We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a cool place to have Breakfast”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Start your day out right excellent coffee to start the atmosphere, the music played, the waiter all added to the perfect breakfast I had the French toast with fruit it was marvellous. We will be returning for breakfast before we leave our Cabo San Lucas vacation

Room Tip: Service and value were excellent and atmosphere was awesome
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank arlenem18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2017

Selected Chili Rellenos with shrimp and scallops - just super! Wonderful combination. And great beer and wine.

Very popular tourist spot by looking at the crowd.

The town is great for walking around - must visit the Church.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank billmor107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

3 visits to the restaurant within 7 months and I can comfortably say that I have no desire to return Sure, it's cool to say you went there, but a simple walk through the (Harassing) gift shop & walk through the back patio is sufficient.

I've done 2 breakfasts & 1 lunch at the restaurant. Cinnamon rolls are great when they are available. Fresh, warm & just the right size for a small snack. Other breakfast items are fine. Do-able, but nothing extraordinary. Staff was attentive, but constantly want to add things to your order, upselling - we get it.
Lunch.......pretty bad. Group of 5 of us all got different things & no one finished anything. The worst was the mole. It was AWFUL. Strips of white chicken meat (Same ones used for Fajitas) just doused in Mole sauce. We had to ask for an order of tortillas to go with the Fajitas.....strange. And the pasta dish was overcooked.

The hotel does have a private guarded lot that you can park in for "free". During my last visit the guard said to us "You have to tip me now if you want your car guarded" So I happily parked on the street. I have NO PROBLEM tipping the lot attendant after my visit somewhere, I have NO PROBLEM paying for parking, but I have a problem with a demand of a tip. I asked him if the hotel paid him to watch the lot, he said "Barely", understandable. I let the front desk know of the demands & the staff there seemed embarrassed. He had the hotel Manager come find me during my meal & I explained the situation. The hotel manager just shrugged and stated "So, he's guarding it. I don't see a problem"

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kiddme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

This little mexican town is quite picturesque and the Hotel California is a downtown landmark. They have expanded the hotel by adding a gift shop, bar, and center plaza. The last time that we visited this place, it was located on a dirt road; now, everything is paved and built up. Great break from the congestion of Cabo San Lucas.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We went 7 friends to pass the day. It is beautiful, quaint and gorgeous. We got to see a couple of the rooms and they are super and for the price one of the best deals I have seen. We stayed for lunch and it was magnificent. The staff is a 10. After that we went to the shops at the hotel and I bought gifts for the wife. She loved it. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todos Santos
1.6 km away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
370 reviews
0.3 km away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
277 reviews
0.3 km away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
75 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#7 of 8 in Todos Santos
23 reviews
0.7 km away
Pension California
Pension California
#28 of 39 in La Paz
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: Benito Juarez e/ Morelos y Marquez de Leon | Col. Centro, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price Range: $96 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the original Hotel California.... We invite you to experience the mystique of this world-renowned hotel located in the charming colonial town of Todos Santos. Just a 45 minute drive from Cabo San Lucas along the newly paved coastal Highway 19, the hotel is now easily accessible...Rated #7 emerging destination in the world - Tripadvisor 2010. Hotel California is a HOTEL not a B&B... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Todos Santos
California Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing