We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Place to Vacation!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayan Palace Acapulco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayan Palace Acapulco
Ranked #7 of 179 Hotels in Acapulco
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Place to Vacation!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I just returned from a 7-day trip to Acapulco with my wife, after a week at the Mayan Palace in Cancun, we decided to try Acapulco this year. This was our first visit to Acapulco, and we liked it, better than Los Cabos and Cancun, the town has more history and there is a lot to do and see. The rooms were well furnished, extremely clean, new, and very comfortable.
The grounds are immaculate, Twice daily maid service. Huge Bathroom wonderful when there are two of you.The staff was so attentive and is willing to help you with anything. We have been to many resorts in many sections of Mexico and we felt the food was much better than average. There is a 18-hole, par 72 course, is surrounded by lush landscapes with exuberant palm trees and lakes. We are not golfers, but we saw a few golfers that braved the 90-degree heat and 90% relative humidity. Only bad thing is it is not on Ocean. The pool was outstanding, never a problem finding lounge chairs like other resorts we have stayed at.
I do suggest you contact Sebastian Hernandez www.acapulcoforall.com for travel arrangements in Acapulco.This was a great idea, based on trip advisor reviews we emailed him a few nights before we left, he answered very quickly afterward and was extraordinarily accommodating. He met us at the airport with a sign with our names on it. Super easy! The city tour was wonderful. He fulffilled on all his promises that he made us. You won't know what to do and where to do it until you see the city. I highly recommend using his services while in Acapulco. Sebastian give us a taste of the real Mexico and went out of his way to secure reservations, made sure we had the best view and meals. We went to some cool restaurants at his recommendation Esmirina´s Restaurant: Absolutely wonderful Seafood right on the beach and Las Tortugas Restaurant, he took us there and it was the best Mexican food. Not a fancy elegant atmosphere, but frequented by the people from Acapulco. The restaurant was small, clean and decorated with Mexican colors and art. I decided to try carne enchilada and garlic shrimp, the carne enchilada was delicious and the shrimp were perfectly cooked as was the very tasty fresh spinach and rice on my plate
All in all, We had the wonderful and relaxing vacation at a beautiful resort that I would recommend to anyone. We would go back to Acapulco again........and book Sebastian as our tour guide again as well!

Room Tip: Try to get a pool side view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    302
    76
    57
    62
See reviews for
350
193
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My boyfriend and I went to Acapulco and stayed at the Mayan Palace for 7 days - It was incredible! All of the staff were incredibly friendly and very attentive. The hotel was very clean and had very prompt shuttle service to the Grand Mayan for beach access(3 min drive). Happy hour is a must and is frequent! Acapulco is both beautiful and safe, we got to see the best of it thanks to our driver Baldo Gomez. I would highly recommend his services. Baldo is a certified tour guide and speaks English fluently. Most importantly, Baldo has resort access, unlike many other tour guides, Baldo can pick you up right at the resort instead of having to walk to an exit gate. He took us on a fabulous city tour including lunch at the cliff divers, Diego Rivera mural, and the Chapel of Peace. A couple days later we also did a snorkeling excursion which was very fun! I suggest getting in touch with Baldo ahead of time and he will be happy to get you at the airport, take you to the grocery store etc. -he is very accommodating. baldo-work@hotmail.com


Acapulco is amazing and was all the vacation I had hoped for.... although I could have stayed a few extra days.

Room Tip: Go for the master suite! It's excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

My wife and I stayed 7 nights at the Mayan Palace, following a luxurious week at the Grand Mayan in Nuevo Vallarta (Puerto Vallarta nearby). With an ocean view, the MP was a spectacular way to awake each day. We had no complaints about the service, being treated extremely well by one and all, especially the doormen and shuttle drivers.
To spend a morning at the beach, right in front of our building (150 yards or so away, where you can buy gifts from the beach sales people at inexpensive prices), then eat outdoors poolside, and culminate the day with a relaxing visit to the first-class spa (steam room, sauna, hot pool, etc.) was sheer pleasure. We got spoiled!
Finally, the breakfast buffet is well worth it..one of the best ever.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JordanRab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

My friends and I (young professionals) just got back from a week stay at the Mayan Palace and loved every minute. We were all there to simply relax, laugh, have a few drinks, and get tan. The hotel is impeccably clean, has landscaping that makes youthink you are living in a tropical garden, and the suite had more than enough space and amenities to meet all of our needs. And we could drink the water!

Another highlight of the resort is how friendly and hospitable all of the staff are, including activity directory, Salvador (hilarious), the doorman, Raul, and our driver for the week, RICARDO ALVAREZ! We were lucky enough to have Ricardo be the driverthat picked us up from the airport, and we liked him so much, we asked him to show us around the city and drive us back to the airport at the end of the week. He's a very funny guy and we enjoyed practicing our Spanish with him. As 5 women, we felt 100% safewith him and everywhere he took us, including shops and restaurants in the downtown area.

If you are traveling to Acapulco, stay at the Mayan Palace and request RICARDO ALVAREZ to be your driver/guide during your stay!

Room Tip: We had a room that overlooked the pools and greenery - BEAUTIFUL - and at night we would watch the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Mayan Palace for our honeymoon, and loved the experience. The hotel was beautiful and very clean, and almost everyone there speaks English. It's close to the beach, and we loved being able to use the shuttle to visit the Grand Mayan as well. Our driver was Baldo Gomez, and he was AWESOME! We were recommended to him by many other reviews on this site, and he lived up to all our highest expectations. He is a professional tour guide and speaks English fluently. We emailed him ahead of time, and he was waiting at the airport for us when we arrived. He drove us anywhere we needed to go while we were there, and was able to recommend some great places for eating and sightseeing. He also took us on a day-long tour of Acapulco, which was FABULOUS! We enjoyed spending that day with him and seeing the sights so much! Highly recommend him, the resort, and Acapulco to anyone. It was a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dancingtexancowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.5 km away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.6 km away
Princess Mundo Imperial
Princess Mundo Imperial
#10 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
7.2 km away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 179 in Acapulco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
6.0 km away
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
#3 of 179 in Acapulco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
8.4 km away
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Grand Hotel Acapulco
#16 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Acapulco

Property: Mayan Palace Acapulco
Address: Avenida Del Palmar 1121 | Playa Diamante, Acapulco 39900, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
#6 Family Hotel in Acapulco
#7 Luxury Hotel in Acapulco
Price range (per night): $241 - $372
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayan Palace Acapulco 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mayan Palace Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
Acapulco Mayan Palace
Mayan Palace Hotel Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing