We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience...full of cockroaches!”
Review of Hotel Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Star
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Manzanillo
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Ok ppl here goes... Keep as far away as you can from this hotel as we payed for the room for 3 day stay the 1st room they gave was full of cockroaches... So then they offered another room because they wouldn't give me my money back as I wanted to go to a different hotel... We went to the 2nd room they offered and it was even worst, then they offered the 3rd room which I must say was ok (no cockroaches) it was a bungalow (2 rooms/kitchen and patio) but there was NO hot water/no telephone and the AC was leaking over the beds... This happened during my 3 day stay at this horrible hotel and the last day they didn't want to give me my 100$ deposit back but I made sure I got it as I asked for the manager and they said he wasn't available so I asked for the complaint book as soon as I did they returned my deposit, and I left that horrible hotel.. Made sure I didn't have any cockroaches in my bags.. (After all that I had to pay a difference of 700$ pesos on top of 2,250$
That I had originally deposited for the 3 night stay)

I hope whom ever reads this stays away from Hotel Star!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We own a vacation home in Manzanillo and had some unexpected construction issues that forced us out of our own home for the night. We searched around but found the other places to be too expensive for what we needed and ended up finding Hotel Star and is what exactly what we expected in an inexpensive beach hotel. Yes it is a bit worn down and yes things are corroded as is most things on the beach BUT it was clean, quiet and the price was very fair for what you got. For a short term stay or in crunch we would stay there again.

Room Tip: You are welcome to ask to see the room before you pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darrell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The place is not very good for a hotel. The hotel is very in need of repair, we were there for one night in transit. Taking a shower was not nice, old and rusty. Nice clean bed linen. The restaurant of this level is very inflated prices. Not recommended, but you decide.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank doberoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Bussing from Acapulco to Puerto Vallarta, we stayed one night in Manzanillo. Our taxi driver brought us to this hotel "Bueno ma no caro", and it was exactly that. We paid 700 MXN for a night, enjoyed a very good pizza in the pizzeria across the street, had a good night's sleep, thanks to the quiet area and the waves just out our window and got on the bus the next day to continue our trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol140783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayce2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Zar Manzanillo
Hotel Zar Manzanillo
#26 of 52 in Manzanillo
60 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#10 of 52 in Manzanillo
127 reviews
5.5 km away
Hotel La Posada
Hotel La Posada
#11 of 52 in Manzanillo
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Costa Brava Hotel
Costa Brava Hotel
#32 of 52 in Manzanillo
25 reviews
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
4.2 km away
Pez Vela Hotel
Pez Vela Hotel
#15 of 52 in Manzanillo
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Star

Address: Avenida General Lazaro Cardenas 1313, Manzanillo 28218, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Manzanillo
Price Range: $57 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Star 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing