We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,954)
Filter reviews
2,954 results
Traveller rating
1,119
942
510
218
165
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,119
942
510
218
165
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breeze bar bella vista paradise restaurant beach vendors ocean front club nitro information desk beach bar room service tequila volleyball la piazza sushi no gracias tacos oceanfront room sister hotel french restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 2,954 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The girlfriend & I stayed at the resort from October 1st-5th and really had an enjoyable experience. Hearing some of the bad reviews about the food I would have to disagree. We only had one dinner at Salvador’s and the rest at the buffets & they were above expectations. My main bar was fantastic with Carlos & Antonio providing excellent service. Paloma’s & Riveria Maya’s were our favorite drinks. They do have premium alcohol & not watered down. :) We are not fluent in Spanish so it was nice everyone for the most part spoke English. Our only negative of the resort was the lunch we had with the “club” representative which is kind of like a time share. It was only an hour so no biggie. All & all a great getaway for us both. Thanks!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank lagwagon916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Paradise A, Social Media Ambassador at Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Lagwagon,

We want you to know that the description of your stay with us at Crown Paradise Golden is very helpful and we thank you for providing your rating.

Although your comments show that in most areas we are on the right track with our numerous efforts and our detailed and personalized service mainly by Carlos, Antonio and our Salvador's colleagues. We have taken your feedback regarding the Golden Shores Area concerns.

Again we want to thank you very much for sharing your review of our hotel and would be delighted to welcome you back to your home Crown Paradise Golden in Puerto Vallarta.

Sincerely,

Salvador Sánchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We come to Puerto Vallarta twice a year. We try to stay at many different Hotels in the area to get the feel of the different cultures. We thought we would give the Crown Paradise Golden a try, had read reviews, some good some bad. Our experience was a little unexpected since it was the rainy season and our room flooded. When we called the front desk they said we must have left one of our doors open, they sent the maid and maintenance man. When the maintenance man seen it he said it blew in under our entry door, well duh there was a 1/2 inch gap. We went down to the front desk and demanded another room, they said no rooms available. We continued the argument that there is water even under to bed and it would not be sanitary to stay in there for health reasons. They told us they would give us an upgrade but the room would not be ready until 2-3 in the afternoon it was 10 am now. Pack our belongings back in our suitcases that wasn't wet and sat in the lobby for 3 1/2 hrs. The new room was nice but with the hassle we had to put up with and the unfriendliness of the desk personnel it just wasn't worth it. will never go back to this hotel again. We stayed from Sept. 19th thru Sept. 29th.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ejinkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Paradise A, Social Media Ambassador at Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Edward,

Thank you for your comment here on TripAdvisor.

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations, although we always try; most of our clients are happy with our service and facilities, as you can read in many previous comments. When the hotel is fully booked, it might just not be possible to give another room, however, we did and we thank you for your patience.

Again, we certainly appreciate the time you took out of your day to inform us of the inadequacies you experienced during your stay. We sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly.

Sincerely,

Salvador Sánchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Ugh. I so wanted to love this place, after weeks of looking online and watching their YouTube videos. We were very excited!!! But it was disappointing from the time we got off the airplane. Both of us had vacationed before in Cozumel and Playa Del Carmen. So I knew when we got off the plane we'd be bombarded by salesman. But here's the kicker. They don't stop when you get to the resort. The entire time... while on the beach, while in town, while on resort grounds you're being harassed by salesman EVERYWHERE. In town there were anti-American graffiti in multiple bathrooms which was disconcerting. The hotel itself was run down at best, borderline dirty in reality. Even with the AC on high it's still hot in your room, which requires that you leave your room key in it to keep it on. The buffet was edible, but not what I would call good. The restraunts where you made reservations were good. The drinks weren't awful and were made with cheapest alcohol known to man unless specified. Only decent margarita was off the resort. Which really isn't even what I would call an actual resort.

I know, I know. You get what you pay for. If it seems too good to be true, it is. Pay the extra $500-1k and enjoy your vacation somewhere else. This place is so cheap you don't even get a straw after your first welcome drink.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Gabrielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Paradise A, Social Media Ambassador at Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Gabrielle,

Firstly we thank you for connecting us on Tripadvisor to share your concerns related to your recent holiday with us at Crown Paradise Golden and apologize that you felt your experience did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is really important to us and we will be making sure your remarks are bought to the attention of the appropriate management so they can discuss your comments about the areas you highlight in your review.

We are sorry to learn that you did find salesmen. We want to comment that Puerto Vallarta is considered an investment and retire destiny, even, when you are getting off the airplane in Cancún, Cozumel, Isla Mujeres, Playa del Carmen, Acapulco, Mazatlán, Puerto Vallarta, Nuevo Vallarta and Cabos, you will find from airport, street, downtown, salesmen; all depends of each person, if does bother or it does not.

In regards of the hotel, we regret if you found low quality in cleanliness, we are building our new Spa and we are sorry the inconveniences, however, we have shared your review with our Manager ahead to fix it as soon as possible.

About the drinks, we want to comment that we have a great list of premium brands as: Tequila Herradura, Tequila Corralejo, Black Label Wisky, Buchanan's wisky, Chivas Regal Wisky, Havana Club rum, among others.

We will be pleased to welcome you back in the future and have the chance to meet all your expectations.

Sincerely,

Salvador Sánchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This was a last minute best friends trip that we booked 30 days out, where both of us had been to PV multiple times, however we never stayed at this resort on previous trips. I read reviews before booking as this package was an amazing deal. Seems it was too good to be true.

This resort is old and run down and does not look much like the pictures. We were never informed that there would be continual construction not only in our resort but also at the neighboring resort as well. Our room smelled awful, the bathroom was full of mold that grew on our items if left on the counter. The resort is trying to conceal the mold with paint on the ceiling, but it isn't possible when it appears to be growing in the marble of the shower and sink area. Our beds were also full of mold, which unfortunately we did not discovered until just before check out. We had a problem with our air conditioning not working properly, however the resort fixed that quickly when asked. We also had a continual problem with our safe. Each time we left the resort or were down by the pool, we would return to being locked out of our safe. Each time we called the front desk and security came with a key and we set the code. The fourth time this happened, I was upset and requested management. That request was never honored and the security guard that came to the room did not speak English.

The food was bland with a limited selection at the buffet. The restaurants offered a better selection with small portion sizes. However, room service was delicious.

The pool is lovely but the deck chairs are old and the beds are also very full of mold. Ivan and the poolside bar staff are a true highlight to this area. There are loungers and bed on the beach as well, however we felt that the beach vendors were aggressive. At other PV resort we had stayed at, they were not allowed in the resort beach area but at this resort they were allowed to come to the pool edge, so everyone sat towards the other end of the pool. We also witnessed a guest get injured when he fell through the pool edge grate, cutting his feet badly. There was no first aid staff member on the adult only side of the resort, so this poor gentleman was bleeding and waiting for 10 minutes until someone arrived.

At sunset on the beach there is an explanation and release of baby turtles. We participated in that several times and were luck enough to stumble across a large turtle laying her eggs one night. Truly an amazing experience.

The time spent with my best friend was wonderful, and we met some truly lovely guests and staff members. In speaking with other guests I came to understand that there seems to be better rooms for those who "timeshare" at this resort.

We have traveled to many places and stayed in all types of hotels, condos and resorts and as mentioned there is work taking place at this resort but be cautioned that it is not as it seems online - I feel this is boarding heavily on false advertising. At most I would say the adult only side is a 3 star hotel. Not the 4-4.5 star I was expecting and paid for.

Room Tip: Updated rooms might be better
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MommyTravels00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Paradise A, Social Media Ambassador at Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Mommy Travels,

First of all, we wish to thank you for choosing Crown Paradise Golden for your holidays in Puerto Vallarta.

As well, we kindly would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we can assure you that we use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

It is a pleasure to read that the service from our comrade Ivan was kindly and helpful, also we are very glad to learn that you had such an amazing experience releasing baby turtles. We will share your kind comments with our F&B Team.

We appreciate your comments about the rooms and we wish to mention that Housekeeping Team is redoubling efforts doing cleanliness with the chemicals right, always caring the marble. In regards of the pool/beach beds, in a period of one month we are going replace with new mattress. With comments of guests like you, we have the opportunity to know what really your expectations are, which we always want to fulfil.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Salvador Sánchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

There are many components that go into this review but the first thing to note is that I went on a honeymoon to this resort and we paid for an all-inclusive stay. Understanding this, we move on to the review.

Wait Staff: I give the wait staff a 4/5. There was nothing they did wrong but most of the time they were only required to get us our drinks and be pleasant. Their job was easy but they did a good job for the most part. Nothing much to say about them.

Bell Boys: The bell boys get a 5/5 for their work. Daniel immediately introduced himself and let us know that if there is anything he can do to help then he would. He suggested several areas to visit, gave us a few coupons, and helped us to our room. The other bell boys were helpful as well and were always smiling when we encountered them.

Front Desk: For the most part, the front desk did their job adequately and were helpful. There was one specific front desk worker that was very below average which pushes their overall rating down to a 2/5. Had this person not been working there most of the time, the front desk would have gotten a 3/5.

Maids: I actually had several conversations with Rocio, our maid, who did not speak much English but we were still able to communicate. While our conversations were not deep or complex, she was still able to understand what we asked for and was more than happy to accommodate our requests. The maids get a 5/5.

Food: The best part about the food was the buffet available at every meal. The fresh fruit was great and there was almost always something good to eat available. The individual restaurants were ok but the themes were a bit off and the food was not the greatest. They have several cuisines available such as Italian, French, and Japanese but they were somewhat lacking at times. Overall, the food was worth a 3/5.

The entire experience was an enjoyable one for the most part but there is a reason I gave it a 3/5. After having spent over $3000, I expected a better experience and I was not expecting to be able to find as many flaws as I did. I am generally a very forgiving reviewer but the whole adventure was underwhelming. Not a terrible place to go but also not the best.

Room Tip: Tip the maids and always be sure to inform staff of any problems immediately.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Paradise A, Social Media Ambassador at Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear David,

Although we very much regret reading that your recent holiday at Crown Paradise Golden fell short of your expectations, we are grateful for the time you spent to share with us and the Tripadvisor community this review of your overall holiday experience in our hospitality. We always welcome the opinions of our guests as they give us an insight into areas of our hotel through their eyes and we believe that if an area of our hotel has room for improvement we will always endeavor to do so.

It is very unfortunate to learn that one of Front Desk clerk was not helpful, we want to share you that we have rescinded of two of them, our main goal is guest satisfaction and we know that some collegues were not according to our principles and values.

Our team of chefs strives on a daily basis to prepare dishes and always using high quality and fresh produce in order to satisfy the most discerning of palates, however we regret if our food selection did not meet your expectations.

Once more we thank you for this review of our hotel and apologize for not being able to meet your expectations. We hope that you had a pleasant journey back to home and we hope that you will continue to include Crown Paradise Golden in your future holiday arrangements.

Sincerely,

Salvador Sánchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews