We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for change”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Krabi Thai Village Resort
Ranked #54 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Suffolk England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Time for change”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We have just returned from our forth trip to Thailand and our third stay at the Krabi Thai Village. We were so looking forward to being welcomed back by the manager like last year but unfortunately she has moved on and the replacement manager is just not the same.We were shown our room which was at the far end of the hotel over looking a shabby childrens play area but decided that it would'nt spoil our holiday. We settled down for a good nights sleep but this didnt happen as we were kept awake until 5am by our very noisy neighbours! On calling reception we were told that it would be sorted out the next morning which it was and we were moved to a better part of the hotel. This was fine for a couple of nights but as we were in a room with a room above we were kept awake again by what we can only descibe as guests or staff moving furniture about and walking backwards and forwards in the room until around 4am. We remember reading on trip adviser that other guests had posted on here that the hotel was noisy but we had never had this problem before. Some of the staff were freindly but others simply did'nt want to make eye contact which we are not used to in Thailand.If you want to stay by the pool you need to get down to the pool area as soon as possible to choose sunbeds, we tried on a couple of occasions around 10.00 - 10.30am but could'nt find a bed free anywhere so we hired a motorbike and found a great beach which we had to ourselves which was fantastic.

Room Tip: choose a high floor and a room in the block to the right as you walk out of the hotel rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OldJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    299
    148
    59
    36
See reviews for
146
394
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 15th to 26th Feb. our initial disappointment at the hotel didn't really go away although we still had a great time. The hotel lobby looks good but beyond it goes a little downhill. Our room was big but dark and smelled fusty. It was kept very clean though. The pool area with astro turf wasn't our cup of tea and as pointed out the local beach is a working beach so not relaxing. However, the hotel doesn't advertise that it has a daily free shuttle to the Cha Da Beach resort on Long Beach which is a shared facility with their sister hotel. This is actually in the grounds of the Emerald bungalows shown elsewhere on Trip Advisor and is a fantastic getaway from the tack and the noise round the hotel pool area. The beach was deserted and beautiful and the beach restaurant a gem. We actually paid to stay there one night! Back to the Thai Village. Breakfast was OK, but make an effort to eat in the local restaurants at night. We loved the simple but authentic street food in Potjwan's restaurant. Overall the hotel was a disappointment but not enough to spoil our holiday!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

As a family we have been visitng Thailand for the past eleven years and we have just returned from a 21 night vacation of various resorts, locations and hotels. We have never stayed at Krabi before and decided we would finish our holiday at Krabi Thai village for seven nights.

The location of the hotel is about a five minute walk down to the shops, bars & restaurants which must be a good mile long with everything you would ever need and we enjoyed each evening, the beaches are very very poor with no sunbeds or parasols and constant hassle from ladies wanting to take you and your family to their shop for a massage offering free food and drink to get you there, even if you refuse they will follow you and hassle you.

The hotel is by far the worst place we have ever stayed in Thailand, if you want to get depression this is the hotel for you it is the most boring lifeless place you would ever want to stay in need of a facelift.

Sitting around the pool area is just so dull with notice boards of rules a swimming pool that has cloudy water, one day there was some music for around one hour at the pool bar and the water feature was turned on for around 30mins a day apart from that nothing happens apart from the staff checking people have not arrived with any food or drink from outside the hotel, one day a family next to us around the pool wanted ice lollies but they are not sold by the hotel so they walk to the shop opposite the hotel, bought some ice lollies and returned to the pool area, within a minute a member of staff had approached them to tell them they were not allowed food from outside the hotel, they explained that the hotel did not sell ice lollies so they had to purchase them elsewhere but this was not allowed, how ridiculous can this hotel be they don't even sell ice lollies.

We have stayed many places in Thailand and can highly recommend Karon Beach area in Phuket and also Phi Phi islands but never again will we be going to Krabi and certainly not to Krabi Thai Village.

Room Tip: In another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thefunkymonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed here with 2 kids.
This place is a 3 star pretending to be a 4 star. Maybe once was a 4 star a few yrs ago?
The entire place (besides the beautiful foyer) is all looking a bit tired.
Coming from Australia where we dont do tipping, it was awkward having the staff linger for tips. I had not come accross this anywhere else in Thailand. This just tells me that management perhaps dont pay their staff appropriately.
Never saw one guest using the hotel computers - way too expensive with plenty of other places accross & down the road offering much cheaper services. There was alot of standing around looking bored by staff. Dinner service always looked a bit sad with only one couple in the resturant one night and many nights the bar band playing to no one.
The pool area again, looked a bit tired. In Australia, we use fake grass because of our dry climate where everything dies. I have no idea why you would need to use fake grass in the tropics. Fake grass is hot too, after all, it is plastic you are walking on. It all looks a bit tacky.
The pool was over chlorinated & always seemed cloudy in appearance.
Our room looked out over a water feature that had the same bits of rubbish floating in it for the entire week. Rooms were clean.
Nothing was obviously terrible at this hotel but in saying that, nothing was exceptional and I reckon you could do better staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Dont stay in Ao Nang - next time we will stay at Railay Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

we stayed at this hotel for 8 nights and found it to be a perfect location. Walking distance to all the shops, restaurants and the beach. The beach itself isn't the prettiest but boat rides to any of the other beaches are only about 100Bhat.
The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was a good size and had a bath and shower. there is also a fridge and safe. We only ate once in the hotel restaurant as there are so many other places to eat but the service was good and the food very nice.
The pool area is clean with artificial grass surounding it which prevents slippy floor surfaces. There were plenty of sunbeds and parasols for shade. Most days we would be out on trips or sightseeing returning to the pool at about 3-4pm. The bar staff quickly learnt our order and kept us topped up.
Just over the road from the hotel there are a couple of restaurants and a spa( feel good). The spa is much cheaper than the one at the hotel and i would reccomend trying it.
Overall we had a lovely stay. no issues or complaints about the hotel at all. It was the perfect location for us and i would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank zztavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.6 km away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,247 reviews
0.4 km away
Krabi La Playa Resort
Krabi La Playa Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
992 reviews
1.0 km away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#27 of 108 in Ao Nang
827 reviews
0.3 km away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.4 km away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Ao Nang

Been to Krabi Thai Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Thai Village Resort

Property: Krabi Thai Village Resort
Address: 260 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#19 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#24 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price range (per night): $56 - $178
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi Thai Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Krabi Thai Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Thai Village Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi Thai Village Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing