We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts, tranquil beachfront atmosphere, gorgeous accommodations”
Review of El Sol La Vida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Sol La Vida
Ranked #4 of 52 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We have been going to Mazatlan for many years and have always wanted to stay here. The perfect opportunity arose when our flight from the Northeast was cancelled and we were forced to extend our vacation for 3 days. El Sol La Vida has a 3 night minimum so it was just meant to be. Linda and Ray are terrific hosts, friendly and easy going and we thoroughly enjoyed getting to know them. We have known their lovely daughter for several years who owns the cafe right next door which we have frequented many times (outstanding food and live music 3 times a week!). This beachfront accommodation is beautifully decorated with all the amenities one would need. The delicious breakfasts were a feast and were different each day. All in all, we enjoyed the entire experience and would recommend this to anyone looking for an unbeatable beachfront view, long walks on the beach, relaxation and beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the room with the private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CtMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunandLife, Owner at El Sol La Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Thank you, it was a pleasure meeting you both glad you where able to make spend some time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2017

We booked for three nights to celebrate my wife’s 70th birthday. Ray and Linda have created an oasis of comfort at “The End of the Earth” (we winter in Centro, and I use the term only to describe the distance we traveled by pulmonia to get there): Accommodations, amenities and breakfasts are everything you’d expect in this price range, and then some. The beds (we had the Kokopelli Suite – named after a fertility deity, no less) were pillow tops with firmness underneath, and sleeping on them with the sounds of the surf coming through the partially open patio doors was an unforgettable experience.

There’s plenty of hot water and water pressure, and the water is treated and drinkable (do note it’s “soft”, so it takes a while to rinse soap and shampoo and tastes a little different).

I went down before DW for our first breakfast, was confronted with a small plate of banana bread and not much else (“It’s good, but is that all there is?”). DW arrived, and then Linda started with the real breakfast: OJ, bowls of sliced fresh fruit, yogurt, toast and an omelet; there was so much, we decided to split an omelet rather than each try to eat one. And let’s not forget the bottomless cups of hot coffee. It was all good.

As it worked out the birthday fell on a Thursday when Beggar’s Banquet had their regular gig at Surf’s Up, so I invited a dozen friends for a semi-surprise party. Leanne was quite helpful, and the afternoon was a complete success. Their Thursday “Picnic Menu” lists burgers and hot dogs prepared a number of ways and there was a sandwich or two as well. The band has to be heard, with the female lead doing a spot on Janis Joplin. Ray was instrumental in getting the band together.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferd62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunandLife, Owner at El Sol La Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Its was a pleasure to meet you both, so pleased we where able to make your get away memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We came super stressed but from the moment we were greeted by Linda and Ray our worries were swept away. The property is right on a very private beach. The full breakfasts were amazing. The food at Surfs Up Cafe(on the property) was fantastic and prepared by Leanne their daughter. The restaurant also provided some great entertainment. After most vacations in the past, we were eager to get back home - not this time! We wanted to stay more than 8 days and will be back. Mark and Joanne.

Room Tip: Ocean view on second level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank drmarkathompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunandLife, Owner at El Sol La Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Thank you for much for the glowing review, so pleased we could make your stay enjoyable look forward to seeing you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

We highly recommend El Sol La Vida! Ray & Linda are such wonderful hosts! They make you feel like you've been friends forever as soon as you arrive. The property is well taken care, and stunning to look at, with amazing views and proximity to the ocean. The beach is wonderful and mostly empty, which is a bonus.
The breakfasts were wonderful with more food than we could eat. They started with a wonderful bread of some kind (Linda's Banana Nut Bread is the best!) and a bowl of fresh fruit and some yogurt. Then Ray would make a wonderful hot breakfast with eggs, toast and sometimes potatoes of some variety. One outstanding one was his version of Huevos Rancheros, the best we've had! Of course this is all accompanied by juice and coffee/tea. If you leave hungry, it's your own fault. ;-)
The property is a ways from civilization, if you will, as it's in a new area of Mazatlan and down a dirt road. You can get taxis to places, but it was too cold at night for me to use the open air ones. So after our first night there, we decided to rent a car. If you just want to sit by the pool or lay on the awesome beach, it's perfect. We enjoyed having a car for a little more freedom. We loved using Uber for Centro, when it was a bit far to walk, but they're not available in this area.
Ray and Linda's daughter runs Surf's Up Beach Cafe next door, which we were able to enjoy once, as well.
All in all a wonderful experience!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank McSue777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunandLife, Owner at El Sol La Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Thank you Sue for the lovely review very informative to help future guests with their decision to stay at El Sol La Vida. It was a pleasure to meet and talk with you both, hope to see you again.

Linda & Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We just got home from a 5 day stay at this lovely B&B. We went with my sister and her husband who have gone several times before. First of all Ray and Linda who own and run this hotel are such genuine and good people. We could not have asked for better hosts. Every morning we had a delicious homemade breakfast while we watched the ocean. Our room was very clean and and beautiful! We stayed in the Garden Room that has a private garden patio attached to it. All of the grounds are beautifully maintained with gorgeous gardens. We watched stunning sunsets every night. There is a restaurant next door called Surfs Up ran by their daughter Leann. She is the Chef and we never ate anything that wasn't unique and delicious. We would definitely recommend this small and personal hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CindyLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
1.3 km away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
8.4 km away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#12 of 80 in Mazatlan
695 reviews
15.3 km away
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
#17 of 80 in Mazatlan
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,854 reviews
14 km away
Las 7 Maravillas
Las 7 Maravillas
#2 of 52 in Mazatlan
120 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
#11 of 80 in Mazatlan
3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Mazatlan

Been to El Sol La Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sol La Vida

Address: Avenida Ernesto Coppel # 520 | Nuevo Mazatlan, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range: $196 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Sol La Vida 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The translation of 'El Sol La Vida' is: The Sun The Life. That's what you get when you visit us! We offer a luxury Bed and Breakfast directly on the beach overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We are in a secluded bay, where you can stroll for miles along the seashore. Each room has its own private entrance. Mazatlan has a lot to offer those seeking adventure, relaxation, or a romantic getaway. Our Boutique Resort is an oasis for the perfect vacation on Mexico's Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your El Sol La Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing