We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful place to stay in La Paz!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Front corner of main house (1890's) with 'Fortunato' the vaca
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front corner of main house (1890's) with 'Fortunato' the vaca
Happy hour! Garden entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Front corner of main house (1890's) with 'Fortunato' the vaca
Happy hour!
Garden entrance
Main house
Condition of the house in 1975
Condition of the house in 1975
Vaca sombrero, main house patio
Main house
Main house
Main house
Landmark Aramburo market across the street
Main house
Main house living room
Main house dining room
Lots of details hand made
Folk art (Main house)
Main house guitar for your enjoyment
Garden, entrance to laundry room
Main house living room furniture
Square Vaca
Main house tile work in master bedroom
Main house 6 burner stove
BBQ and fish smoking station
Garden shade
Garden
Main house patio
Main house patio
Garden
Stairs to the casita bedroom
Second bedroom opens to garden
Main house bathroom light
Main house  bathroom door to second bedroom
Main house bathroom
Main house bathroom floor light
Main house bedroom #1
Main house bedroom #1
Main house bedroom #1
Main house bedroom #1
Main house bathroom entrance from patio
Main house bathroom
Main house bathroom
Main house kitchen
Main house kitchen
Old door
Main house second bedroom
Main house second bedroom
Main house second bedroom
Main house bathroom
Main house second bedroom
Casita stencil
Casita bedroom sink
Casita bedroom shower
Blue garden wall by 120 year old Tamarind tree
Casita patio in garden
Casita bedroom bath
Casita bedroom furniture
Casita bedroom
Casita stairs
Casita bedroom etched glass
Outside living area by casita
Casita studio bathroom entrance
Casita entrance in garden
Casita looking out at garden
Casita studio bathroom mirror
Garden
Casita balcony
Casita lantern
Casita studio entrance
Casita studio kitchen
Casita bedroom bathroom entrance
Main house patio Katrina coqueta
Casita bedroom window
Casita studio bathroom windows
Fortunato the baby cow
Main house Frida
Condition of the house in 1975
Shells
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
La Paz, Baja California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lers
The heart of Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay in La Paz!!”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have been to La Paz several times. We have stayed at this location twice (last year at Casita Tamarindo). Casa de la Vaquita serves our purposes perfectly. Easy walking distance to the Malecon and tons of restaurants. The fish and meat markets are within walking distance and the market for everything you need is right across the street. Your hosts, Kevin and Christine, are highly knowledgeable about the city and outlying areas and willing to share their knowledge. The court yard is great...Our dog Willie loves it....And his Mimi and Jelly Bean (Kevin and Christine's dogs). We enjoy meeting the new "neighbors". So many interesting people! The people of La Paz are wonderful too! Come to La Paz as strangers....Leave as friends!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Not great - lacks privacy and security”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Home was fine but not as expected. The house is fun and the owners are friendly and supportive. La Paz was great as well. Our concern is the house was not private and we had slight security concerns.

This is a not what I would expect when renting a private house. This is a shared residence with people (other guests, workers, owners, etc...) coming and going daily. Mostly because the other rental had multiple renters during our stay. It could be a little uncomfortable just to go to the restroom as it enters through the shared court yard. Note that during our 2 week stay we had three sets of guests (two families and a group of friends). There were all great.

We were warned to avoid water and electricity usage upon arrival. We were ok with supporting that but quickly learned that occasionally we had zero water. Not a trickle. Other guests or cleaners washing linens or clothes was suspected as the problem.

The slight security concern was that we had someone aggressively banging on the entry door to the court yard in the middle of the night. We assume it was someone leaving the nearby bar. Unnerving as we don't speak Spanish and we realized that we had no way of calling the police if needed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
We are so sorry you did not have the best time. We try our very best to make sure all is always working fine in a house built in the 1800's! The water pump decided to act up while you were there. It got fixed immediately once the problem was identified.

La Paz does provide water to the houses everyday like in the US. This is a poor country. We depend on cisterns and a complicated system of pumps and floats. ALL of Baja is like this. Since we live in a desert, we advise all guests to be conservative with the water.

The shared courtyard is well documented on the booking web sites, being high season the occupancy of most places is 100%. Yes, there will be people in the other house.

We fortunately have not had security incidents other than the one you mentioned. Could have been someone confused about an address? Who knows.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, we take all comments very seriously and always try to improve on all we can.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stewsandi...
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best, most handy vacation rental in La Paz”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This smartly decorated, well furnished and comfortable house with a complete modern kitchen is 1.5 blocks from the Malecon, and 2 blocks from Cathedral Square. Many of the best restaurants in La Paz and amenities are within near walking distance. Across the corner is a supermarket that will grill your meat for you and next door are sold the best fresh tortillas ever!!!! The Tues & Sat. farmers market is delightful. Can't beat the location or the hosts. Christine and Kevin are charming and extremely knowledgeable of La Paz resources. If lucky, they will take you on a panga ride in the harbor (with dog Little Bean) pointing our historical and ecological landmarks. A delightful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmargar...
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and great house!”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights with our daughters and it was wonderful. The hosts were very accommodating as our arrival time changed a lot. The house is wonderful. It is in a wonderful neighborhood and your can feel a part of it. We loved it and will go back there for certain.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Host and Hostess
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jul 2015
Looking forward to see you in the winter! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 149
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing