We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,464)
Filter reviews
4,464 results
Traveller rating
2,381
1,190
482
229
182
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,381
1,190
482
229
182
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monkey trail on the rocks lotus court floating jetty shuttle boat thai restaurant the club lounge private beach spa deluxe room ocean facing free boat boat service only accessible by boat low tide jacuzzi on the balcony baht bonanza wooden steps
Filter
Updating list...
1,724 - 1,729 of 4,464 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

We were recommended this by a friend and were not disappointed. Lovely setting, nice sandy beach, excellent food and nice room. We had a spa room with a hot tub on the balcony which is definitely worth the money, the room was spacious too with a nice big bed. The staff are very helpful and friendly, one complaint was the service was a little slow at the beach bar restraunt during the day. Overall a good hotel and we would return.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SallyB2097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2015

Dear Sally B,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging the friendliness and efforts of the staff.

The spa rooms are our mostly popular and are usually sold out every day, so I am pleased you secured one and enjoyed it.

Thank you for your feedback on the beach restaurant, we will try to improve on this.

Once again thank you for your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

The rooms are very comfortable, the pools are great, the food really very good.What we didn't enjoy:1)we had to wait in a horrible heat on a unplesant place for the transfer by boat.2)The room wasn't prepared and we had to wait3) the staff on the reception couldn't speak english4)the heat in the breakfast room was unplesant( no aircon)5)dirty beaches around closest town6)on the departure we could not stay in aircon room there was only a library and this was without any aircon nor comfortable seats chairs, we had to wait there for hours7) on the way back to the airport the boat was not properly prepared we were completely wet, it was raining and the boat didn't have any canvas

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kvolkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2015

Dear Kvolkova,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate the areas you listed where we can still improve. Some of these are within our control and we will do our best to make sure we can improve on these.

Once again thank you for your support and feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 nights in July 2015. Although this is "rainy season " we had plenty of sun, hardly any rain, high temperatures, don't let this time of year put you off! The speedboat arrival adds to the wow factor. We booked our speedboat transfer before we arrived- this is a must. At the pier in the town we met someone from the hotel who took our bags and helped us board the boat. After the boat transfer our bags were taken while we were shown to a room with a shower so we could freshen up as we arrived super early and our room wasn't ready. When we did get our room (1105) ocean view spa deluxe, it was absolutely amazing, the view was incredible. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The room itself was big with lots of storage. The grounds of the hotel are quite well tendered. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful especially Dang and Cha who worked in "the club" (well worth the extra money) Rung and yui in the spa were amazing, we had the nirvana for 2 spa experience which was incredible. The food was very tasty and well presented, portions were big. We ate in all the restaurants and were not disappointed. We did the Thai night on the Friday which was buffet Thai food and entertainment from traditional Thai dancing and Mr Mark and his friend who did a fire show. We booked the 4 Island trip through the hotel which was all dealt with for us so we didn't need to organise anything. We did the monkey trail into Ao Nang twice, it only takes 10 mins, it does get your heart rate up especially when warm but don't consider it arduous, some parts are steep but it's fun. We encountered a few monkeys and they were so cute. Our only point for the management is that the staff sometimes seemed too busy to deal with things straight away, for example it took 3 phone calls to get an iron and ironing board to our room but then we were able to keep it for our entire stay and a few times our drinks seemed to take a little longer than expected to come to our table. Even though we were half board and handed out vouchers in we were billed for the meal about 3 times, reception staff were happy to deal with this but check your end of bill for this when you check out. My husband had a private Muay Thai lesson with the instructor (sorry we can't remember his name) he thought it was amazing and would recommend it. Could the manager please pass on our thanks to him? The beach was clean and well kept. Some of the things that people have put as negatives such as the monkeys, monkey trail, the floating pier are the things that add to the charm of this place! If you don't aggravate the monkeys they will leave you alone, during our spa experience the monkeys were at the window and it added to the experience for us, you need to remember that we are in THEIR home. Having to get a boat into town isn't an issue if you are organised and plan and let's be honest it shouldn't come as a shock that you have to do this as it's advertised on the website that you can't get to town unless you go by boat or monkey trail. This place is pretty much perfect and we would definitely go back again and we like our luxury. You won't regret choosing this location.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
9  Thank amandapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2015

Dear amandapink,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay with us in June.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging the friendliness of the staff but also for specifically mentioning Khun Dang and Cha in the Club Lounge, Rung and Yui in Spa Cenvaree. These comments have been shared with them, which are greatly appreciated. I will also pass on your comment to our Muay Thai instructors.

I appreciate your comments about where we can improve and we will certainly take these on board.

Once again thank you for understanding of our unique location with the boat access, the floating jetty and the monkey trail, we sincerely appreciate this your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We stayed at Grand Centara for 7 nights , what an amazing experience , best relaxing holiday ever, great staff, fantastic relaxing massages , tranquil place , excellent rooms , ocean view spa room amazing , if your looking for total relaxation this is it .

Room Tip: Ocean view spa room top floor Amazing
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2015

Dear Wendy K,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you had an amazing stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of the staff, the treatments you received at Spa Cenvaree and the view from the spa ocean facing room.

We sincerely appreciate the kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

My family of 5 (three kids under 12) stayed at Centara Grand Beach Krabi for 6 rainy windy days and nights in early July. I mention the weather specifically as it does impact on this hotel more than most given transportation in and out of the hotel is by boat. After a rough landing on the island we weren't up to the boat trip again in those conditions so were limited to getting in and out of the hotel complex via the Monkey trail. While manageable and a bit of an exciting adventure it is limiting for small children or the elderly who would struggle, particularly in wet conditions. Thus one of the great strengths of this hotel, it's seclusion, works against it in poor conditions leading to a feeling of isolation or in its worst form entrapment.

The hotel itself is well presented and well managed. The rooms are of a good size and style, and the general facilities are top notch. The restaurants were excellent and the buffet breakfast was definitely worth getting up for every morning.

I recommend this resort as a great place to go particularly if you want a secluded hideaway. Just pray you get good weather!!!!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank chustonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2015

Dear chustonk,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

I was pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay even though you had bad weather during your entire stay. I have to agree with you the location can be challenge if you are here during the monsoon season, however for the benefit of the other readers I am pleased to advise the monkey trail has been upgraded which makes the access to Ao Nang much more comfortable in all weather.

Once again thank you for your generous support and recognition and I hope you will return another time when the weather is kinder to you.

Best regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews