We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inadequate Reservation System”
Review of Posada El Rey Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada El Rey Sol
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Ensenada
Reviewed 19 September 2017

My family and I made a reservation back in April for an upcoming trip on Labor Day. We booked 3 rooms for 8 adults. That is 5 months in advance, the week of the event came and I called to confirm my reservation and everything was fine. When we get there on Saturday they had no rooms for us, even when we arrived at noon! They said our reservation had been "hidden, misplaced" Even when I called 3 days prior to the event. This was extremely a bad situation considering the lack of hotels in Ensenada, plus it was a holiday and it was 100% booked. I told the staff I would sleep in their reception area if I was not going to be given a room. After so many attempt of demanding our place to sleep, the owner never came out to apologize or anything. We were given a room for the 8 of us with complimentary extra beds and a bunch of margarita coupons along with "free breakfast" which we did not get. The staff is great but this was horrible experience, driving from so far away only to find that your room booked 5 months in advance has been given to someone else.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Selmafb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Hello Selma,

My sincerest apologies to you for your terrible experience. I also cannot understand how this could have happened since you called earlier to confirm, it makes no sense that the staff could have make two mistakes. However, it appears that is exactly what happened to you and we have since made changes to our reservations protocol, to avoid these mistakes in the future. We strive to provide the best customer experience and this is not what you received, so we learn from it.

I appreciate your review,
Sincerely,
Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

Clean rooms and nice location in center of town. Pool is good for kids and staff is very friendly. Parking is secure and worth checking out bodegas de santo tomas in town for wine tasting and good snacks.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank elizad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Hello Eliza I am very pleased that our hotel has been of your total pleasure and that you could enjoy our services, you are our priority, we hope to see you soon.
Greeting
Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

This an older hotel that has remodeled it's rooms. The rooms are of a good size, the bed is comfortable, there is a coffee pot in the room and the bath is stocked with all the necessities. The only major complaint is the wifi. My room had a strong signal but the connection was glacially slow most of the time. It wasn't good for anything except email during those times. Late at night or very early morning the speed was satisfactory. The posted (rack) rate is quite high but I booked through a TA link & got a much better price. I would stay here again if I could again get the discounted price.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hello,
Please accept our sincere apology regarding your wi-fi issues. We are currently working on solving this issue by assigning networks to each room, and other improvements. And insider tip, if you contact us directly, we will beat any discount on other travel agencies (online or not).
We look forward to your next visit
Kind regards,
Jeannelle Bitterlin.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel is Great for the price we were there for 1 night and traveling to rosarito the next day.
Starting with the staff was A+ very helpful and caring. This is great for families...Small pool to enjoy and a bar that had the best Margaritas. The bartender lady and her son were so nice and sweet. They allowed us to pick songs to play and made us feel comfortable.
Rooms are good, Clean and Great price.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Cynthia,
Thank you very much for your kind review, and your recent stay at our hotel. We are proud to provide excellent customer service and the besr experience possible. It is great to have guests like you. Please come back soon!
Kind regards,
Jeannelle Bitterlin.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

I have stayed here a couple of times. The first was a romantic weekend with the honeymoon suite and it was very nice. I love the architecture of this hotel and all the amenities are great. The only thing you might bring is your own shampoo and soaps if you desire the fancy stuff. But otherwise the pool, the bar, the location, and the staff are all wonderful. Oh and they offer a breakfast voucher for a restaurant across the street and the food is great.

Definitely a worthwhile place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Gerente at Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Hello Eric,

Thank you very much for your review and your continued patronage through the years. We work hard at providing the best possible customer experience, and your words help us!
We do have a more simple and eco-friendly approach to our soaps and shampoos, but we make up for it in other amenities.

We look forward to your next visit,
Jeannelle Bitterlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
3.9 km away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 38 in Ensenada
580 reviews
5.3 km away
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 38 in Ensenada
238 reviews
29.4 km away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#11 of 38 in Ensenada
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#10 of 38 in Ensenada
147 reviews
0.6 km away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#7 of 38 in Ensenada
254 reviews
3.4 km away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#6 of 38 in Ensenada
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada El Rey Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada El Rey Sol

Address: Avenida Blancarte 130 | Zona Centro, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range: AU$87 - AU$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada El Rey Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming colonial boutique hotel is located in the heart of Ensenada. You can walk to more than 20 restaurants and coffee shops along the bazaar like streets lined with art treasures, each one more unique than the next.The intimate and friendly atmosphere will allow you to feel like this is your home away from home. The staff will point you in the right direction for whatever you are seeking.Come and experience our warm & friendly hospitality!Our staff will help make your visit to Ensenada a stay to remember filled with a variety of activities such as wine tours, whale and fishing trips, restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Posada El Rey Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol Hotel Ensenada
Americas Best Value Inn Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing