you want more you either have to pay for it or bring it to your room from the bar.
Return Factor- When we return to Puerto Vallarta we will most likely stay at the Sunset Plaza Beach Resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank squeech82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.7 km away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#13 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
9.4 km away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#12 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
0.4 km away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#15 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
0.4 km away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#16 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
4.3 km away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price range (per night): $259 - $554
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing