We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If I had a home in Ensenada, this would be my...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality, Baja California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Michael R
Hillsborough, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If I had a home in Ensenada, this would be my dream location.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

If you want a posh, ritzy hotel room experience, this place is not for you. But, if you want all the comforts, facilities and space of home, friendly people, a great location, breathtaking views, and easy access to endless beaches, then this is the place you are looking for.
James was a great and friendly host who helped us with numerous questions and requests about the area. The beach bikes he made available to us were great for long relaxing rides along miles of beaches, especially at low tide.
Everything you need for entertaining a large group (we had about 20 people over for meals a couple of times) is right there in the modern, fully equipped kitchen and there’s lots of space for all your guests to spread out both inside and outside.
Speaking of outside, the gardens are great and be sure to try the ripe, tasty tomatoes if they are on the vines in the greenhouse, not to mention all the fruit trees and beautiful flowering cacti. It’s a great spot to hang around in a hammock on a sleepy summer’s afternoon.
This location is handy to Ensenada's "Little America" with all the recognizable stores such as Costco, Wal-Mart, Home Depot, and so on in the Macro-Plaza but if you want some really good pan dulce (pastries), try La Commercial Mexicana (supermarket) in the same area.
The tourist center, where all the cruise ships dock, is only 10-15 minutes away by car (or bike along the beach) and the real downtown is about the same distance but a bit further inland.
One other thing that should be considered when visiting Baja California these days is the drought. Just like California, water supplies are constrained and that has led to water rationing in many parts of Ensenada (mostly to keep irrigation flowing to the vast agricultural complexes in the area). However, James took special measures to ensure the comfort of his guests by installing a very large water cistern that kept us well supplied with all the water we needed for showers, laundry and cleaning up. Also, the large bottled water stand in the kitchen took care of all our drinking needs.
So if you want to visit a home away from home, don’t hesitate to visit James’ place. But please leave some windows of time open for us since we certainly plan to go back on our next Ensenada visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It just felt like home with so much space and comfort.
Liked least: Some of the fruit was not yet in season.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N0rma045
Corona, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ensenada Family Trip”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The home is very nice and the care takers are excellent and friendly people. The home is close to everything, La Bufadora, downtown, supermarkets, cosco, pharmacy and walking distance to Caliente Casino and the beach. The kitchen is very well equipped with everything you need. In a nice secure area and it would be a great vacation home for people with children. The two suggestion that I would give the owner is. 1.) Master bedroom door needs to be fixed so that it can open and close properly. 2.) Home needs better cleaning. We had a WONDERFUL time!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2014
Thank you for the thoughtful review. We have upgraded the mattresses. We appreciate your comments. James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AmoreeBri...
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family rental with beautiful garden!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We brought our young family to visit here and had an amazing time. The garden was a real treat - the kids loved the flowers and fruit! From this rental we travelled to Erindera for an amazing fishing trip (1.5 hours), and drove only 30 minutes to various other attractions such as La Boufadora, horse back riding, Las Canadas outdoor park, downtown shopping, and the house is a 10 minute walk to groceries, Wal-Mart and more. The caretaker and his family were amazing, we even got an invite for traditional meals like baked clams and fried fish tacos! It was nice to have all the amenities and cook our own meals for the family. The owner was very friendly and helpful as well. We would definately go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Mar 2014
This one and only negative review we have received is untimely (seven months after his stay), unfair in that the property is listed on our Flipkey page as 300 meters from the beach so there was nothing “deceptive” about how “close” it is to the beach. Our detailed description begins as follows:
Fully furnished and well equipped 3 bedroom - 1.5 bath home 300 meters from sandy beach, dunes and sea laguna ecological reserve on the Pacific Ocean - great for walking or jogging.”
As for the writer’s general broadside that the property was in “poor” condition he makes no comment about the property actually rented but complains about the appearance of the caretaker’s house. At that time we were installing a hydroponic system and some building materials were visible near the caretaker’s house. We have long since removed the hydroponic system. Our vegetable gardens are flourishing. I take our guests’ comments very seriously and I will address any complaint within my power to address.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing