We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not 4* but a good base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmetto Resort Hotel
Reviewed 7 November 2007

The tour operator, Anatolian Sky offers this small hotel as 4* but it certainly does not live up to this if you judge it by generally accepted standards. In fairness to the operator they do state their criteria for star ratings in their brochure but I still feel it is misleading. We did not pay 4* price but there is a feeling of disappointment on arrival as the rooms are in need of a makeover and the service does leave a lot to be desired. Rooms are clean and water is plentiful though only hot spasmodically. Breakfasts are good with a choice of fruits, cereals, yoghurt, cheese, olives and eggs. The bar lacked atmosphere and was often closed by 9pm. We did not eat dinner at the hotel as there are so many local good restaurants serving excellent fish etc. Osmans is good and cheap. Our favourite was Sardunya about 10 mins walk around the bay and also Aurora. Sardunya wins for food and Aurora for character.

Having said all the above we would certainly return. The location is excellent, on the edge of the village with views over the bay. As a base to explore the village and its excellent restaurants; it cannot be bettered. The village is a delight and the locals are very friendly. Plenty of walking around the bay or up into the hills and some lovely beaches if you are prepared for a lengthy but interesting walk.

Easy travel by dolmus from the main road to Marmaris (40 mins) or Bozborun(15 mins). You can also stop off at all the places in between. A beautiful and as yet unspoilt area of Turkey if you are looking for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Worthies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Palmetto Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2007

We visited Palmetto Resort in Selimiye in October 2007 and were very dissapointed with the hotel. We were there for a week and moved room three times!

The hotel only has about 18 rooms and only half of these are on the front of the hotel. The ones on the back of the hotel were very dark and face the local junior school which is very noisy during term time from 8 o'clock in the morning. The back of the hotel was also facing piles of broken garden furniture and general piles of junk.

The first room we were allocated was positioned on the back of the building, was in a poor decorative state and wasn't very clean. There was a very strong smell of drains in the bathroom which made us feel sick.

The second room was better and didn't smell so we were happier. We were then woken up on Monday moring by the school children so had to be moved to the front of the hotel in order to get any sleep in the mornings.

The pool was quite dirty with a band of slime running all around the bottom where it had been used all summer and hadn't been cleaned and the 8 sunbeds were in fairly poor repair and the cushions were very dirty.

The hotel was also supposed to be free of children under 14, but on our last weekend several small children and toddlers arrived and disturbed the peace and quiet we had gone to Turkey for.

Selimiye is a stunningly beautiful place and we had a great holiday apart from our hotel. The Palmetto Resort is a B&B at best so don't expect anything more!

1  Thank happytraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2007

If you are looking for a quiet resort with plenty of sun, wonderful seafood and stunning scenery then Selimye is for you and the Palmetto
is the perfect place to stay. We have stayed there twice now and the staff are the friendliest and most helpful we have ever encountered. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Real_Ale_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2004

We were looking for a special place to relax and celebrate thirty years of marriage. we could not have chosen better.
The staff were wonderful,the meals were first class and the hotel was perfect.
The small village is in the most beautiful bay with mountains as a backdrop.
It was paradise

13  Thank Phillip58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: fark etmez , bütün odalar aynı mesafede
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ertugrulaslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selimiye
0.0 km away
Selimhan Hotel
Selimhan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Selimiye
65 reviews
0.0 km away
Loca Boutique Hotel
Loca Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Selimiye
271 reviews
0.0 km away
Jenny's House
Jenny's House
#2 of 5 in Selimiye
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
D Maris Bay
D Maris Bay
#1 of 1 in Hisaronu Bay
576 reviews
0.0 km away
Luna Begonvil Tas Evler
Luna Begonvil Tas Evler
#3 of 5 in Selimiye
73 reviews
0.0 km away
Losta Sahil Evi
Losta Sahil Evi
#7 of 41 in Selimiye
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Selimiye

Been to Palmetto Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmetto Resort Hotel

Address: Buruncuk Mevki No 87, Selimiye, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Selimiye
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Selimiye
Price Range: $205 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palmetto Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmetto Hotel Selimiye
Palmetto Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing