We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 209
USD 156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
USD 195
USD 177
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
USD 405
USD 158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
USD 230
USD 149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
USD 214
USD 163
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
USD 310
USD 292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 317
USD 266
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
USD 189
USD 177
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
USD 378
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mousai(Puerto Vallarta)
USD 484
USD 403
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (5,055)
Filter reviews
5,056 results
Traveller rating
2,295
1,496
600
369
296
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,295
1,496
600
369
296
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cantinala jollaclub premiumspanish restaurantdon quixotebug bitesgrand master suitesnack barpremium roomno see umsfamily suitefeed the animalsbaby tigerssand fleasspecialty restaurantsel edenbring bug spray
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 5,056 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The resort was much smaller than we are used to but it still wasn't overly crowded and had all the same amenities we like. The rooms were very nice and as a nice surprise we were upgraded when we arrived so we were up higher and had a great view. Like most all-inclusive resorts the bar is short staffed and the drinks are weak but if you tell them to make them stronger they will. It is a Pepsi resort so if you are die-hard Diet Coke drinkers like we are you will need to purchase your daily fix in the gift shop. The buffet food was average but we really enjoyed the Italian restaurant and the Steak House. Several people in our group painted ceramics and the artist took our ordinary pieces and made them amazing! We also got henna tattoos and the artist again did an amazing job. The resort is small and we like to walk so we would have to do several laps around the resort. The beach was nice but small. There's a pathway out past the neighboring huts that we walked several times - the local dogs will show you the way (just wear bug spray, shoes, and watch your step for both potholes and doggie doo). We got massages in the huts along the beach and they were amazing. The ocean water was a little cold while we were there but the pools were perfect! The zoo was a short walk from the resort and it was small and hilly, but very interactive which made it fun - and lots of biting no-see-ums which were not fun! The resort also had no-see-um's (although they sprayed for them daily but hey! you are in a jungle) and while you didn't feel them bite you the red welts will show up on your skin and within a few days it will itch like crazy! Watch for iguanas at the pool - they will come right up close and even take a dip in the pool. We enjoyed our stay and some people in our group that travel every year to different places thought this was one of the best resorts they have been to so it just depends on what you like.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cider18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, Director General at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Cider

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our Barceló Puerto Vallarta. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Positive- the grounds are beautiful, pool is nice and warm, concierge was extremely helpful. Beautiful room, we stayed in a suite. Incredible views from the room. Pool bar staff was excellent.
Negatives- food was fair at best and not always warm. Bar staff at main bar were rude, service in the buffet went from excellent to poor, depending where you were seated at. We will not go back

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curiouskitty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, Director General at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear curiouskitty13

We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay in our Barceló Puerto Vallarta hotel, your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests.Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Sincerely

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The hotel was very clean, but our rooms were only about a 6.5/10 (there was someone else's hair stuck to the floor for the first two days we were there). There are really only two restaurants to choose from at will, the all you can eat and during the day a kind of cafe (that definitely takes their time getting ANYTHING to you). They do serve American liquor at the included price so that was nice. There's a basketball court, but if you want to use it after dark you have to pay $10 to get the lights turned on (are you kidding me!!). They threaten a $25 unreturned towel fee, but every morning the staff lay towels out on the beach chairs so we never even used our "towel keys". There was live music at the cantina most nights, free kayaking and snorkeling gear to use, and always available ice cream cones. There was some good snorkeling along the shore, a city bus (for 8 pesos/person) to take you into town to shop - which was very safe, and coronas/water/snacks in the fridge daily. The beds were comfortable and air conditioning worked well. Water pressure was not great at all, but it got the job done. Now for the really bad - my husband had his cell phone and money stolen from our room. He came back from a fishing trip and the room was clean. He left his phone and some money on the desk. When I arrived about half an hour after him, the phone was gone along with the money. Someone answered the phone when we called it, but then never would say more than a few words or tell us where the phone was. Although there are a few cameras up, we were told none of them pointed toward our side of the hotel and there are no cameras in the hallways. There's something that looks like a camera on the balcony, but we were told it's a sensor for smoke?? Needless to say, we did get the phone back after tracking it, but I would not trust security at the hotel at all.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, Director General at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Amanda

We sincerely appreciate the time you spent to share your comments following your visit to our Barceló Puerto Vallarta hotel, our guests' feedback is of utmost importance to ensure our demanding standards of service at all times, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconsistency you may have experienced during your stay. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.

Sincerely

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Wow 5th time was wonderful. We used Uber app to get car at airport super easy they pick you up right outside airport at bus drop off. $11 American to Barcelo $10 return. Make sure your credit card linked to Uber has no foreign transaction fee. We speak no Spanish and this was very easy.
Check in was a breeze but really thought they would have given us a better room as this was our 5th visit we were in room 2201 nice beds but no view we don’t vacation to be in our room The rest of the staff always treat us with such wonderfulness I guess I thought the front desk could have done better.
The staff here are so outstanding wish I could remember all of their names. The omelet lady is amazing, the ladies at the cantina at night are so sweet always remembered what we weee drinking , Victor in the Japanese restaurant-thanks for treating us like family Every encounter with a member of your team was wonderful. Please tip these hard workers. One day I left money on bedside table instead of bed and our room attendant didn’t even touch. Such honest hard workers.
Become a member of Barcelo you get free WiFi and $$ to use in store. Our 5th visit and just realized it’s free money

We will be back next year. Please save me a better room lol

We love going to the beach to the left of the hotel. Eat at Rogers (Rocky’s). His wife is an amazing cook. We always take a day trip with big Enrique we saw about 20 whales best trip ever. Then go to Yelapa for
Art of the day.
The catholic mass is at 930. Haha none we asked knew what time. It starts when the priest arrives.
The Cliff diver Marco at Chico’s is amazing. Don’t believe that Chico’s is closed it’s open and their waiter staff is so friendly

Room Tip: 2nd tower higher floor. We met people that paid premium and were on 2nd floor
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank WOlf12_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, Director General at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear WOlf12_11

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Puerto Vallarta hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We just got back as a family of five with two teenagers and an 11 y/o from a 5 night stay at the Barceló Puerto Vallarta. Our first impression of the resort is beautiful and impressive. The grounds are meticulously kept, the halls and windows are clean. The location is a bit of drive from town but we like this rugged kind of adventure. I would like to give 4 stars but this is why I cannot..... The service in this resort is a little on the rude side. Other than Luis the pizza maker (our favorite), a couple of the servers Michel and the bellman that assisted as we left I would say they are not quite as friendly as I remember our two other trips to Mexico as being. The pool bartender was the worst, so crabby. The pool was too noisy with loud "club" music. We tried to always sit by the water fall pool, which by the way, get your towels on chairs before 8am or you won't get any. One day we reserved chairs and an umbrella, went to breakfast and played tennis to return to our umbrella was taken....they give out day passes to locals so beware! The resort is loud until 11:30 because the music from the shows is blasting. The food was mediocre, we very much enjoyed Kyoto the sushi restaurant, incredible sashimi and service was okay. The premium club was lacking too, small selection of name brand like Captain Morgan but terrible wine throughout the resort. We all got multiple bug bites as well, and my husband even got a little hot tub rash, bring your bug spray. One more disappointment was the reservation was for a family of 5. That is why we booked the Family Room Premium level. The room had one small room with 2 twin beds, and one other medium sized room with a king. The gentleman checking us in should have let us know as we had to call back and they brought up a roll away, the room was small. The extra bathroom was nice to have, but the balcony only had two chairs and was small. The tennis court, is not a tennis court. It is painted cement and very slippery. We were looking forward to tennis and specifically looked for a resort that offered this. It was unplayable unfortunately. We rented a boat right outside on the beach for $50 for the hour, we snorkeled at Los Arcos and that was about as much time as we needed. The boat was kind of dirty, and they make you wear life vests, which were wet:( The beach vendors are everywhere and will try to sell you their stuff over, and over, we were happy to buy from a couple my son bought a bracelet and sunglasses. They can get to be a bit much though....

To end we did have a nice vacation, the view is spectacular and the sunsets are some of the best we have ever seen. The Le Cliff restaurant ten minutes down the road is the best restaurant we have ever been to! I don't think we will return though.

Room Tip: Tower two, premium level is higher floors to get the best view
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMdowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, Director General at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear LMdowling

We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Sincerely

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews