We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Still love it here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosita Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosita Hotel
Ranked #55 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Still love it here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is our second time staying at The Rosita and it was no disappointment. We didn't have an "ocean view" this time, but I think we liked this room even better. We had a view of the pool and could still see the bay from our window. Our room was huge with beautiful wooden furniture. We were comfortable just hanging out in the room some. We stayed here 2 nights at the very end of our month long trip to Mexico. The malecon is now closed to traffic which makes the entire area extremely quiet (compared to how it used to be) and walking friendly. It's great to be at the center of all the action without having to take a bus to get there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lam77s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    128
    67
    20
    13
See reviews for
65
97
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This is the first hotel built in Vallarta and it is in the most perfect tourist location. Everything is right outside the front door. I had the best tacos pasture at the stand right past the front door for 9 pesos. A few places offer $1 USD beers and every type of food imaginable.
The huge lobby draws you into this traditional old world Mexican hotel. Most rooms are ocean view with a balcony at a slightly higher cost. But the best rooms seem to be right on the beach. I agree with the pervious reviews and see no reason repeating what was said.
My room included breakfast which was just adequate. The free WiFi is annoying it cuts out frequently and you have to sign back in each time. I saw them working on the new antenna yesterday but the service is no better today.
With only a few short comings this is an excellent value hotel. I would not hesitate to recommend this place for a long stay.
Note: The money changers are very busy places with long lines because tourists insist on tipping in dollars. (not a good idea) Please use pesos in Mexico.

Room Tip: Next time I will get a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed at the Rosita for one week In March. We booked at the last minute relying on traveller's reviews and the hotel website. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the hotel. We are not all inclusive travellers and this hotel in the city was ideal. We had booked a standard room but upgraded to a ocean view suite on the main floor which was well worth the small extra charge. This old hotel has been well maintained and the room we had was huge and very comfortable. We loved the character of the hotel, the obliging staff and the convenience of the location at the north end of the Malecon. From the hotel, you can walk to all the great restaurants in the area. We had breakfast included which was a simple buffet of eggs, refried beans and one other dish which changed daily, bread and juice. We ate in the restaurant one night and found the food very good. Try the chicken soup and Cobb salad.Don' think you will be disappointed. The restaurant is quite busy at times and the staff get overwhelmed but they are always pleasant and do their best so sometimes patience is in order. We don't go to Mexico to rush! The restaurant had an excellent singer accompanied by a gentleman on the keyboard who also had a beautiful voice. They also had Argentine Tango lessons on Sunday afternoon. We have stayed at other hotels in the city but the Rosita has beat them all. We enjoyed it very much and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank _2travellers4fun_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Grandmother,daughter and 4 year old stayed in two oceanfront rooms in March,2012. We were
so pleasantly surprised at the helpful staff, the proximity of beach, pool & malecon. What lovely
days we had, strolling, swimming, sand castles & excellent restaurants.......... Even a McDonalds across the street with supermarket close by. And grandmother was able to catch CNN news every day. Great oceanfront balcony, great air conditioning too!
Although breakfast was a sore point - no fruit, no yogurt & no cold cerael, items from the regular
menu were so reasonable it would not stop us from staying again.
Actually, we called it "another day in Paradise." Thank you, Rosita Hotel

Room Tip: For us, quiet nights were a necessity so we requested and got rooms with no windows or doors facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anemarie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
166 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Just yesterday I wnet with my husband to have breakfast at the hotel Rosita.
My husband had won a 2 free buffet breakfast some weeks ago and we decided to use it.
Fortunately we didn't have to pay for anyhting.

Although the general manager was very nice (thanks), I was asked many questions about how I got the invitation, and it was not but unitl 30 minutes later that I was offered a table.

BUT, the table was unclean, had food all over. I asked one of the waiters to clean it and he just cleared everthing with his hand and send all to the floor!

We decided to stay, maybe the food was good.
We asked for coffee, and got it much later and cold.
There was only a few diffrent servings. Eggs with ???, french toast, chilaquiles, picadillo, beans, mashed potato, birria, menudo(very greasy), chicharron in red sauce.
Of course fruit and cereal (only one type)
Beside the nice omelettes a lady made when asked, the rest was awful.

We asked for other beverages, but never got them.

Needless to say, we will never go back there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thalia91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.3 km away
El Pescador
El Pescador
#67 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#64 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#40 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#48 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#37 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.7 km away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#57 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosita Hotel

Property: Rosita Hotel
Address: Paseo Diaz Ordaz No. 901, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price range (per night): $73 - $261
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosita Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Rosita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosita Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Rosita Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing