We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a spectactular stay”
Review of Sukasa Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loreto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sukasa Bungalows
San Francisco, California
1 review
“a spectactular stay”
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Our stay at the Sukasa Bungalows could not have been more enjoyable. Right on the Malecon, the place is across the street from the Sea of Cortez. Our two hosts, Joyce and Beth, were attentive and helpful without getting in the way. Our place was airy and light, clean and cheerful. One night, we joined our hosts and fellow guest for a wonderful dinner cooked by Carmen, who takes care of the rooms. The three cats that run the place are a perfect antidote for travelers who have to leave their cats behind and need a feline fix!
Joyce and Beth let us borrow a couple of bikes, which we made good use of riding around town and along the water. This is the best place to stay in lovely Loreto!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heydagny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    14
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
25
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

After meeting Joyce while in Mulege, we soon decided to stay at Sukasa while on a small trip down to Loreto. This was definitely one of the best decisions we made on that trip! The casita was nice and cozy with a roomy bathroom and little kitchen. We loved lounging in the garden and looking out at the malecon which is right in front of the bungalows. With Joyce's help we were even able to set up a surprise birthday party for a new friend in the garden complete with a mariachi band. Though the internet seemed to not work on our laptop other people staying there were able to pick it up. Overall, we had a great time at Sukasa and even stayed an extra night because we didnt want to leave. Thank you so much for a wonderful trip. We cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

After closing up our home in the East Cape of Baja, we were looking for
a place to relax before our long trip north. Thank you Joyce, you provided
just that! We enjoyed the grounds so much as we lounged around the
gardens.

We were not disturbed by the malecon noise of the tradition weekend cruisers.
With the bedroom, bathroom door closed and air conditioner going, we
were undisturbed.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank benjamin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Stayed 5 nights and loved it. Joyce is a great hostess-(by the way, we left for the airport in a big hurry and didn't have time to say goodbye, so this is our thank you and goodbye, Joyce!). Our first night was in the front unit and a bit noisy- Loretanos like to drive up and down the Malecon with radios blaring on Sat and Sunday nights- so on our trip back we asked for a quieter unit. Joyce was great, left us earplugs in case we didn't have them but they were not needed. Our first night must have been an abberation b/c our 4 nights were just great.
The Casita is clean and cute, video player and a nice selection of videos. It is the perfect place to relax, as the photos show. There are bikes for the shopping trips to pick up supplies. There is a full (tiny) kitchen. Carmen keeps everything clean and tidy, Joyce made us a connection for a great snorkle trip with Rosa and Tito. We saw 11 whales on the way out- 6 fin and 5(!) blue whales. Very unususal but wow!
We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Beth & Joyce have managed to provide those extra little touches that make any town an enjoyable place to stay. Though Loreto is a cool little oasis on the Baja our stay at the Sukasa Bungalows was as almost as perfect as we could ask for. The only detracting factor was the occasional noisy nights on the malecon, which seems to be a local tradition and not to be trifled with.
Our hats off to the ladies and we wish them the best of success. My plans are to return to Loreto and to spend more time at Sukasa as I sure felt at home there.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loreto hotels
0.8 km away
Coco Cabanas Loreto
Coco Cabanas Loreto
#6 of 20 in Loreto
317 reviews
35.6 km away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
1.5 km away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Plaza Loreto
Hotel Plaza Loreto
#11 of 20 in Loreto
51 reviews
1.5 km away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#1 of 20 in Loreto
659 reviews
1.4 km away
Hacienda Suites
Hacienda Suites
#12 of 20 in Loreto
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sukasa Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukasa Bungalows

Property: Sukasa Bungalows
Address: Loreto, Loreto, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Loreto
Price range (per night): $86
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing