We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,707)
Filter reviews
5,707 results
Traveller rating
2,713
1,968
673
217
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,713
1,968
673
217
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snorkel beach mar section the mexican restaurant belly dancer middle beach a la carte restaurants fish main beach la crucecita el mexicano secret beach main bar bella vista club med tennis courts snack bar bird watching
Filter
Updating list...
428 - 433 of 5,707 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Our experience at Las Brisas was excellent. Service was impeccable, the rooms well appointed and all the amenities top notch. The Buffet experiences (any meal) were beyond our expectations, fresh, plentiful, varied. We had one dinner at the Kasbah Moroccan restaurant and it was very nicely decorated, great ambiance and food amazing. The only meal we didn't really enjoy was at the Solarium grill. Meats were vastly undercooked, service was slow and the food was just not as good as the other places. I would recommend attending the dinner Buffet instead of Solarium. All the other restaurants were good quality and great service. I will definitely visit this hotel again. The value for your money is amazing. Don't forget to order the tamarind margarita by the pool, it's the stuff of dreams!
Oh, I wish the hotel had an ATM, getting cash can be tricky having to take a cab into town.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank danid00dle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

Everyone is treated equally whether you are from Mexico or outside of Mexico. People friendlyness makes this hotel a 5 star. The building is not quite what we see in a 4 star hotel in the US but is supper clean and has a great genuine service. we had the best view of the hotel. The building was called "mar" the whole facility has a forest which majes the experience so unique. The beaches with cristal clear water and a small but very rich coral reef. My 8 years old and I were loving snorkeling every day possible (some times the tide is low and you can't swim over the reef or the water is not everyday all clear, still clear enough for kids to get exited) the buffet restaurant and the Arabic restaurant by far the best. The Mediterranean restaurant food was not all that good) but they were willing to make all possible to give us a good service. The size of area managed by the hotel is considerably big and it's very handy (specially during hot days) to use the internal fee transportation (golf carts or small vans) however this is the only down side.... they try to respect and keep the peace with nature but the gas and slmell the carts leave behind is oposite to their care for nature. The same with the motor jets and jets skis or whatever is called. That is hurting nature and I am surprise they allow it. Hotel is low 4 star, food is great, location is the best (safe to swim opposite to all other hotels where you hardly saw someone at the beach) in the bay and food and people one of the best experience I have had. Even better than my previous top location: Hawaii

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank marianadR8433MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

Section 1: Introduction

Our family usually attends Club Med each winter, either Cancún or Ixtapa. For this year, we decided to try something new by visiting Las Brisas Huatulco.

We were partially swayed by the fact that this resort is a former Club Med. The ratings in this review mainly are a comparison of this resort against Ixtapa and Cancun Club Med resorts.

We attended Las Brisas Huatulco on an all-inclusive package and as a part of the Brisas Beach Club.

Section 2: Food

Overall: 1/5

Main Buffet: 2/5
Solarium: 1/5
Mexican: 2/5
Moroccan: 1/5
Mediterranean: 2/5
Desserts: 0/5

Food ranged between average and below average. The speciality restaurants were fairly poor, and the only restaurant that could be considered average or above average was the Mexican restaurant. The food at the Moroccan restaurant was good, and it had a neat cultural feel, however a few of our party seemed to get sick from this restaurant. Mediterranean restaurant was hit and miss, definitely good in some places, but two of our party felt sick after the dinner, hence the rating.

In terms of deserts, we were a bit disappointed. Some of the cakes and pies were rubbery, and there were other similar issues with the other desserts.

If you come here, I would recommend getting most of your food from the "made to order" section of each buffet. This tended to be better than the standard buffet food.

Section 3: Weather

Overall: 5/5

Sun: 5/5
Temperature: 5/5

The weather in Huatulco is excellent. I heard from a local that there are only two seasons; the wet season and the dry season. The dry season starts towards the end of December. This is when we attended the resort, and the weather was excellent. There was full sun for our entire stay.

The average temperature throughout the year in Huatulco is 32° Celsius. We experienced this kind of weather, which was great.

Section 4: Staff

Overall: 4/5

Food and Bar Staff: 5/5
Activities Staff: 3/5

Staff seemed to overall be quite good. The activities staff, however, especially in terms of water sports, were on occasion a bit lazy and rude, but this wasn't extremely common. If you have been at a Club Med before, just don't expect the dedication and personal relationships that one develops with the GOs, with the staff at this resort.

Food and bar staff tended to be excellent. They were very helpful and friendly.

Section 4: Facilities

Overall: 4/5

Washrooms: 5/5
Guest Rooms: 3/5
Beaches: 4/5
Pools: 5/5
WiFi: 3/5
Transportation: 5/5
Gym: 5/5

Washrooms and Guest Rooms were very clean. No complaints there.

Views of the ocean from some rooms, particularly in the "Mar" section, were great. The ocean views from the 3 main beaches consist largely of the bay and other resorts, rather than open ocean. The 4th beach, Secret Beach, has open ocean views but is small and not suitable for swimming. The beaches overall are a little bit small, but are secluded from the public and were quite good.

In terms of pools, we mainly stayed by the adult pool, which was great. There are 3 other pools too. There is an activities pool with basketball hoops that looked to be a hit, and a main pool that was good too. There is also a kids club pool that we did not visit.

WiFi is available at the reception, main pool areas, and some of the beaches. We also had WiFi in our room with decent speed, although the WiFi does not reach all rooms. The WiFi was free.

There is a transportation service consisting of small go-cart like trucks that run 24 hours a day. We only used these carts when transporting our suitcases, but they seem to work well and be readily available.

Section 5: Night Life

Overall: 2/5

Energy Levels: 2/5
Shows: 2/5
Activities: 0/5
Bar: 4/5

The night life seemed to be a bit low-energy during our stay.

We only saw one section of one show, but it seemed as if it wasn't too great. Only take my show rating with a grain of salt, however, as we didn't see any of the other shows. There aren't many other night-time activities, but there is sometimes a band or a DJ and some dancing.

Section 6: Daily Activities

Overall: 3/5

Water Sports (Except Snorkelling): 4/5
Snorkelling: 1/5
Everything Else: 4/5

There are several activities to be done during the day. However, the activities (especially snorkelling) are not always open because of tide conditions. There was nothing necessarily wrong with the snorkelling, although it was open none of the seven days we were here. Therefore, we gave it a low value and encourage you to bring your own snorkelling gear. When things are open, though, the activities are great.

The "Everything Else" category was given one star off as the resort was missing some activities such as Trapeze, Archery, and Water Skiing that some Club Meds have.

Section 7: Conclusion

This resort is overall good, and if you come with enough people you can have a good time (during the day). The night isn't so great, as outlined above.

If you'd like a resort where you can sit on the beach or by the pool, perhaps do a few activities, and if you're not at all picky about food, this could be a good place for you. Just be sure to consider everything that I, along with all the other reviewers, have stated before making your decision.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisas H, Public Relations Manager at Las Brisas Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

It is always interesting to find out about the opinions shared by our guests, relative to living the experience of visiting our facilities, we truly take it as a big opportunity to understand the several ways to enhance our performance , so we thank you very much for sharing your impressions, we´ll make the best use of them so we can improve our many services. We most clear that, about the snorkeling service schedule, it is true that, due safety matters-low tide, black flag, etc..- sometimes, there is a restricted use of the area, but it is completelly untrue that, we close the activities in this particular área, for a seven days period of time.
Nevertheless, it is fair to point at the fact of how pretentious and capricious your judgement can be, by finally thinking that any potential user of our services most consider your personal statements, in order to properly decide, the best way to choose a resort to visit.
The comparison with Club Med it´s nonsense, we are a resort with a very own identity, and we have never claimed to offer what a Club Med offers or used to offer, so, most of your comments appear to be mercurial and subjective.
We can only expect that every person can determine and choose, according with their very own criteria, wich place or destination ,would be convenient to keep in mind.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Overall the hotel is a very nice place, the service of the staff is excellent, and the food is excellent.
Downsides: The main bar and the main pool area are full of flies, bees and mosquitoes that would bother/annoy you while zipping on your drink or swim. It would cost nothing to buy insect zapper lights and install them around the area.

The breakfast restaurant closes at 11, the snack opens at 12 it would be nice if it opens at 11 so no gaps.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Eduardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Had to move from first room to the main floor. Would like to stay on third or fourth
floor but. The main floor where we were so real close to every thing and worked
out very well we were a lot closer to every thig to go to.
We actually went the last week of Feb. and the first week of March 2016. I'd book the middle of Feb. It was so hot. I liked it my wife sad it's to hot. Had a great time.

Room Tip: book room third or fourth floor view is real nice
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amschultz2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews