We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada El Rey Sol
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa(Ensenada)(Great Value!)
USD 155*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 121*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 85*
USD 72*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 244*
USD 186*
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 78*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 166*
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corona Hotel & Spa(Ensenada)(Great Value!)
USD 128*
USD 116*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Don Fernando(Ensenada)(Great Value!)
USD 64*
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 117*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
USD 180*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
114
115
45
23
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
115
45
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastfast passfree margaritawelcome margaritasexcellent staystay there againhot tubhoneymoon suitehotel is centrally locatedfirst floorcross the borderbeds were comfortablestaying at this hotellocation is greatcoffee makerthe main stripsecurity guard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017

I have stayed here a couple of times. The first was a romantic weekend with the honeymoon suite and it was very nice. I love the architecture of this hotel and all the amenities are great. The only thing you might bring is your own shampoo and soaps if you desire the fancy stuff. But otherwise the pool, the bar, the location, and the staff are all wonderful. Oh and they offer a breakfast voucher for a restaurant across the street and the food is great.

Definitely a worthwhile place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Gerente at Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Hello Eric,

Thank you very much for your review and your continued patronage through the years. We work hard at providing the best possible customer experience, and your words help us!
We do have a more simple and eco-friendly approach to our soaps and shampoos, but we make up for it in other amenities.

We look forward to your next visit,
Jeannelle Bitterlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Beauty must truly be in the eyes of the beholder. I say that after reading some of the reviews that attack this hotel. My wife and our three children come the Ensenada at least two weekends every month. We stay at El Rey because the location is excellent, the staff pleasant, the rooms adequate and we have always been treated as if we mattered. The fact is that the hotel and the area are in Mexico which necessarily means buildings, food and service will likely be different than in the U.S. However, if one is looking for a reasonable price, in a great location, in Mexico, then this is the place, small problems notwithstanding.

Room Tip: Stay on 3rd floor it is quieter
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Concepcion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Hello Concepcion,

Thank you so much for your continued patronage, your loyalty and your kind review. As I've said before, we take pride in giving our customers the greatest experience possible although we do face the occasional obstacle. We look forward to having more of you and your family here with us enjoying our beautiful city!

Very kind regards,
Jeannelle Bitterlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Location is great, right on the main strip, but not in the middle, so it's not bombarded by noise.

I left my cell phone in the room and realized once across the border. They actually took their time to look into express courier options and send it back to me!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank EarthGopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Hello Earthgroper,

We aim to please! And we understand how vital your phone is, so we want to help as much as we can our clients even after they have checked out. Thank you for your review

We hope to see you soon!
Kind regards
Jeannelle Bitterlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Friendly workers, nice and clean rooms. We (3 adults) stayed in 2 queen bed room and had enough room for us. Beds were nice. Wifi was really slow almost all the time. Nice area, traffic noise was not bothering at all. We didn't have breakfast, but there was a lot nice cafeterias near the hotel. Everything was close, shopping, restaurants, bars.. I could stay there again :)

There was a nice small pool, but the weather was rainy so we didn't try it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lottao137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Hello Lotao,

Thank you for your thorough review! We appreciate you and your comments as they help us improve the experience we provide our clients. We aim to please!

We look forward to your next visit and hopefully you can enjoy the pool.

Kind regards,
JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed here one nigjt to go fishing. Slow check in due to only one clerk and one person checking in for 3 people.

Real friendly greeting and easy check in. Security guard at entrance and walking distance to all restaurants.

Nice bathrooms and smaller room for 4 people but good enough. I will stay there again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank MeGusta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Hello,

We appreciate your business and your opinions. My apologies for the slow check-in, we usually have more than one clerk at peak hours, but there are of course, exceptions.

We hope to see you again soon, and just FYI we do have larger rooms for four people on the balcony side of the hotel.

Kind regards
JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews