We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Agoda.com
AU$143
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,189)
Filter reviews
1,190 results
Traveller rating
282
479
229
97
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
282
479
229
97
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai thai restaurant ao nang beach beach front nice pool the main street few minutes walk breakfast spread massage krabi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
647 - 652 of 1,190 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Our first trip to Thailand so we didn't know what to expect. Visited several locations including Ao Nang. GB Resort definitely has one of the best spots on the beach in Ao Nang. Ao Nang itself is very touristy but there is so much to do in the surrounding area you don't really need to spend much time downtown. We had a group of 7 including 3 teenagers. We booked 2 villas which are very nice, spacious, and unique.

We booked our villa rooms through Andaman Adventures, a local tour agency. Simon, Vimal and team were very helpful in recommending and booking resort stays and excursions and taking care of ground transportation (and in our case local airfare). They not only recommend certain resorts but also will do their best to book specific rooms/villas which are more appealing vs others. Thailand has so many options for tourists and while tripadvisor is a great resource having a local travel agent made a huge difference in the overall quality of our trip. In fact we ended up connecting with one of the tour guides and his wife, who we met thru Andaman, with whom we went rock climbing a few days later. Fabulous memories Vinnie and Judith!

Negatives about GB Resort: as others have said, service has room for improvement. staff isn't overly helpful nor responsive but perhaps they can rely on their location to attract business. our biggest gripe was the fact that they double booked us for the first night of our stay and had to put us up elsewhere. Andaman played a key role insuring we ended up in an even nicer hotel, didn't pay anything, and aided with ground transportation. Based on the lack of sympathy from the check-in staff when we arrived the next day (it was as if they had no idea anything had gone wrong!) I'm confident it would have been an even worse experience had Andaman not been involved. We had to lobby hard just to get an offer of free internet access as compensation for the inconvenience. One last negative is that the pool officially closes at 6pm, crazy considering many people aren't ready to leave at that time. In reality though almost every day someone remained in the pool well after 6. And since the staff generally isn't that responsive anyway no one seemed to care.

Date of stay: January 2013
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank rswjbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This is our second stay at Golden Beach resort. in 2009 we stayed there and enjoyed the best of our holidays there, and this time we had stayed in their newly renovated pavilion suite. And definitely this is better than the last time we stayed at the suite at the building. These pavilion suite are very spacious and very comfortable with 3 beds. our 8 year old kid could sleep very comfortably in the extra bed attached in the room, these rooms are overlooking the very best swimming pool. Last time my son enjoyed most at this swimming pool and this time also the same. In the evening the blue lights in the pool makes the place even better, you can see frogs around, hear the cricket and can enjoy nature at its best. although we went there in july when it was raining, but even with the rain the place was even more beautiful. However you can not see the sea very clearly from your room, but you can just step down the room and in half a minute you will be in the beach. This beach is only good at low tides as in high tide there is hardly any beach to enjoy as sea comes very near to the road. This hotel is conveniently located to the shops at Ao Nang. I had stayed at many hotels in this area as almost every year we come to visit this place because of its serene beauty - and this is the best of all the hotels we stayed. Their massage is also one of the best in the locality - do try their foot reflexology.

Room tip: Take day trips to different smalls islands around Krabi.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank strawberryz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We weren't completely impressed. THe location is fantastic - right on the board walk at Ao Nang, but the service was mediocre (the woman at the desk was'nt able to tell us how to take a boat to Ko Yao Noi, nor was she particularly helpful with anyting else we asked). They also don't have free wireless, which is surprising given the cost of the rooms here. The rooms themselves are OK, we had a poolside room. It was a bit dark, but very big and the bathroom was nice and clean. The buffet breakfast was quite good and included in the price of our room.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed at the Golden Beach Resort in November and although it is in a great location, I was disappointed with our stay. We booked a chalet room - it was spacious, but we were right next to building work which started every morning at 8am. When we asked to move, the hotel staff were not very helpful and we had to be quite forceful. We did eventually move, and it was further away from the building work, but we could still hear it. In addition to this, the breakfast was not good and it was the only place we stayed during our holiday to Thailand where the staff just seemed not bothered. I wouldn't stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanya_withers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2013

After booking six months in advance to ensure we were at a beachfront hotel for the highlight of our holiday, we arrived at Golden Beach resort to be told they had a system error and had no rooms available. Instead we were moved to a hotel 15minutes from the beach overlooking a construction site. I would not recommend golden beach to anyone unless you dont mind poor management or where you end up.

Date of stay: December 2012
3  Thank aussiebon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews