We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
8
17
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
17
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationlos barrileslbcampgroundwinterfishermanbedstouristgroup
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

This is not the the place we expected, and we are really easy to please. Maybe it was due to the fact that it was the off season, but we were not happy at all. The bar was not open, the restaurant was only open during the morning for a couple of hours, and the rooms were seriously outdated. It said screen doors, nothing on the ocean front rooms that were the most expensive on the grounds. They handed us the keys at check in, pointed to where the room was and that was it. No customer service at all, and being in the restaurant business for over 30 years, I guess I expected a little more. We went and looked at our room and headed down the road, this was not for us. If you are traveling with a bunch of guys, or fisherman, this might be for you. Otherwise go down the road, I think you will be happier.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank hodieduran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016

Just returned from 7 great days at Martin Verdugo's Resort. Not ultra modern but our pool and ocean front rooms were clean and neat. Housekeeping services, clean sheets and beds made each day. The rooms and resort grounds exceptionally clean and well maintained. Mr. Verdigo and his family do a wonderful job running the resort.
Although we did not catch a lot of fish, the ocean was not warm enough yet, our charter captain Ronny and deckhand Edwardo worked their butts off for us and provided three memorable days of fishing.
The restaurant is only open for breakfast and the food is very good as are the sack lunches provided on the charter boat.
The town of Los Barriles is traditionally "Old Mexico".
If you want a great, affordable vacation you won't go wrong with Martin Verdug'o Resort.

Room Tip: Great view of the beach. Steps away from pool.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016

Great location! Excellent boats and captains. Verdugo family is awesome especially Zulema. A taste of "old Baja" with modern amenities. Breakfast is very good. Restaurants are near. You can walk but I recommend that you have your own transportation.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the best.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jamesfugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

We had good room service and fresh towels everyday. We stayed in #22, one of the ocean front rooms above the outdoor bar. It was noisy some nights, but the bar always cleared out by 10 PM. The beds were well worn (22 contained 3 beds). The room was clean and prices were reasonable. There were also rooms available during the Christmas / New Years week, so keep that in mind if no other Accomodations are available in Los Barriles.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

I stayed for 5 nights with my father in May 2015.

This is a small 2 story resort is located on the Bay of Banderas beach. It has great access for a quad ride or run on the beach.
The hotel has a small plunge pool, pool bar and restaurant for the guests to enjoy. Roy, our bartender served nice double rums for like 40 peso, spoke excellent English and offered great tourist tips, however the restaurant was priced in USD and better cheaper tacos were a block away.

Martin's Resort did have fishing pangas and larger boats for hire, we decided to go with another venture because we knew friends of the owner.

The room was a little dated, with floral patterns throughout and a sink that didn't quite drain right. But on the plus side the A/C was working well and the daily maid service did a nice job with cleaning the small room and kitchen combo(kitchen was a bonus for small breakfasts). Fresh sheets and towels daily too.

Room Tip: Second floor eastern facing room would have the best view.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quinn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews