We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place Very Close to the Border”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Tijuana
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good Place Very Close to the Border”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

I stayed one night at the Hotel Pueblo Amigo to try their casino and also to do some shopping. If you want to stay in a decent place in Tijuana but want to be super safe and near the border, this is where you should go. The best way to get there is to just walk across the border, follow easy directions, and 10 minutes later you will be at the hotel. You can also drive (it will take you less than 2 minutes after crossing the border), but then you will have to deal with the auto line going back.

This is a good 4-star hotel. There are only 120 or so rooms, it looks larger from the outside but there are only rooms on 2 sides of the hotel, the other 2 sides are walls. My standard King room was on the 5th floor with a decent city view through a very large window. Nothing was wrong with the room at all, the WiFi worked great. I read on TripAdvisor that the rooms might be noisy, but I was there on a Friday night and I could hear very little noise outside the room. I reserved the room on their website and paid about $85 which included breakfast and WiFi.

There is a fine casino in the hotel with hundreds of slot machines and also a few table games like blackjack. There are smoking and non-smoking casino rooms. To be honest I didn't come away a winner, but I still had fun and met some new friends.

There is also a sports book on-site which seemed to cover all major sports.

The buffet breakfast was first class with lots of selections (both Mexican and American) and very good food.

The main drawback to staying here is that although it's close to the border, it isn't near a lot of action other than what's in the hotel. There's an area next door called Pueblo Amigo which at one time was home to many restaurants, clubs, and shopping, but now it's more like a ghost town with 80-90% of the stores empty. There are a few businesses open but they cater to the locals. The best place within walking distance is a "Ley" supermarket which has good liquor buys. I bought a liter of Kahlua there for less than $10 - WAY less than the "tourist" liquor stores in Tijuana.

I felt very safe in the hotel and in the few blocks around it. I wasn't hassled at all and everyone was friendly. But I didn't venture much further. The next morning it was a short walk back to the border, maybe 10-15 minutes, and the waiting line was ONLY 10 minutes long (vs. 60-90 minutes for cars!)

This is a high quality hotel and they cater to Americans. Everyone speaks English and is very friendly. Although I didn't win anything in the casino, that won't deter me from coming back again.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the less noise from the casino below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorganClub, General Manager at Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Thank you for your review, we hope it gives others a clear idead of our services and location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    40
    33
    8
    10
See reviews for
31
32
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Not a bad place to stay. I felt safe, and rooms were clean. But maybe a bit expensive for what it is. Valet Parking is nice. Hotel is in a decent area, but driving in Tijuana is a bit crazed. It's not far from the border but complicated unless you know the way. Beware the roundabouts at night. WiFi worked well. I thought the experience was ok, but nothing elegant or high class. Restaurant was ok, but ordering a club sandwich was a mistake. It seemed they dumped a bunch of leftover meat into the sandwich. Though i have no major complaints about the hotel, I don't think I will return. Maybe something else with some character.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TakkoTakko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Rooms are spacious but outdated. Bed and pillow selection is good. Hot water is slow and shower needs to be run for some time.
Transport is required as there are no facilities within walking distance. Breakfast is good if buffet. The casino does not cause noise in the room.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Park7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

While the Hotel was outstanding and wheelchair friendly the staff were absolutely amazing. Very helpful and would do anything possible to help make your stay more comfortable. As we were there for Stem Cell Treatment the staff arranged transport for us to go anywhere we wished as the footpaths were not wheelchair friendly. The food was top class, the room was clean and tidy and the Mexican people could not have been any nicer. The manager and his son were extremely helpful and friendly and went out of their way to greet us every day. Would definitely go back at the drop of a hat!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JemmyRaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed here whilst in TJ in July. Although the person at the desk initially had issues confirming our expedia reservation and then organizing us a room, he apologized and told us he had upgraded us (not true, we received exactly what we had originally booked). All of the staff were friendly and there is a small casino inside the hotel. Approximately a $8 taxi ride to revolution avenue and a couple of dollars to the border.
The food was ok but we were overcharged for breakfast buffet that was not that great.
Keep US dollars as everything is more expensive when actually using paso's.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calebmondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#3 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
#5 of 46 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.6 km away
B my Hotel
B my Hotel
#12 of 46 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
3.2 km away
Grand Hotel Tijuana
Grand Hotel Tijuana
#13 of 46 in Tijuana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino

Property: Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
Address: Calle Via Oriente 9211 | Zona del Rio, Tijuana 22010, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tijuana
Price range (per night): $116 - $163
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pueblo Amigo Plaza Hotel & Casino is ideally situated in the exclusive Zona Río, part of the most important commercial and financial area in the city of Tijuana. It is the closest hotel to the U.S. border and is within minutes of strategic points such as Tijuana's International Airport and the city of San Diego.Hotel Pueblo Amigo boasts the famous "El Patio Restaurant" its daily breakfast buffet is traditional and well renown by locals. The prpperty offers unique in-house entertainment featuring a Sports Center, Casino and gaming rooms. High Technology is also available with WiFi In-Rooms and most public areas. We are happy to provide many other amenities including: a bilingual staff, private parking, round-the-clock security, Meeting and Banquet Rooms and a free shuttle to the U.S. border. Near the Hotel, there are two of the main hottest spots for dancing and enjoying the music of the moment, Alebrijes and Pasha! the best antros as of today, only at Pueblo Amigo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza Tijuana
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza And Casino
Pueblo Amigo Hotel
Pueblo Amigo Tijuana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing