We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed my second time round at the Westin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #28 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my second time round at the Westin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I recently stayed two nites at the Westin choosing it due to its close proximity to the airport on my return trip home after a month long vacation in Mexico.I was ill with a bad chest cold by the time I arrived so chose to stay on the grounds rather then sightsee. During the day I rented a private cabana on the beach for two days to relax and sleep. In the evening I went to the restaurant at the hotel for a late meal and headed off to my royale beach club room to enjoy the view, the breeze and the bed -remember I was sick. The staff at the westin always makes everything worthwhile. Reyes the beach bar server has to get a special thank you from me as he recommended an excellent tequila for me as well as running from the restaurant with my dish of ice cream to help with my sore throat. He went out of his way and I appreciate it very much. The cabana attend also did an excellent job refilling my water , ice bucket, changing the drapery as the sun moved. The restaurant staff also were very gracious helpful with menu choices. I always book the Royal Beach Club room as it has the benefit of the private dining lounge for breakfast and a light snack in the evening. Angel and Renata take pride in their work and remember your name and when you last visited. I usually travel alone and feel very safe and secure at the Westin.I look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: For the extra money book the royale Beach Club or the rooms on the top floor - the views are spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queenb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    622
    235
    103
    66
See reviews for
409
723
69
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Too many kids in adult pool with diapers. Very unsanitary to allow that. Toddlers and infants shouldn't be allowed in pools. Noisy parties until 1:00 in tha morning. Beach is small and not very pretty but views from the room were spectacular. Food was good. Room sometimes not made up until 4:30. Staff was very friendly. Didn't like the fact that the commode has no door and bathroom has a shutter instead of a wall . No privacy in there. Must be a Mexico thing as we've noticed it at other hotels.

Room Tip: Get a room above the 4th floor for better views of the water and bay. Very nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshawillner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
701 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This Westin is one of the poorest run hotels in the Westin chain.The grounds are beautiful, but that is where the buck stops. Housekeeping is horrible.Light bulbs in the bathroom are full of dirt. No in room directory,no shower towel mat.No face clothes.You have to beg for your comp bottles of water. Half the machines in the fitness center do not work properly.Desk chair was broken on arrival.Toilet seat fell off. Never had a do not disturb sign. The furniture looks worn out. the room did have a new flat screen TV. It took about 3 calls each time a request was made to take care of what was missing. For the price look elsewhere in Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dealmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood,Pa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We love the Westin. I can only speak as a Platinum SPG. They gave us a beautiful room with a private balcony with a private hot tub. Service was super. It is worth getting the club level as you get free breakfast and heavy h'orderves at night with free wine, beer and drink. It probably comes out cheaper then buying the extra breakfast and drinks.
The surprise is a new restaurant RIGHT across the street. It is the Azzul Marino Bar & Gril.
It originally was only for the Yacht owners but they have opened it up to the public.
We ate there twice and had two meals better then anything at the Marina.
Again, this is right across street. There is a guard house there. Just tell them you are going to the restaurant.

Room Tip: Join SPG.com before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamelat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Our family of four (two adults plus two kids ages 12 & 7) recently spent a week at the Westin Puerto Vallarta. We have visited PV many times so we knew what to expect from the resort, but we had never stayed at the Westin. We booked two connecting rooms on the tenth floor with a full ocean view, and through an early booking deal (fourth night free plus $200 credit per room), we ended up paying an incredible US$130 per room per night including tax. We really enjoyed our stay at the Westin. The building itself is architecturally interesting and has a really great vibe to it. The rooms were spacious, clean and well-furnished, and the maid and room service were consistently good. The pool area is really great (two large free form pools, both great for kids and adults) and we never had trouble finding seats. Food and drink service at the pool was always fast and friendly; in fact, in our experience the entire staff at the hotel (front desk, spa, restaurants, pool, etc) worked very hard to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. One of the things we liked most about the hotel was also the most irritating: the wi fi connection. On the good side, we paid a single flat weekly fee (about US$120) for 8 days of unlimited wi fi access, and we could connect all our devices (laptops, ipads, smart phones) using one username and password. On the downside, the functionality of the wi fi was poor, requiring us to log in over and over again (sometimes every 10 minutes on the laptop), and it was often slow. I wasn't able to speak to the hotel's IT manager but this is something they need to figure out. We took tennis lessons, went to yoga classes and worked out in the fitness centre, which is a great facility. The food at the hotel was quite good, with an emphasis on Westin's SuperFoods menu (healthy choices and fresh ingredients); in particular the breakfast (combination of decent buffet and healthy a la carte choices) was consistently good. The lunch menu at the pool was a bit limited for a week long stay but the food itself was decent. We ate some dinners at the hotel but also liked to walk five minutes over to the Marina where there are a range of good restaurant choices. It is also a quick $10 cab ride into downtown PV, which has really been improved by the creation of the pedestrian zone along the waterfront. So all in all, we had a very positive experience at the Westin; in our opinion, if you can get this hotel for less than $150-200 per night, you will feel like you are getting a pretty good deal. And for anyone nervous about going to Mexico, don't be! We've been going to PV for twenty years and it is no different now than it was back then. We had no hesitation getting out and about, and no concerns about walking around town day or night with our kids.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northernglancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
1.3 km away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
6.4 km away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
4.6 km away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#20 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
0.9 km away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#7 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
2.1 km away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#25 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price range (per night): $149 - $430
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing