We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,928)
Filter reviews
2,928 results
Traveller rating
1,996
694
164
54
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,996
694
164
54
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews iguana pool water taxi free shuttle one bedroom suite shuttle service jose luis golden zone time share other resorts the entire staff main restaurant all inclusive package special thanks city tour all inclusive plan fitness center timeshare presentation
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 2,928 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We just got back from a great week at El Cid Marina Resort. We have stayed at many nice resorts with our timeshare but this one was very nice. We did the elite all-inclusive and had everything at our disposal. Really worth the extra few bucks!

Our unit was a three bedroom unit (#603) and then we also booked another unit (#604) since we had 8 people and we wanted beds for everyone. From the time we got there to the time we left we were catered to and they met every need. The staff was exceptional in every way. We enjoyed calling room service the night before and had breakfast delivered every morning and it was right on time and just as we had ordered it. We ordered beer and wine to have in the units after dinner so we could enjoy it while playing cards. The room service staff was great. Especially, Alfonzo and Jesus.

We enjoyed the pool with the swim up bar and stools the most and had excellent service with Jose Juan ( we nicknamed him JJ). I even left a Trip Advisor pin for JJ since he gave excellent service. The food was very good and they made accommodations by adding peppers to the pico for us. We tried the other pool one day and the water was cooler and the service was very good but it got crowded with more children in the afternoon. The food was very good there also, and had some different items.

We tried a different restaurant each night and reservations this time of year were no problem. We found that like most places we had things we liked to eat and some we did not like. For example at the Mexican restaurant, the mahi mahi was not like any other mahi we had eaten. It was extremely strong tasting so we ate more shrimp sopapillas at the food bar they had. That was the best thing we ate there. At the Italian, the Argentinian, The Terrace and the La Marina restaurants the tuna was outstanding. La Marina has a very good variety and you can choose from the menu or each night there is a themed buffet. We all decided the food at La Marina was our favorite and we had excellent service from Hiram (not sure I spelled that right). He was one of the best waiters and brought us things to try and made good suggestions. Gave us an extra bottle of wine to take back to the room for card playing each night. We left a TA pin for excellence for him, too. Another wonderful waiter was Victor at the Terrace location.

The rooms we had were kept immaculately clean. The maids were very friendly and we never worried about leaving things out. There was a safe in each room for valuables. The cleaning ladies were appreciative of any food we left them. They provided service each day and came some nights to turn the beds down even though it was not necessary.

The golf carts to take you around the resort were easily accessible and not hard to get. The shuttles to the other resorts were the same way. Walking around the resorts was easy, too. Looking at the other resorts when we visited them we all decided that other reviewers were right and the Marina location was the nicer resort and cleaner one overall. It was more quiet and calm.

We did do the timeshare tour so our group could get a better rate on the all-inclusive fee each day. We also each got the city tour which was nice and our return trip to the airport. We already have 2 timeshares and Tony was very good to give us the information and show us around. We just did not need another one and are not ready to do anything with membership at this time. What he presented was actually worth considering which we may do soon. He said we could call him when we were ready and he really did a nice job understanding our situation and what we already have.

The beach....went over one day by the shuttle boat provided. It was just too hot to sit out there even though there were palapas for shade so we came back after 2 hours to the pool. Good waiters and bar service there. Saw 3 weddings over there from our room in the evenings. Sunsets are gorgeous!

All in all, the week flew by and we were sad to leave. As far as friendly, neat and clean, and great food El Cid Marina is one of the best resorts we have been to. Yes, we would return. I was sorry to read Anne from Oregon's remarks as we did not have the same experience. Judge for yourself as most of the remarks are very good.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaccaFan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCIDRESORTS, Director General at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Wow! Such an awesome feedback about your vacation in Mazatlan. Thank you for sharing your experience with us through Trip Advisor regarding your stay at el Cid Marina.

We appreciate to hear that all our staff attended to all of your expectations and made of your vacation something unforgettable. Be assured they will receive a recognition for their good efforts.

Comments like yours motivate us to always try to improve the quality of our service, and it is very good to know that you enjoyed our facilities and services around.

Our objective is to always provide the best service to our guests, so reading this kind of comments makes us realize that we are doing a great job.

We will be awaiting your return the next time you visit Mazatlan and look forward to welcome you to El Cid Marina once again.

Kind Regards,
Isaías Gomez
General Manaer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

This resort had the feeling of being a go-to spot for the locals on a long weekend. I felt like an outsider. The kids completely overran the pools and the restaurants. Most of the food served buffet style was no better than cafeteria fare. Upgrading the all inclusive just gave you the option of having a steak which was really hit or miss. Highlight was the omelet station. Rooms were ok. Boat ride to get to the beach was a nuisance. The dreaded timeshare presentation was just as awful as ever. While we were getting into the cab to go home, 4 soldiers with automatic weapons arrived & entered the hotel! I would not ever go back to El CID, Marina

Room Tip: No ocean views available, just marina.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, Director General at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear you’re disappointed with your recent stay at El Cid Marina. For the I can read we miss the opportunity to meet your expectations.

I regret to know that you have found our hotel very loud this time due to our group of graduated kids which are having a special time in El Cid La Marina.

In other hand it is a shame to know your confusion with the soldiers with our Transportation of Securities, aimed at transporting, safeguarding, and handling securities. We would like to know about your discomfort when you still here with us. In this way we would able to clear up any issue.

We are looking forward to restored your trust in us and host you once again in a not too distant future.

Respectfully,

Isaías Gómez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Beautiful resort! There were three different properties we had access to.
Huge one bedroom unit.
Very friendly staff. Very nice upscale restaurant. They sang "Happy Anniversary" to us and sent over complimentary dessert. Had great time!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DEBORA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCIDRESORTS, Director General at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Mrs. Deborah,

We are very happy to hear such an awesome comment regarding your Anniversary celebration at el Cid Marina.

Thank you very much for sharing your review with us through Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to see you coming back soon.

Kind Regards,
Isaías Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

My wife and I stayed at the El Cid Marina Beach Hotel for a week. We've stayed at a number of nice, high-end resorts, including timeshare resorts. So, it goes without saying that we are familiar with the whole selling promotional routine. Having said that, El Cid is the absolute WORST in terms of sales pressure!!!
The sales people camp out in the middle of the hotel lobby from early morning until evening. Guests pretty much have to go through the lobby every day to get to the concierge, to go to breakfast at La Terraza, leave the premises, etc.. They are like SHARKS seeking whom they may devour!
If you can avoid the sharks (and that will take some doing), El Cid Marina Beach Hotel can be a nice place to stay.
The hotel rooms are adequate, although I wouldn't rate them any higher than mid-range in terms of quality. In fact, we changed rooms because the first room was unacceptable in terms of upkeep and cleanliness... that took two days!
The beach is not worth the short boat ride. Lots of trash (plastics, cigarette butts, napkins) and the water was infested with jellyfish... we were warned by our waiter not to go into the water.
There are two pools and they are nice. The El Calypso and Iguanas snack bars are excellent in terms of poolside food and the wait staff work extremely hard to ensure everyone gets first-rate service. In fact, so many stood out, that it would be unfair to note any particular waiter over the others!
We did purchase the all-inclusive meal plan at a very reasonable rate. We were pleased with both the food selections and quality.
WiFi is NOT included and must be purchased separately... it is a rip-off.
Mazatlan itself was a fun city, but undergoing a lot of construction in the downtown area. We signed up for the City Tour and we also took the bus out on our own. We never felt safer.
The bottom line... we'd rather spend our time and money staying at other resorts!

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before agreeing to check-in... quality of the rooms varies!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCIDRESORTS, Director General at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Mr. Ronald,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent vacations in Mazatlan. It is through guest reviews such as yours that we can assess the standards of our service, and therefore make changes, so as to meet and exceed your expectations.

As soon as I read the issues you had during your stay I get back to the departments involved in order to make the improvements necessaries in the service.

We are thankful for the opportunity to continue to improve every day and we would hope that you would reconsider coming back to stay with us when your plans might bring you to Mazatlan again in the future.

If so, I would ask that you let me know prior to your arrival so I may welcome you personally and ensure that you have the vacation experience that our hotel is known for.

Sincerely,
Isaías Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

This excursion was amazing! A full day of sun, swimming, food and drinks. Even though we couldn't swim in the ocean because of rough seas, the pool was awesome and made up for it! The pool was designed for "simulated" cliff diving. It had an area for non-swimmers, i.e., shallow pool, and a pool for the more adventurous with 9 feet of water and caves. The beach is one one side of the resort and the pool is a short water taxi to the pool. I only wished that the buffet was also available on the pool side...it's only available on the beach side of the resort. But I do have to add...my son was starving after a day at the pool, and when we were back on the beach side and all the food was being put away, the servers came through and made him an amazing plate of food! Way to go El Cid! Definitely a gem of a resort in an area that has been hit really hard in the years past.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Indira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCIDRESORTS, Director General at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Cruiser,

We are more than glad to read such an awesome feedback regarding your excursion to el Cid during your stay in Mazatlan.

Thank you very much for sharing your comments through Trip Advisor and to let us be part of your experience.

We hope to have the pleasure to attend you the next time you travel here.

Kind Regards,
Isaías Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews